Page 42 of 52 FirstFirst ... 324041424344 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

Congrats to Leeside, fantastic result. Ye won't fear anyone if the game is out at the cross. Great to see our league starting to show it's potential.

A good 2-0 win away to Park on Sat. to be honest we were fairly comfortable and were 2 up at halftime. created a lot of chances in the 2nd half but couldn't get the 3rd goal. Having said that park never gave up and will cause teams problems down there. Made my own comeback after being out for 7mths, got the last 15mins of the game ( still shattered )

it's all hotting up now with big games coming thick and fast. won't give any predictions for the next 2 games too close too call. see ye tomorrow night lads

toes back

Quote Originally Posted by toepoke View Post
    Made my own comeback after being out for 7mths, got the last 15mins of the game ( still shattered )........see ye tomorrow night lads

fair play toepoke, 7 months is a good ole break, take it handy and make sure you dont go backwards with the recovery, sun's out and it promises to be a smashing evening, pitch in top nick- hopefully the traffic dont kill us on the way up there, and we get to do it all again on saturday at the seaside, bring yer buckets n shovels

Unhappy game off

just in case anyone is still at work and thinking of travelling to the game
    i just heard that the game is off due to a death of someone associated with kinsale, not good for anyone but spose ya gotta look at the bigger picture

saturday it is then lads, bring a wind-sheeter for the hill

game off

to all in kinsale sorry to hear about the death of one of your members. deepest sympathies from all at Grattan. as you say tizz it put life into perspective

see ye on Sat

Quote Originally Posted by toepoke View Post
    to all in kinsale sorry to hear about the death of one of your members. deepest sympathies from all at Grattan. as you say tizz it put life into perspective

see ye on Sat
    Second that Toepoke, sympathies from all involved with Innishvilla.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

thanks

thanks for the kind words lads, very generous
    any results from the other games last night i wonder ??
    littleman seems to have gone underground so our insider information might be gone wonder did villa poke a dent in the bally challenge

see ye on sat toepoke, pitch will be as good as you'll get it, bit hilly down the road end in and around the 18 yd box but the surface besides that should be grand so there'll be plenty of room to play ball, the extra couple of days rest should suit the tired legs so we'll be doggy wide of any toe'sies from you
    could be shooting practice for the 2 keepers who've both got jumbo kick outs what with the wind assisitance up at the fort
    any other scandal gentlemen ?? how'd ye get on last night towlie/rebel

tough game for bella out at the farm against in form wilton on sat, doesnt look good for ye bella
    innish wrap up their season with 2 final games - safe in the 1st for another year- well done

Sympathies

sympathies to all at kinsale

Villa beat Bally 2 nil

Glenthorn 0 Leeside 1. Wasnt at it so no match report im afraid.

Sympathies to all in Kinsale

Courtesy of Billy Lyons:
    Premier:
    Park 6 Castleview 2; Grattan v Kinsale off; Glenthorn 0 Leeside 1; Villa 2 Ballyphehane 0

Premier A:
    Village 3 S'field 0; Wilton 2 Greenmount 0; K'avilla 3 Macrooom 0

There were more results but most on here seem to be premier observers...
    George Hamilton...

41 Posts

A flyin visit

Sorry lads for not being at my post lads but between work an play there was very little time for a chit chat.

Firstly I have family down Kinsale way an was very sorry to hear of the loss of such a young lad.My sympathys an those of all of us up in O'Neill Park go out to his family an club as well.

Congrats to Leeside.I will be out in the Cross when the time comes to cheer ye on an any info I can pass on regardin Ballynanty just ask.

My early season prediction that Bally were goin to be one of the main contenders is lookin like bein the flop of the year.Villa beat them 2 nil last night an Bally only had 11 players,there manager tog'd out as 12th man.Thats 5 lost now on the trot,good bye an good night as for there challange.

Tizz,Iwill be away for a few days in the mother country an was due to only return Sat,but because I wanted to see the game so much I have secured a flight back Friday night.The lure of Amsterdam is just not strong enough.Castleview were nothin short of pityfull last Saturday an as I watched the game there was no real way of judging your performance.5 goals an it could have been another 5 such was the level of effort the View put in.Games like that actually can work against you because your not pushed for 90 mins.Saw your keepers kick outs Saturday an well,as you have said the 2 keepers could cause more trouble for themselves than any out field player.Macarthy looked the part alright,saw him play a few times with the Dale an was very impressed.

Good luck an I'll see ye in the Fort Saturday.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

41 Posts

Oh I do like to be beside the seaside,oh I do like to be beside the sea,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Just a thought on the Kinsale V Grattan game.

Cant see it bein a no score draw an its all about form an confidence.

Kinsale have Varian an Macarthy,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Grattan have Jp an Danny Dunne with Figo just to add a little somtin somtin,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    Last edited by littleman; 16/04/2008 at 8:12 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

First of all deepest sympathys to Kinsale from all involved with Leeside.

Also less importantly,the match report from tuesday night...

We had our performance of the season on tuesday agianst a good Glenthorn side.
    The football from both sides on a terrible surface out in Killowen was exceptional.
    Ricky Gettings scored midway through the second half when he turned and shot from the edge of the box.

Glenthorn at home next for us and then at home again to Park next tuesday in a dress rehearsal for the AOH semi.

Talking littleman in the dam

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Tizz, I will be away for a few days in the mother country an was due to only return Sat,but because I wanted to see the game so much I have secured a flight back Friday night.The lure of Amsterdam is just not strong enough.Castleview were nothin short of pityfull last Saturday an as I watched the game there was no real way of judging your performance.5 goals an it could have been another 5 such was the level of effort the View put in.Games like that actually can work against you because your not pushed for 90 mins.Saw your keepers kick outs Saturday an well,as you have said the 2 keepers could cause more trouble for themselves than any out field player. Good luck an I'll see ye in the Fort Saturday.

fair play weeman, i enjoyed those 2 posts, i'm with you on our game last week against the view, we didnt have to sweat too hard at all and like you said it could have been more, bit of a shame that the league is all gonna be run off in a few weeks so the clubs that are out of the running will lose interest after a few goals have gone in, still in all you gotta go out and beat whats in front of you and thats the difference between kinsale for the past few years and grattan last year, staying power at this end of the season makes all the difference

take it handy in the dam and dont be bringin any scratchies back with ya, back on friday night for the match is fair committment so hats off, its tough trying to get a few days off this time of the year cause losing one or 2 fellas for a long w/e could see them missing 3 games and hurting the team, will you be able for a game on sunday morning with the killer b's after a week in the dam ?? you're fitter than me if you are

weather looks ok for the w/e, theres a foul wind blowing at the moment so hopefully that fcuks off and we get a nice calm sunny day that isnt gonna affect the promise of a good tough game up at the fort between what it looks at the moment - the 2 fancied sides for the title (if you are to believe the bookies)

dunno whats happened to ballyphehane, they've still loads to play for but like you said they've had some bad results of late, good win at glenthorn keeps leeside in with a shout too

see all ye grattan boys on sat, fingers crossed for a good day at the seaside and we'll leave the rest up to the lads on the pitch, anyone gonna chance a prediction ?? both teams are capable of freely scoring so i'm not confident on a scoreless draw, what are the chances on a repeat score like ye're game against glenthorn ?? or our game against carrigaline?? i think it'll come down to who will take their chances and a bit of a slice of luck, both teams are prob close in ability, what grattan might have more in fast football, kinsale might make up for with physical strength, i'm really lookin forward to see how it pans out

lads, seriously thanks for all the well wishes for the tragedy down here during the week, the kind words of support are very much appreciated by all in kinsale

Foot.ie! The Weekend ahead

I never got a chance to do this last week so I'll get the ball rolling early this week

Any Predictions

Premier League
    Kinsale v Grattan United
    Leeside v Glenthorn Celtic
    Park United v Coachford
    Castleview v Ballyphehane Celtic

Premier A League
    Greenmount Rngrs v Ballyvolane
    Wilton Utd v Springfield
    Dunbar Celtic v Leeds

AUL 1
    Innishvilla v Douglas Hall

Midweek predictions will follow after these games are played

Talking rubber dollies

lads, i popped round to the pitch last night for a look and its like a rock, a dry wind up the hill is blowing across the pitch and its made the surface very hard and its bobbly to boot down the middle- mainly due to the fact that its just so hard, bring mouldies and look after yer feet, bad boots could mangle yer feet so just some friendly advice from the seaside

doesnt look like the weather is gonna change much overnight to give us some sunshine and calm conditions, it'll prob turn the game tomorrow into a cup tie whereby the team that wants it more and/or get a slice of luck will prob come out on top

no predictions from me p&m, i've a bad history and usually jinx us so i'm stayin quiet ..... see ye tmrw ....
    .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. ......

Premier League
    Kinsale v Grattan United .........Misguided optimism? Heart ruling my head? Who knows?? Cionn tSáile for me!
    Leeside v Glenthorn Celtic....... Leeside to repeat their midweek victory and keep up their impressive recent form
    Park United v Coachford .....Draw
    Castleview v Ballyphehane Celtic.....Bally to get back to winning ways

Premier A League
    Greenmount Rngrs v Ballyvolane....Draw
    Wilton Utd v Springfield .....Wilton
    Dunbar Celtic v Leeds......Dunbar

AUL 1
    Innishvilla v Douglas Hall..... Innishvilla

Results

Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post

Results

Premier League
    Kinsale 4 v 4 Grattan United
    Leeside 1 v 3 Glenthorn Celtic
    Park United 3 v 0 Coachford
    Castleview v Ballyphehane Celtic Playing Sunday

Premier A League
    Greenmount Rngrs 3 v 5 Ballyvolane
    Wilton Utd 6 v 2 Springfield
    Dunbar Celtic 1 v 1 Leeds

AUL 1
    Innishvilla v Douglas Hall Playing Sunday
    These are off Billys blog
    Last edited by pass&move; 19/04/2008 at 5:17 PM.

howdy

Hey guys!..

First of all,I would just like to congratulate everyone on this blog for making it such an interesting and topical blog!!..I'm delighted to read so many peoples passionate opinions about their clubs and I think everyone would agree that it makes interesting reading for everyone affiliated with AUL football...on that note,I would like to my perspective perfectly clear....

I've had the privilige of playing senior league and AUL football over the last 15 yrs or so(havent played in the last 2 yrs due to work commitments) and to cut a long story short,I've been plesantly surprised to see how far AUL football has come in such a short period of time.3 yrs ago,it would have been unheard of to see the likes of Leeside,gratten,Kinsale etc.(Passage/Greenmount exempted!) competing for any trophy outside of the domestic set,but to see these teams competing at a consistant level for All Ireland trophies over the last few years speaks volumes of how the standard of the league,more importantly,the teams, has improved.

But,in my opinion,what makes this achievement more impressive is that teams have improved/progressed IN SPITE of the AUL commitee/leadership!!....Let me explain,I've been keeping a close eye on Leesides performances throughout the year(mainly because I live in East Cork) and I congratulate them on reaching the MJC final,fantastic achievement by any club,(I think everyone would agree with that!)but yet,I see that when they beat Nenagh,they had to play again 2 days later on a Tuesday,the following saturday(yesterday!) and again on this Tue and Thur nite and then play next Saturday in the Semis of the AOH cup,..the blue riband trophy of AUL football.That makes 6 games in 13
    days!..now I know this doesnt just apply to Leeside,I've no doubt that this predicament would happen to any team in the AUL in Leesides position but that doesnt make it right.. for example,Avondale have won the last 2 intermediate cups,when Avondale qualified for the first final,they were suppose to play UCC the following Weds. but the MSL cancelled every league fixture they had for the following 2 wks so they could prepare for the final,..that was the right to do in my opinion.The MSL realised how great it would look for their league(and Cork!) to see a Cork team lift such a prestigious trophy!..now my point is,the Munster junior cup is realistically speaking,the equivelant of the Intermediate cup for Cork AUL football(I dont think an AUL team will win the FAI for a while yet!) and they should help their team in everyway possible,but unfortunately,it looks like they are doing the opposite!...anyway,best of luck to Leeside in the final and to every other team in the Aul competing for honours this year,I look forward to hearing ye're points on this topic!...Pecker..

Results

Results

Premier League
    Castleview 2 v 3 Ballyphehane Celtic

Premier A League

AUL 1
    Innishvilla 1v 2 Douglas Hall

Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post
    Results

Premier League
    Castleview 2 v 3 Ballyphehane Celtic

Premier A League

AUL 1
    Innishvilla 1v 2 Douglas Hall

Wasn't at the game unfortunately as had to work, but I think the Innishvilla conceded the 2nd goal well into injury time... Good sign for Douglas Hall though, I know from last year that late goals to win games in the run in to a title push give a club/team an incredible lift.

Wee man, P&M, bog, Le Tizz et al... You're killing us 4:4 and no sign of a report......................................
    George Hamilton...

Page 42 of 52 FirstFirst ... 324041424344 ... LastLast