Appreciate that Inishvilla
Short but to the point Innish and you saved me the hassle of pointing out last years highs an lows.Now I cant be accused of shiite stiring and for that I am truly in your debt.I owe you one.
As for the Mossie final Friday I'm not to sure.Kinsale have been doing very well to date this season but as yet have not come up against any of the supposed big hitters.I think letizz an Bog will agree this has been the easiest start to a season for ye in years in terms of cup draws to date.
The same can't be said of Bally and they also seem to be just scrapin through with their last 4 or 5 results.First and second division teams seem to be causing them problems when to show everyone else they have what it takes to challange the others they should be winning games well, or else at least more comfortably.
Kinsale's result over the weekend surprised me.Kinsale seem to have a very good 11 or 12 but after that it seems to get watered down a little going by what seems to have happenend over the weekend.
What happens if they had to put on 3 subs,would it be the same Kinsale an will Bally fall into the same catagory.More importantly considering that the 2 of them have to play each other in the league(2) as well whom ever loses will they be strong enough to pick themselves up again for the rest of the league/cups.
Tough call to make.We could maybe be seeing the emergence of one title challanger and the end of another.I think this game could have a big effect on the loser.More than each side would like to admit.
At the start of the season if you told me that Kinsale and Bally were in the mossie final I would have said it should be a cracker,now with recent results I'm not so sure.
Kinsale to win in 90 mins,Bally if it goes further.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
Appreciate that Inishvilla
Park Utd or Grattan Utd V Clonmel Cel FC-Grattan United
Baldoyle Utd V Everton B FC-Baldoyle FC
Douglas Hall (MSL)V Forth Cel-Douglas Hall
Kinsale FC or Village Utd A V Balally Cel-Kinsale Celtic
Ballyphehane Cel V Ballymun Utd or Albion Rvs-Ballymun United
New Ross Cel V Avondale Utd-New Ross Celtic
Castleview FC or Richmond FC V Navan Cosmos FC-Castleview FC
5 Cork sides at home an 2 away.If we could get 3 or 4 into the last 32 and avoid each other it would be a great credit to both the teams envolved and the respective leagues.![]()
I know it is above for the cork teams and is on another forum on this site but the full draw: I wouldn't know a lot about junior football around the country but Pike v Portmarnock looks a cracker...
Clonmel Celtic are a strong Tipp side but not a patch on Clonmel town.
I know nothing about the sides the two MSL sides are meeting.
Kinsale/Village who are Balally Celtic? Think they're from Dundrum???
Ballypheane will have a test if it's ballymun...
I know nothing about Navan Cosmos apart from the fact their name sound like they should be playing Major League Soccer in the US...
Park Utd or Grattan Utd V Clonmel Cel FC
Baldoyle Utd V Everton B FC
Douglas Hall (MSL)V Forth Cel
Ballynanty Rvs V Kilmallock FC
Milford Utd or Cavan Town V Greenpark FC
St Peters Athlone FC V Malahide Utd
Liffey Pearse FC V Crumlin Utd
Kinsale FC or Village Utd A V Balally Cel
Orchard Cel V Trinity Corths
Interkenmare FC V St Michaels FC
Evergreen FC V Liffey Cel
Celbridge FC or Cherryorchard FC V Ballyoulster Utd
Aishling Annacotty or Regional Utd V Lisselton Rvs
Willow Park FC V Clonmel Town FC
Manorhamilton FC V Mervue Utd
St Patricks FC V Corduff Utd
Killarney Cel V Abbey Utd
Tralee Dynamos V Castlebar Cel
Ballyphehane Cel V Ballymun Utd or Albion Rvs
West Utd V Howth Cel
St John Bosco V St Kevins Boys
Drumbar Utd or Moyville Cel V Star Rvs
New Ross Cel V Avondale Utd
Pike Rvs V Portmarnock FC
Clontarf Ailesbury or Adanstown V Illies Cel or Dunkineely Cel
Carrick Utd. V Cahir Park FC
Manulla Utd V Gweedore Cel or Redcastle FC
Ballina Town or Urlaur Utd V Boyle Cel
Newtown FC V Aileach FC or Kilmacrennan Cel
Dungarvan Utd V Westport Utd
Castleview FC or Richmond FC V Navan Cosmos FC
Killester Utd or Dunboyne FC V Shangan Athletic
”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
George Hamilton...
http://www.innishvilla.com
You'd be fairly spot on there.
Celtic met Grattan last year but unfortunately for us we had a massively depleted squad on the day. Grattan were good value for the win but it was a pity that we weren't at full strength - we finished 3 points off the league (Clonmel Town won) and got to the Tipp Cup Final.
This year's a different story; manager gone after a hammering in the first game of the season, load of players left and we came close to having to put out our (TSDL Division 3) B Team in the Premier League. We've recovered a bit but wouldn't have the greatest of confidence to be fair. Sure we'll give it a lash though.....![]()
not really but i'd give it as good a shot as poor hapless stan,
i've been out of town and away from my computa so been catching up on posts this morning
well done to all teams who've progressed unscathed
i missed the marys game littleman and only back today, aint seen or talked to my crew yet so havent gotten any match report, you have a bit of a point with the kinsale squad system, getting a fit & able 16 out every week is something we are all trying to achieve, i suppose its a matter of case that 5 subs will disrupt a team no matter what the standard, we have a couple who can make a difference but depends what match situation, chasing a game (we havent been yet this year) or defending (not in our nature to sit back and try to hold on), we do have a few big players who supply most of the threat but they are supported by the whole squad, as you will find out come may, you will have ups & downs and the squad who can ride them the best will be in with a great shout of silverware
that said, a win is a win, village at home in the next round and you rightly put it, a home draw is a great bonus which could land you in the last 32 in the country which is a great achievement in itself, besta luck to everyone still involved
dont know what the spirit is like in the camp after the marys game, but i think we're injury free and will relish the thought of playing in the cross, its a great boost for a local side, i think you're slightly off with make or break for the season tho littleman, it is tough being beaten in a final but still a long way to go, both sides have tasted victory down there, we have tasted bitter defeat also so know the feeling it leaves behind (that year we went on to win the league and got a great run in the fai)
balally are from dundrum, dont know much besides, wont be easy but start with a home draw and a good attitude, may the best team win !! thats far away now though, all eyes on ballyphehane and the mossie cup on friday night, will keep you all posted
nuff said
”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
George Hamilton...
http://www.innishvilla.com
Letizz an Bog for what its worth best of luck tonight.
Mucho appreciated Littleman.
Did ye see the odds for the FAI Junior lads?? Grattan 20/1 and Kinsale 26/1
Its on the FAI Junior thread..
Na, Im only interested in the View,get it.Castleview hahahaha.
No seriously those odds are shiite.Castleview are quoted as 14/1.Thats how much notice I take from themHavent even heard of some of the fellas above us.I wont tempt fate as we have to play Park first and they wer'nt even quoted.
Last edited by littleman; 30/11/2007 at 12:05 PM.
thanks for the well wishes littleman
reckon it'll be the fitter hungrier team who wins tonight, looks like it'll be slippy so both keepers & defences could be busy, the ones who make less mistakes will win, i'd be surprised if we dont see goals, parking will be tight around the cross with the eggball game on up the road so come early to avoid disappointment
if we score 1st we'll be hard to beat but no predictions yet, this should give us an indication of how good or bad we really are compared with how we've been feeling for the past few months, wont be easy but a few big experienced players to stand out
fai mania for the next few weeks, lookin like glenthorn will be finished league games in january and we'll have to play 17 in may, the price of success
could be a mudbowl in o'sully park with all the rain, champagne football may not be on offer
wonder how park will do against an in-form glenthorn
gotta go, last minute prep's and a feed of prawn sandwiches before sailing up this evening, party in the white lady / francos if we pull it off but i'm not counting my fried chickens yet
Total madness,Park and Castleview are better odds than us an Kinsale.St Boscos,last years finalists were quoted at 66/1.I suppose it will benifit us being the underdog against Park.I'll have to tell Caulfield the manager that the bookie knows somethin that we dont about Park.
Well lads a bad weekend for us. Ballyphehane full value for their win. A good young footballing side. We'll live to fight another day but it still hurts. How did the other games go over the weekend..
are park united any good or will grattan be much to strong for them?
Whoever goes through will be huge favourites and rightly so clonmel celtic, although they have picked up significantly since the start of the season they are still only a poor to average side at best.
just so as not to appear to be hiding, we were rotten on friday night
too much complacency and not enuf passion or committment
we were outplayed by a very able bally side, fair play to them to a man, they played all the football and were hungrier and fitter than all of our lads..... bar derek mc, we looked like we didnt belong down there
the night was rotten which didnt help either team
we took the lead against the run of play, derek mc to derek v - who slotted home well - goal ! after about 30 mins, bally missed a great opportunity to level not long before the break but hurley made a great stop with the defense totally missing, one & one, the forward looked like he had too much time and space and took too long to take his strike
bally scored from two corners (badly conceeded goals from a kinsale defense point of view) in the 2nd half and it could've been more but they very comfortably held out till 90 mins and the ref put everyone from kinsale out of their rain drenched misery, bally really impressed me and they had great support from a local crowd, tall lad in midfield ran the show but they were sharper and better all over the pitch
i'm hoping it is a good kick in the hole for our lads because most of them just didnt turn up and thats a great shame because its not often that you get to play at the cross
gotta pick ourselves up for village this w/e, the home fixture will help us, we definately suffered on the big pitch in the cross so there's work to be done there, if thats the kinda performance we show for a cup final then hopefully some of our lads are reading this and take a good hard look at themselves
we still have a squad to take on the best that junior football has to offer but if nobody is bothered then we'll be a long way off the pace
A great win for Ballyphehane last friday night in terrible conditions at Turners Cross. On the night I was supporting Kinsale but was very impressed with B'hane's style of play. They continued to play to feet all night and got their just reward and should have won by more. Kinsale will need to learn from their mistakes (especially tactically) and come back fighting as they have done many times in the past.
On this showing Ballyphehane have to be serious contenders for the Premier title along with Grattan, Kinsale and possibly Park.![]()
is park vs grattan game on this saturday
if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!
The highs and lows letizz/bog,thats the joys of it i'm afraid.