Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Mayo League Division 2B 2007

Castlebar provide 7 or 8 refs to the Mayo league that I can think of, big chance of one been in charge of a Castlebar team

At the very least they should not be on first name terms with the players.

Your only jealous that they don't know your name. Wear a name tag "Ny name is ..." for the next games. Or have a meet and greet session.

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    Your only jealous that they don't know your name. Wear a name tag "Ny name is ..." for the next games. Or have a meet and greet session.
    You are so funny.

Why would I mention Ballina, you are not going to be caught at this stage, you have it won!

Why do you think the last match does not count for anything? I presume you have seen the table? You do understand that a playoff happens?
    Im well aware of playoffs but Ballina havent won it yet, considering we lost to Glenisland away already this season.. It would be a good achievement in our first season to win it.. Id rather see Knock go through the playoff..

Im well aware of playoffs but Ballina havent won it yet, considering we lost to Glenisland away already this season.. It would be a good achievement in our first season to win it.. Id rather see Knock go through the playoff....

Would have to agree with you re: K & K Utd going into the playoff's. Very good quality players and they are a 1st team. It's easy see that ye are the second team of a Super League team, but I think it's more important for K & K to get out of the division given that they are a first team. If they go up, I think that both Ballina & Knock could end up doing as well as Moyvilla and Urlaur, and will defo be in the shake up for promotion next season. Both teams have given us good hidings this year, where we've only lost by the single goal in the 3 games v C'Bar. Having played against ye (Ballina) last Sunday, I think you'll agree that not being on first name terms with the ref can also be a bad thing! He was poor for both teams. In phases you could be within 10 yards of a man and get a free given against you and on other occasions a lad could get halved and no decision given at all. At 2-1 down with 15 mins or so left, we had a few chances that we didn't take but I think that at times ye were only at 60%.

Quote Originally Posted by sinabhuil View Post
    Granted. Some would see calling the ref by his first name a sign of disrespect or familiarity towards him. At times there are many names we would like to call referees but I suppose ref will have to do!!
    As for the ref calling players by their first names I see no harm in it. If you've been playing for years with the same refs they're bound to know some players and besides Mayo's not that big!

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by town old boy View Post
    Granted. Some would see calling the ref by his first name a sign of disrespect or familiarity towards him. At times there are many names we would like to call referees but I suppose ref will have to do!!
    As for the ref calling players by their first names I see no harm in it. If you've been playing for years with the same refs they're bound to know some players and besides Mayo's not that big!
    great point!!!but lets get things right,every club should provide a couple of refs to the mayo league. it would solve a lot of problems.
    Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

yea but i guess there arent alot of people taking up refereeing cos its not an easy job! any idea when the play off between the two runners up in Div 2A & B is to be played?
    tube station

No idea, I asked the question there last week, Mayo League cannot confirm it!

Usually it is the week after the final league match

Quote Originally Posted by Phoenix View Post
    Im well aware of playoffs but Ballina havent won it yet, considering we lost to Glenisland away already this season.. It would be a good achievement in our first season to win it.. Id rather see Knock go through the playoff....

Would have to agree with you re: K & K Utd going into the playoff's. Very good quality players and they are a 1st team. It's easy see that ye are the second team of a Super League team, but I think it's more important for K & K to get out of the division given that they are a first team. If they go up, I think that both Ballina & Knock could end up doing as well as Moyvilla and Urlaur, and will defo be in the shake up for promotion next season. Both teams have given us good hidings this year, where we've only lost by the single goal in the 3 games v C'Bar. Having played against ye (Ballina) last Sunday, I think you'll agree that not being on first name terms with the ref can also be a bad thing! He was poor for both teams. In phases you could be within 10 yards of a man and get a free given against you and on other occasions a lad could get halved and no decision given at all. At 2-1 down with 15 mins or so left, we had a few chances that we didn't take but I think that at times ye were only at 60%.

True we were very depleted, only had two subs, neither fit, and finished game with ten men due to 3 injuries.. The ref turned the game into a farce with some of the decisions and lack of them, he missed blatant fools on both sides.. and it wasnt a dirty game but some late challanges..

Quote Originally Posted by sinabhuil View Post
    liam mcentee knows the names of players within the first few minutes of a game and i think that the likes of him should be commended on making the effort to do so.it makes him a lot more approachable and he doesn't talk down to you (despite the fact that he's pretty tall!!) during the course of a game.think hes possibly the best ref in the league although others may disagree.i think that if aref is able to explain why hes made a particular decision to you instead of giving you abuse for asking a simple question then all credit to them and they're a better ref for it.

What exactly are we lookin for in that thread? Clew Bay were at home so your point is what?

Ask FahyForever about the sending off on Sunday and how that was a Castlebar Celtic home decision, not! Even the Fahy lads were at odds as to why our lad was sent off.
    have to agree that the lad sent off last sunday was very harshly sent off but in fairness to the fahy manager he had a chat with the ref at the end of the game and he rescinded the red card-fair play to him as many refs wouldnt have listened.and fair play to the fahy manager(no bias ment either i might add!!)

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    have to agree that the lad sent off last sunday was very harshly sent off but in fairness to the fahy manager he had a chat with the ref at the end of the game and he rescinded the red card-fair play to him as many refs wouldnt have listened.and fair play to the fahy manager(no bias ment either i might add!!)
    Bias- never would have smelt bias in that post!!

No in fairness your lads did not have to say anything to the ref and that is great to see. No way should he have gone.
    Good luck with the rest of your season.
    Last edited by irishyop; 28/09/2007 at 3:49 PM.

Bias- never would have smelt bias in that post!!

No in fairness your lads did not have to say anything to the ref and that is great to see. No way should he have gone.
    Good luck with the rest of your season.
    cheers mate.all the best to yourselves also for whats left of it

Congrats to Erris B on capturing the Div. 2A title yesterday.

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    liam mcentee knows the names of players within the first few minutes of a game and i think that the likes of him should be commended on making the effort to do so.it makes him a lot more approachable and he doesn't talk down to you (despite the fact that he's pretty tall!!) during the course of a game.think hes possibly the best ref in the league although others may disagree.i think that if aref is able to explain why hes made a particular decision to you instead of giving you abuse for asking a simple question then all credit to them and they're a better ref for it.
    I agree with you that McEntee is probably the best ref in the league however knowing and USING the names of your own townies whilst not using the names of the opposition is wrong. It gives the impression of bias - whether it exists or not. He should not use the personal names of the players irrespective of how well he knows them. This is the only problem I have with Liam.

Aye, well done and to Ballina Town B on winning 2B.
    Clew Bay are in the play offs, between K&K and Celtic C for the other playoff spot

Congrats to Ballina Town B and Erris B on their promotions
    tube station

Quote Originally Posted by Tube Station View Post
    Congrats to Ballina Town B and Erris B on their promotions

Yes. Well done. Always next year for the rest of us!

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast