Page 6 of 85 FirstFirst ... 456781656 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 1B 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by Obe1Kenobi0 View Post
    Well Larry...great to see ye are going well in the league so far...fair play. Many new players this year??
    Very early yet but decent start. 6 or 7 came up from the B team and a couple of new heads.

Heard one result from last night:

Abbey 1 - 3 Fairview
    18 times, and that's a fact.

Weekend games
    Park FC v Fairview Rangers
    Prospect Priory v Holycross
    Murroe v Knockainey
    Coonagh v Abbey
    St Patricks v Shelbourne
    All predictions welcome...

Coonagh 0-0 Abbey

Heard Park and Fairview drew 2-2 but sports news said 3-2 to Park so not sure now.
    Last edited by larrywhite; 09/09/2007 at 5:02 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by larrywhite View Post
    Coonagh have brought up 6 or 7 of last seasons B team to the As. Only one new player from outside the club.
    Quote Originally Posted by see's it View Post
    so the B team could struggle?
    They should be fine. Picked up a few players themselves.
    No they're not fine, 3 more players, on top of those 6 or 7, used today doesn't help one bit

Coonagh 0-0 Abbey

Heard Park and Fairview drew 2-2 but sports news said 3-2 to Park so not sure now.
    3-2 to Park, pulled it out of the bag at the death.. Fairview with a perfectly good goal disallowed dont know why? The ref had a nightmare, stopping the game every couple of minutes hard on the players to get going but to be hinest it was a brutal match.

Quote Originally Posted by shanman2 View Post
    3-2 to Park, pulled it out of the bag at the death.. Fairview with a perfectly good goal disallowed dont know why? The ref had a nightmare, stopping the game every couple of minutes hard on the players to get going but to be hinest it was a brutal match.
    Player standing on the line was judged to be offside, you could argue the not interfeering law but not with that referee. The game was brutal to watch we made so many unforced errors it was ridiculas, but we scored three fine goals and won and that as they say was that

Quote Originally Posted by riverside View Post
    Player standing on the line was judged to be offside, you could argue the not interfeering law but not with that referee. The game was brutal to watch we made so many unforced errors it was ridiculas, but we scored three fine goals and won and that as they say was that
    very strange decision by ref ... is he not supposed to wait untill player offside moves towards or touches ball.. dont think player was also standing on line looked like 6 yard line from were i was standing
    plus goalkkeeper should have saved shot anyway.. bad game to watch but ye deserved to win it just on chances created ... darren murphy made up for his earleir bad miss to score the winner ..

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    very strange decision by ref ... is he not supposed to wait untill player offside moves towards or touches ball.. dont think player was also standing on line looked like 6 yard line from were i was standing
    plus goalkkeeper should have saved shot anyway.. bad game to watch but ye deserved to win it just on chances created ... darren murphy made up for his earleir bad miss to score the winner ..
    Olg git he was definetly in an offside position keeper was not at the races yesterday and the entire defence was shaky. We created lots of chances but it was typical of a very poor game to miss so many clear cut chances, Murph and Shane and Macky and....... but we won and remain unbeaten.

Foot.ie!

Very bad decision. Cost Fairview the points. As one of the Park lads said after, they deserve that bit of luck after the year they had last year. Great to see alot of the lads who had such a hard year last year helping put it right all credit to them! Defence was poor, enough but to my eye there was two new players again in that back four, time and time again we see that any team that changes the back four struggle. But I wouldn't worry just it'll sort itself out. I think that was their third game and 9 points out of 9 is not a bad start...
    Last edited by shanman2; 10/09/2007 at 12:18 PM.

very strange decision by ref ... is he not supposed to wait untill player offside moves towards or touches ball..
    Not necessarily, for example if the ref thinks the offside player may have obstrucetd the view of the keeper, its considered interfering with play and the ref will call offside without the player moving or touching the ball.
    This is sometimes the case when an on-side player scores from some distance out but the ref disallows for offside and everyone thinks WTF !?!

Dont know if this applies in your case cos I wasnt there so I dont know where the offside player was, just offering a possible explaination.
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    Not necessarily, for example if the ref thinks the offside player may have obstrucetd the view of the keeper, its considered interfering with play and the ref will call offside without the player moving or touching the ball.
    This is sometimes the case when an on-side player scores from some distance out but the ref disallows for offside and everyone thinks WTF !?!

Dont know if this applies in your case cos I wasnt there so I dont know where the offside player was, just offering a possible explaination.
    player was offside alright but not interferring or obstucting keepers view...

Correct, but as you will know from experience these things have a way of balancing themselves out and theres a awful lot of bad refs out there.

thats spot on ...on 2 points above ... and at the end of the day it is another 3 points for park to keep your impressive winning run going

Ref for Coonagh v Abbey game also had his own view on the offside rule. Everything was offside. Both sets of players and sidelines were in hysterics at the end because of the amount of blatantly onsides were called up as offside. Led to a game of very very few chances.

Both sides obviously shouted loud enough so. Thats how 90% of offsides are decided in any Limerick Junior league. Shout loudest you get the decision.

Anyone know where the league tables for all the leagues can be found? LDMC not updated!

Is there any results form yesterdays games? Any result from the Park game

Fairview 0 - 2 Knockainey
    Croom 3- 0 Abbey

Park were also fixed for an FAI game but that was off. Dont know about league game.

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    park won 1 nil away in patrickswell
    Park could have broken all scoring record here but dreadfull final touches on front of goal almost proved disasterous in the end. Pitch was 85 yds long and cabbage patch would no describe it, we got the win and remain unbeaten

Good win out there alright. I hear the pitch is just ridicluous. Our Bs were there a few weeks ago and couldnt get over how bad it was.

Page 6 of 85 FirstFirst ... 456781656 ... LastLast