Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast

Thread: Drogs v Helsingborgs

Maribor - I wish they were all like you. Excellent post.

sfc red - good post. happy now?

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    How was supporting Celtic not a decision you made by the way ?
    It's because of people like him that the eircom league attendances are low.Imagine if every Celtic supporter in the country supported thier local EL team.There would be tens of thousands at each game.Why people support an average team playing in a **** league in Scotland is beyond me.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    If they were actually wishing for a Helsingborg win against Drogs then I find that very strange.
    It's not strange. It sums up the Uncle Tom attitude of the proud Oirish football fan - who would support a foreign team over one of their own any day, whilst also claiming to be solid Irish patriots - yet incapable of seeing any contradiction between the 2. You could see the fcukin eejits jumping about on TV after Larsson scored - and they most certainly were not Swedish.

And then you wonder why people round here have an issue with Irish Celtic fans......

How was supporting Celtic not a decision you made by the way ?
    I had fallen in love with Celtic long before I was capable of making my own decisions.

btw - I know it's the school holidays and all but it's bed time for one or two in this thread if you think i'll be biting.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    I am saying that because if you dont believe in nationalism or even in the idea of countries well then that does open your belief system to think you can support whatever you want.
    But the Irish support for Celtic is 110% built entirely upon the concept of identity and nationalisim ! There is no other explanation for it.

Why in the name of feck would anyone support a Scottish team if they could pick any team in the world ?!? Seriously - it's that laughable...!

1,552 Posts
    Do they play in Ireland? No.
    They played in Ireland last week, and Harps battered them.

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    They played in Ireland last week, and Harps battered them.
    He meant do they play in Ireland for home games

I don't have major issue with Irish people supporting foreign clubs. Ideally I would love if they could support an Eircom League club too, which I know a lot of people do. But the thing that really annoys me above all others is the complete disregard for the Eircom League. The comments of "what are you doing following that ****e?" and "Will ye ever watch some proper football." And this comes from a lot of people who have never seen a game but just base their opinions on general public perception.

I opened a thread on this forum a good while ago with good reason. I wanted to find out how people began supporting a LOI team. As expected, pretty much all of them either lived locally or were brought to the stadium by family, friends, or other. Very few just decided at the age of 20 odd that they're going to support a LOI team and love them forever more. I'm a Celtic supporter. 99% of Irish Celtic supporters that post on the football forums are not the steriotypical Celtic shirt wearing knacker. Please distinguish between the Irish Celtic fan and the knacker.
    Which ironically is exactly how Irish people chose what English team to support (albeit at a younger age). So why is that methodology only acceptable when you're choosing a foreign team ....? Do people in England who don't have a local senior team to support just pick a French or Spanish one at random instead ? The hell they do - they pick an English one.....

There's about 100 times more Liverpool fans in this country than Celtic fans.
    Absolute laughable bullsh!t there is.......

It's not strange. It sums up the Uncle Tom attitude of the proud Oirish football fan - who would support a foreign team over one of their own any day, whilst also claiming to be solid Irish patriots - yet incapable of seeing any contradiction between the 2. You could see the fcukin eejits jumping about on TV after Larsson scored - and they most certainly were not Swedish.

And then you wonder why people round here have an issue with Irish Celtic fans......
    The point I'm trying to get across is we didn't actually decide to support Celtic when we had the sense to do so. Many smokers don't want to stop smoking. Very few smokers will start smoking in their 20's. I haven't got a choice now. I love Celtic and always will. It's the same for everyone.

Do you not agree that slagging a Celtic fan for being a Celtic fan is a bit mad?

I just honestly believe you don't realise how much of a hero Henrik Larsson is to the Celtic fans. They were there to cheer him on. Again, just put the shoe on the other foot.
    If Larsson was now playing for a different Scottish club, would they cheer him on ? No.

If he was playing for an English club that wasn't the one those same Celtic fans supported, would they cheer him on ? No.

If he played for Millwall would they cheer him on ? No.

So there's your answer. It's about Celtic - not Larsson. And it's soooo painfully embarassing...

100 Posts
    The point I'm trying to get across is we didn't actually decide to support Celtic when we had the sense to do so. Many smokers don't want to stop smoking. Very few smokers will start smoking in their 20's. I haven't got a choice now. I love Celtic and always will. It's the same for everyone.

Do you not agree that slagging a Celtic fan for being a Celtic fan is a bit mad?
    I'd slag an Irish Celtc fan for being a jump on the bandwagon

I had fallen in love with Celtic long before I was capable of making my own decisions.
    As did I. But then I became an adult. Capable of my own free decisions. And 3 years ago I chose not to support Celtic any longer - as when I analysed the reasons why I supported a Scottish team in a poor league, I simply couldn't justify it on any grounds other than religion. And I didn't want to slavishly follow a sports club purely because of the religion I was born into (and now no longer practice). I invite you to do the same - write down all the reasons why you support Celtic. One by one you'll be able to eliminate the ones that aren't hand-on-heart genuine reasons (e.g. the quaity of football etc), and then see what you're left with at the end.

So now that you're a grown adult, capable of independent decision making, you have continued with your former decision - so whether you accept or admit it or not, you have chosen to support Celtic.

Nevermind the quips about bedtime - adults take responsibility for their own actions

Absolute laughable bullsh!t there is.......
    Very rarely do I find a Celtic fan in this city. Someone I could actually have a chat with about Celtic. In my work place there's a few "Ah I live Celtic and all" type people but I'm the only Celtic fan. Loads of Liverpool fans. on boards.ie there must be 40 Liverpool fans posting there. There's 4 or 5 Celtic fans. I couldn't find anywhere showing the Celtic match yesterday in Dublin 5.

I can't stress enough how few Celtic fans there are in Dublin, compared to what people actually think.

So now that you're a grown adult, capable of independent decision making, you have continued with your former decision - so whether you accept or admit it or not, you have chosen to support Celtic.
    That's like telling me I chose to love my ma.

"Nevermind the quips about bedtime - adults take responsibility for their own actions"

It certainly wasn't you I was referring to with that remark. I'm talking about some other chap that's jumping up and down trying to get a few words in.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 17/08/2007 at 12:36 AM.

100 Posts
    He's talking about a football club, not your own mother.

How is it ? At least your mother's Irish, from the same country as yourself, and you have a blood relationship to her. You have clearly sensible reasons for loving your ma. You do not for your love of Celtic, apart from it inevitably boiling down to Catholicism. Which is fine if religious identity is that huge a part of your life

Or do you just love yer ma because you're a Catholic......?

Was it really that hard to understand what I meant? LOVE! Maybe I just have a huge heart and tiny head but it's impossible now for me to stop supporting Celtic. I presumed it was the same with most people and the clubs they support which goes back to the point I'm making for the 3rd time.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 17/08/2007 at 12:43 AM.

100 Posts
    Was it really that hard to understand what I meant? LOVE!
    Why did you have to bring it up?

Jaysus I'm going to bed.

Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast