Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Drogs v Helsingborgs

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    A few of the arrogant Swedes were confident last year against Derry but many of the more sensible ones were extremely wary and worried. They knew after all that Cork knocked out Malmo and Djurgarden the previous two years and Swedish sides were being knocked by by Welsh and Bosnian teams.

This year the Swedish clubs are doing a lot better. All their teams made it through to the next round. Their champions are up against Valencia in the third round of the CL, Helsingborgs shatt on the Estonians 9-0 and their second tier team Häcken made it through too.

They've looked at Drogheda and the other EL sides in Europe this season who have performed badly and they are confident. This season Swedish club football is on the up in Europe whereas Irish football has sunk.

Like I said, I hope Drogheda do get through but I'm not confident that they will.
    They're doing a lot better but the various clubs haven't beaten anyone of note yet. Häcken were very lucky to beat their Icelandic opponents in the first round (they scored a very late goal to go through) and with the exception of the Estonian team, all the other teams Swedish clubs have played have been in their off-season.

Helsingborg are slight favourites in my eyes but I don't think there is much between them and Drogheda. And contrary to your suggestion, I don't think the general Swedish football public have a clue about LOI football. And from reading Helsingborg quotes from Stuart Baxter and Henrik Larsson, I don't think Helsingborg know that much either.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    I find the above very difficult to believe Torn-Ado. Everyone I encountered in Sweden before the game gave us no chance at all. The Swedish press gave us no chance. Swedish TV didn't even bother to send along any cameras, it was considered such a done deal. The IFK team thouhgt they were home and hosed. Most IFK fans didn't bother going to the game, they were so confident they'd get through. All-in-all - the over-riding sentiment in Sweden was that IFK would win.

To say that Swedes were "extremely worried" about the Derry game is a tad post-rationalised I suspect....
    The Swedish press never bother with cameras for the first round games. The comments from Alexandersson were stupid and shoved down his arrogant mouth with great satisfaction. And the local Swedish paper Göteborgs Posten said before the game that it was going to be extremely tough but expected a win.

But any person over here who has a knowledge of football and tends to talk sense were well wary of the Derry game. Like I said, Cork knocked out two Swedish teams the two years previous. They knew this and they also knew that their league was performing relatively poorly in Europe so they weren't booking their tickets for the next round there and then.

No right minded football person would have given Derry no chance if they follow Swedish football in Europe. Thats like Irish sides not giving the Armenian sides a hope in hell if they meet next year.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

50 Posts
    Can you all email rte and so to encourage them to show it.
    Known rte I'm sure the premiership is all their really interested in
    I for one would love to see the game but cant make it.

Also should get 6 - 7000 for the game which would do a lot for the game and Drogs as a club instead of showing 800 in a sligo vs longford game.

Email address I already wrote to are:
    premiership@rte.ie
    sundaysport@rte.ie
    radiosport@rte.ie
    obsport@rte.ie

100 Posts
    Cant wait for the game.I just hope Doolin doesnt play his usual,boring tactics

Quote Originally Posted by Drogman. View Post
    Think of the co-efficients people!!!!
    You weren't saying that after the first leg in San Marino.

100 Posts
    They played ****e that day too.

jeez MeathDrog- You've only had 8 posts but already you told us you dislike:

1. The RDS
    2. Doolin's tactics (twice)
    3. Sunderland
    4. Some of The Drogs recent performances

Would I be right in saying your more of a "glass half empty" type of guy?

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    You weren't saying that after the first leg in San Marino.
    Am I not allowed to change my opinion
    Forzadrogs.....A blog by a Drog with an opinion!

Quote Originally Posted by Drogman. View Post
    Am I not allowed to change my opinion
    Only if you are a woman.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Only if you are a woman.
    Or a L@nger

Good luck with emailing RTE but their response last year was that they only show the Champions League so I doubt if that will change this year.

wonder would it change if an el team drew spurs/everton/munich etc.

Get through to next round lads and ye are sorted Telly wise.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by mandrake View Post
    wonder would it change if an el team drew spurs/everton/munich etc.
    They only UEFA matches that they have shown in recent years were Derry vs PSG and Shels vs Lille iirc.

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Snoop Drog View Post
    jeez MeathDrog- You've only had 8 posts but already you told us you dislike:

1. The RDS
    2. Doolin's tactics (twice)
    3. Sunderland
    4. Some of The Drogs recent performances

Would I be right in saying your more of a "glass half empty" type of guy?
    1. I just think it's an old stadium that needs renovating.Nothing to do with being pessimistic
    2. Im sorry but I just don't like him.He is a very negative manager who makes his team take a 1 or 2 nil lead and then take to foot off the gas for the next hour or so. i.e Sligo at home and Waterford at home.Sometimes we wouldnt be able to even take the lead i.e Shamrock Rovers and Bohs in the cup.He did not have a clue on how to change a game after we went behind.Its brilliant that we are winning all the time now but I wish we would do it in style instead of playing like Chelsea.Hopefully we will play attacking football against Helsingborg.
    3. I support Newcastle
    4. Not really.I thought San Marino away was poor.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    They only UEFA matches that they have shown in recent years were Derry vs PSG and Shels vs Lille iirc.
    BBC done the Paris games.

Quote Originally Posted by Dazzy View Post
    BBC done the Paris games.
    And Shels vs Lille was only after they'd been knocked out of the CL, with all the hype of that Deportivo game.....

Doolin has said he will go attacking tomorrow night. That would be feckin odd

Drogs, you think you can do them? 1-0 win maybe?

Quote Originally Posted by onephillyhughes View Post
    Doolin has said he will go attacking tomorrow night. That would be feckin odd

Drogs, you think you can do them? 1-0 win maybe?
    I think we can win. It won't be by much though, but a 1-0 is a strong possibility.

Also with Robbo at 12-1 to score first, there is defo money to be made!

What price on you winning 1-0? Worth a few bob I reckon
    Thursdays are Oriel

102 caps - legend

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast