Page 16 of 19 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast

Thread: Denmark vs Ireland - Match Thread

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by craig7042 View Post
    Everyone has slated keane for so long, that it'll be a few matches before they can praise him with integrity. Same with Stan. Give them time to get over their embarrasment! After the Welsh game someone behind me in the crowd said and I quote "keane should go and die". I was fuming at the time (see my blog) and now he's coming back, so fair play to him.
    "Everyone" hasn't slated Keane. Some people with negative attitudes have but by and large most genuine football people know what a class act we have in Robbie (if he could cut out the annoying hand waving). See the Robbie Keane thread elsewhere.

Players that did well were Reid, Keane, Long, Keogh, Dunne, Finnan and Carr. Ok were McGeady (still gets knocked off the ball too easily), Hunt, Kelly and Potter. Worried for O'Shea (it was always Dunne getting in the last foot or the last covering tackle), Henderson, Kilbane (who just gave the ball away when he came on).

In the beginning we couldn't keep the ball and were fortunate not to go behind. If we start like that in Bratislava and Prague, we'll be toast. Based on history we'll be doing very well to take 4 points from the 2 away games but confidence is priceless so fingers crossed. In those games I'd start with the same team except for McShane for O'Shea and Carsley for Potter. Not sure about Henderson though. Do we have any other option?
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Baileban - dig up a video of Holland's demolition of us in Lansdowne and compare it to last nights match...no comparison. The Dutch completely and utterly destroyed us and probably had 70-80% of the possession whereas I think in all fairness, last night's scoreline flattered us (their keeper gifted us 3 for God sake!)

Saying that there's some major positives to be taken from the match - Andy Reid is starting to live up to our hype and should be a definite starter alongside Carsley in September. Robbie showed some good touches, granted his goals were fairly jammy but I think he's starting to realise that there's some pretty decent youngsters breathing down his neck. McGeady, Gibson, Potter all acquitted themselves well which is really encouraging for the future.

My only fear now is that Stan completely ignores the positives from this match and reverts to type with KK at the centre of midfield with Carsley which would be a disaster...

And Stephen Carr...what a useless pile of £"£$"^£!"!
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Didn't realise Denmark were that rubbish...

Seems Scandinavian football as a whole is in a bit of a decline
    I don't really agree with Scadinavian football being in decline. Sweden are currently top of Group D, 2 points ahead of Northern Ireland, and 3 points ahead of Spain.

Denmark's last competitive game was a 2-0 away win in Latvia, a result a believe we may struggle to acheive. They have also recently acheived a 1-0 away win in Germany, a result we almost certainly would not acheive, and a commendable 3-1 win against Australia, also away from home turf.

I feel theres damn all wrong with Scandinavian football and Irish football could learn a hell of a lot from it. They manage to hold onto their best players untill their early to mid 20's, something the Eircom League has consistantly failed to do over the last few years.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Not sure about Henderson though. Do we have any other option?
    Colin Doyle is a very good keeper. Made a couple of mistakes in the premiership this season but then again so has Edwin Van Der Sar and Jens Lehmann.

If Given isn't fit, an astute decision by Staunton may be in persuading Dean Kiely to help us out for a couple of games; I'm sure he'd relish the chance to represent Ireland again and would let nobody down.

Paddy Kenny is also a very good goalkeeper, made an error against Cyprus but has shown time and again that he is reliable.

there is too much here to read, but lads please dont get carried away, Denmark were not at the races and didnt seem to care at all.

A few things I noticed though, as soon as kilbane was moved into midfield, we looked like we always do, flat, and moving backwards. Its like we have played for the last few years, slow build up play in the hope that we score from a cross or set-piece, whereas when kilbane was not in the centre we were moving forward far more and passing the ball forward rather than remaining stagnant and giving denmark the chance to re-group.

What is it with left-foot maestros? Is it because most players expect or are more comfortable defending onto their right shoulder than left, whatever it is I dont know, but that ball by reid with the outside of his foot to mcgeady was UNREAL. It was cross-field inch ( and height ) perfect. Genius.

Keane on MOnday touched on the fact that he and reid have a great understanding and reading of the game, it showed again here, like it did against israel. Reid should start in the centre ahead of Ireland ( if we need to substitute then fire ahead ) for this reason alone, it takes as much inclination and incisiveness of a striker to make those runs as it does the player making those passes and keane deserves credit for this too.

Ye gotta love oshea, wasn't happy with not getting in the action so trys to lob his own keeper with a header and then makes out he was clearing it out for a corner

Potter looked decent, but was a little over-ran at times. Mcgeady looked better, wasn't shoved off the ball as easily and that pass to Long was vintage, hopefully this gives him the confidence that EB reckons he requires.

Keogh has some greeat touches and really held up the ball well, hunt reminds me of kilbane breaking through, we all loved kilbanes darting runs and taking the man on, and holding onto the ball, but he does look limited just kilbane too.

Dunne again proved he is the same, savage game against City, great game last night, but he still mis-hit a ball and it went straight across the defence.

Terrible shaky start. The only real thing that I think we can take from this, is that the players showed they can hold onto the ball when away from home and this shouldnt change. We should have a great support in slovakia so heres hoping that spurs them on as well. Denmark were very poor.

20 Posts
    agree with all of the above. time to let the likes of oshea and kilbane sit on the bench. kilbane is not and never was a centre midfielder. he is a limited player who gives it his all but when he is in the centre he loses the ball too much and we then have to win it back.
    reid and keane seem to have an understanding alrite. only problem is we need everyone else to play well. cuter teams will just man mark reid out of the game. and if thats all we have then we will need a plan b.
    i suppose the only thing to take from the result is that its better wining freindlies 4 nil than losing them 4 nil.
    with the right team selection we will have a chance in the next two games and thats all we can ask for. to see lads that have never performed come back into the team tho would be a step backwards.

to see lads that have never performed come back into the team tho would be a step backwards
    Ya, cant agree more, but I think staunton is the only manager of the last two who is NOW picking the players that the majority of posters on here feel should be picked ( finnan ) and in the right positions when fully fit and available. Thing is though, do you want a great full back playing out of his preferred position or an average left back playing in that position?! Or is it a case of not wanting carr anywhere near the team?

My head hurts. Great night in Aarhus. Danish fans were a good laugh. Well worth the trip just to see Andy Reid ping the ball out to Mc Geady and his ball for Keane was great too. Mc Gead had a great game i thought too. And O Shea and Dunne were great and they really wanted to keep a clean ****e. Dunnes attitude was shown when he made a great tackle even when the whistle had gone. Good night all round.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    My head hurts. Great night in Aarhus. Danish fans were a good laugh. Well worth the trip just to see Andy Reid ping the ball out to Mc Geady and his ball for Keane was great too. Mc Gead had a great game i thought too. And O Shea and Dunne were great and they really wanted to keep a clean ****e. Dunnes attitude was shown when he made a great tackle even when the whistle had gone. Good night all round.
    Christ......didn't think you would be back so soon!You and the rest of our fans ( although not great in number ) could be heard and outsung the home fans.....of course the display helped your enthusiasm.
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

There are a lot of people on this thread that need to sit down , pull out the knife and fork and then tuck in to some humble pie.

It might have been a friendly but it was still 4-0 away to Denmark ! Its a terrific result and hpoefully gives the team and the fans a real shot in the arm going into the toughest week of the euro campaign.

The argument that this was just a friendly and doesnt matter is total garbage. If we had been on the receiving end of a 4-0 defeat , fans and journos would be sharpening the knives yet again demanding Stauntons head. Its not a fair balance to come away after such a great result and shrug it off as a meaningless match - you cant have it both ways.

The facts are that it was a terrific win despite the negatives of losing possession too often. We have learnt a few more things about our new boys (Long, Henderson etc) and we got confirmation that we still have one of the best strikers in the business in Keane. For the first time in a long while we even seem to have some backup options in the centre forward and midfield positions.

We have nothing to fear from the double header and four points from the next two away games looks like the least we are capable off. Bring it on.

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    Christ......didn't think you would be back so soon!You and the rest of our fans ( although not great in number ) could be heard and outsung the home fans.....of course the display helped your enthusiasm.
    Made it much easier to make the tv too.
    In Trap we trust

The argument that this was just a friendly and doesnt matter is total garbage. If we had been on the receiving end of a 4-0 defeat , fans and journos would be sharpening the knives yet again demanding Stauntons head. Its not a fair balance to come away after such a great result and shrug it off as a meaningless match - you cant have it both ways.

To do, what you are saying is to do what the ENGLISH do and we are not English, we are realistic. We have always been moderate but there is still no excuse for the results against cyprus and san marino, even if you and I were managers.

We are being level-headed as anyone SHOULD be, it was a MEANINGLESS friendly that had the added benefit of being played away from home, for far too long we have been the world beaters of friendlies. When we start performing and drumming up score lines like that in competitive matches come back and gloat wallis, until then we will all just sit back relax, take a long hard look and realise we are nowhere yet.

3,499 Posts
    Clips from RTE's analysis of the game: http://www.rte.ie/sport/2007/0822/soccer_av.html

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    To do, what you are saying is to do what the ENGLISH do and we are not English, we are realistic. We have always been moderate but there is still no excuse for the results against cyprus and san marino, even if you and I were managers.

We are being level-headed as anyone SHOULD be, it was a MEANINGLESS friendly that had the added benefit of being played away from home, for far too long we have been the world beaters of friendlies. When we start performing and drumming up score lines like that in competitive matches come back and gloat wallis, until then we will all just sit back relax, take a long hard look and realise we are nowhere yet.
    Too true. If we beat the Czechs next month 4-0 then I'll give Stan the credit he deserves.

Lads there will always be disputes between the pessimists and the optomists. Some people like to see the glass half full and others half empty. In the wise words of Paul McCartney, Let it be.
    In Trap we trust

optomists
    what are they are they like people that do stuff to your eyes?

Some people like to see the glass half full and others half empty. In the wise words of Paul McCartney, Let it be.

Ya, but I can see a little of what he is saying, a lot of people on here ( the less regular posters i might add ) are yoyo men, yoyo to the extreme, in actual fact they are like Manic depressives in that they can go from one extreme to the other when it comes to slating/gyrating etc.....but i think the more frequent of us here are more grounded etc.

But there was huge criticism of Stan after the Chile and Holland games so you have to treat this the same

cavan_man read my last post!

Our posts seem to have crossed each other. Can't beat the day after a match for high activity on the boards, after a summer of the Ian Harte thread I'm glad we have something real to talk about

I'm glad we have something real to talk about
    We always have stuff to talk about

Page 16 of 19 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast