Thread: Shamrock Rovers Supporters

Quote Originally Posted by robbiesdrogs View Post
    in fairness ye are all quick to jump on rovers when something goes off
    Yep, cos its something out of the ordinary(in general) in a bad way.
    If they did something out of the ordinary in a good way Im sure people would be quick to congratulate them too an example being the 400 club.

But congratulating them for just acting as fans should is a bit ridiculous imo

As a City fan......

The Rovers game is always the best atmosphere, given their trials and tribulations I think they deserve the title of best fans.

The least to expect of a set of fans is to not cause trouble. Thats every set of fans not just Rovers.

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC View Post
    The least to expect of a set of fans is to not cause trouble. Thats every set of fans not just Rovers.
    well said
    When I Was Young I had Some Sense

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    But congratulating them for just acting as fans should is a bit ridiculous imo
    The usual bitter, petty reaction when something positive about Rovers is said. They weren't congratulated for just "acting as fans should". They were congratulated for being GREAT fans. Take off the blinkers.

I guess the old saying is very apt for Rovers - "When they are good they are very good but when they are bad they are nasty"!!!

Now I'm off to wash my mouth out after that remotely pro rovers comment.
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Well sure, if they do something extraordinarily good as opposed to extraordinarily bad.....not for just acting like normal fans do.
    They raised 4 grand towards a dialysis machine for Waterford Regional Hospital with a cake sale before the game.

They were class in cobh too. When theres no trouble i think their best fans in EL for creating atmosphere and the size of their fanbase is massive too.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by khoop View Post
    The usual bitter, petty reaction when something positive about Rovers is said. They weren't congratulated for just "acting as fans should". They were congratulated for being GREAT fans. Take off the blinkers.
    You were congratulated for not causing trouble, and making an atmosphere......

And fair play, Ive congratulated some of your fans in person for creating a great atmosphere at the cross.But I don't think this, which should be what all fans try to do imo, is cause for a thread.

Nothing about blinkers, Id say the same if it had been about Derry fans. They regularly travel, don't cause trouble and create a great atmosphere.

To me it even comes across as a bit patronising to Rovers fans, 'Fair play, ye didn't even cause trouble'. Yes ye have an element that sometimes cause trouble but surely highlighting any time they don't is counterproductive. The majority of the time they don't. This makes it seem as every game bar this one ye caused trouble.

Anyway, it doesn't matter,it's just a thread. I won't post again on it, enjoy it!