View Poll Results: How do you feel about Love Ulster Parade?

Voters
56. You may not vote on this poll
  • Oppose

34 60.71%
  • Do not oppose or support

17 30.36%
  • Support

5 8.93%
Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bigger 'Love Ulster' parade planned for Dublin...

101 Posts

Bigger 'Love Ulster' parade planned for Dublin...

From RTÉ:

The group proposing to hold another 'Love Ulster' rally in Dublin says it expects around 3,000 people to attend a similar march this year.

FAIR, which represents unionist victims of the Troubles, said gardaí have agreed to police any rally which it decides to hold.

Last year, hundreds of counter demonstrators were involved in riots in Dublin city when the group attempted to hold a similar march.

After meeting with gardaí for around an hour this morning, Willie Frazer of Families Acting for Innocent Relatives said gardaí were supportive of another parade.
    Are the Gardaí insane? It will be a complete disaster in my opinion and could end up in even more carnage as more people will know about it and every little 'republican' scumbag in Dublin will be out to see what the craic is. This FAIR group are only doing it so that they can take the moral high ground if (when) trouble breaks out.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

176 Posts
    Goes to show that the marchers have zero interest in "highlighting" concerns about victims of Republican violence, but merely interested in "getting down a street".

What part of "you won't be allowed to march in O'Connell Street(or anywhere else in Dublin), no matter what" do they not understand?
    Last edited by mypost; 21/06/2007 at 5:13 PM.

101 Posts
    If they are concerned about justice for innocent victims then surely there are better ways to go about it that creating a situation which could cause more injuries to people... Why are the Gardaí allowing this to happen?
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

176 Posts
    If they were that concerned, they would invite Bertie to go up for a meeting with them for half an hour, and listen to their lecture. Then get him to tell the country how it went, while we feign interest, and be more concerned about the next purchase from Brown Thomas.

But if you're an attention-seeker, you cause mayhem in Ireland's capital city, and waste Irish taxpayer's money on valuable garda resources, for a glorified PR stunt.

Any date given yet? might make my way up for a nose.....

101 Posts
    It will be sometime in August or September.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

82 Posts
    The best thing to do with this lot of sh*tstirrers would be to ignore them and they would soon get bored of the lack of attention. Unfortunately the local bottomfeeders are sure to turn up and give them exactly what they are looking for.
    Last edited by OneRedArmy; 21/06/2007 at 6:49 PM.

They Gardai were supportive, they didn't say they had allowed it.

If it goes off, it'll be worse than last year. Nobody with an ounce of sense would allow it to happen

lets have a "F*ck State sponsored Terrorism" march in East Belfast with thousands of trouble makers from down here leading the way, at which point we burn effigies of Carson and King Billy.

This is an insult to the people of Dublin and Ireland, and will only do harm to relations between the two groups on the island
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

If Willie Fraser (he's the organiser isn't he ) was smart he'd call it a sponsored walk instead. Sure nobody would object to that.
    "I just came in to buy a stamp"-Padraig Pearse, April 24th 1916

As OneRedArmy says the best thing to do is ignore them any trouble would only be a propaganda victory for the marchers and their cause they would hold it up as an example of Intolerance towards Protestants/unionists in the south and use it as justification for their extreme brand of unionism.
    Last edited by SolitudeRed; 21/06/2007 at 9:24 PM.

If they don't direct this through a building site this year should be less violence.

Other suggestions would be stop the other sides s*it stirrers being bused into Dublin.

Get Celtic to visit for a friendly on the other side of the City?

The vast majority of people could have cared less about the parade last year except for a few Neanderthals in shiny tracksuits.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    If they don't direct this through a building site this year should be less violence.

Other suggestions would be stop the other sides s*it stirrers being bused into Dublin.

Get Celtic to visit for a friendly on the other side of the City?

The vast majority of people could have cared less about the parade last year except for a few Neanderthals in shiny tracksuits.
    great idea pete....
    or tell em that henrik larsson was spotted in the liffey valley.. that'd work

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SolitudeRed
    As OneRedArmy says the best thing to do is ignore them any trouble would only be a propaganda victory for the marchers and their cause they would hold it up as an example of Intolerance towards Protestants/unionists in the south and use it as justification for their extreme brand of unionism.
    If the Garvaghy Road residents won't take marchers down their road, how do you think Dubliners will take it in ours??

This is not a march, this is British triumphalism attepting to bulldoze it's way into our capital city, and the people of Dublin won't allow it. If the Gardai will, the people won't, so no matter where they want to march, it won't happen.
    Last edited by mypost; 22/06/2007 at 5:20 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    no matter what
    thats right, you defend our island from that terror state with your strong words!
    cause mayhem in Ireland's capital city, and waste Irish taxpayer's money on valuable garda resources
    rovers fans?

Quote Originally Posted by Saint Tom View Post
    This is an insult to the people of Dublin and Ireland, and will only do harm to relations between the two groups on the island
    its not an insult, its a Love Ulster parade. It wont cause any harm if the RA tracksuits dont show up.

If the Garvaghy Road
    yeah this is coparable

This is not a march, this is British triumphalism attepting to bulldoze it's way into our capital city, and the people of Dublin won't allow it. If the Gardai will, the people won't, so no matter where they want to march, it won't happen.
    i take it you're bringing along a few cinder blocks on the day?

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    its not an insult, its a Love Ulster parade
    Sweet Jesus Gavin, do you realise how naive you sound?

60 Posts
    I reckon that half of the fools from above who want to come down are thinking about the shopping. The fools.

Let them walk it off out in Dalkey. They'll likely be welcomed for a scone and tea.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

what the hell do these fellas know about love ulster ? it's hardly an inclusive march is it ? it's hardly bringing the ulster communities together. Terrible idea to allow this march again especially as a face off with the muppet rioters from last year is guaranteed.
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

I cant see why peopel that want a 32 county republic bla bla bla have a problem with people from the island of ireland marching down O'Connel street.How can they ever expect a 32 county rep. when they dont accept the people living here .

Im not insulted you won't see it from my house , but there will be loads of trouble think of all the scum "fighting for ireland" that didnt get a new tracksuit or pair of runners from the looting they ll all show up this time , ID be surprised if they even knew a parade was going on .

I cant be doing with all this i dont know why anyone would want to march down a road any more than why someone would not want them marching down a road .

I would like to see a day when the majority of people in this part of the island are accepting to something like this. I'm not asking we welcome them with open arms but that we can at least respect our near neighbours.

Having said that, it's pretty obvious that this is going to lead to trouble. Any Government offish with a brain would do the most to stop this. I think it's just a stunt to bait the locals and unfortunately it will work.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast