How many here moving from the old to the new stand??
So minor distractions out of the way and all that, but arent we playing Waterford tonight?
Can nobody please mention the words "home" and "win".............for a few hours at least?
Less Whining
Less Moaning
What are YOU doing to make it better?
How many here moving from the old to the new stand??
I'm a traditionalist so will prob stay in section B/C in the long term but il try it out for awhile. It crossed my mind during the SundIreland match that it could destroy the atmosphere in the ground as our 1200 regulars could spread out greatly which will undoubtedly ruin the buzz. As for the game if we play like we did against Sundireland we should hockey them as they are a poor side. But our performances are so disjointed this season its hard to know. Despite this I'm predicting a first home win for United. 5 points ahead with a game in hand (albeit against Drogs) wont be a bad position to be in.
Last edited by Tir Oilean; 03/08/2007 at 10:26 AM.
"Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett
Best bet hallf time full time, draw/GUFC 7/2.
Galway 5/6
Draw 21/10
Waterford 3/1
Derek Glynn is 5/1 to score first
All with Paddy Power.
It'll be awhile before both stands will be full again. But hopefully next year in the top flight for a second season (please god) we'll have a bigger budget and hence a bigger crowd. If you think about it we are averaging 1500 a game in 3rd from bottom place we'd have regular gates of 3k if we were well up there then we'd not have to worry about the atmosphere as the two stands would look healthy.
It will be a draw I think.
I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.
In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.
Is there standing room at the back of the stand
Yes it is and varying the prices would be crazy but maybe make it the season ticket stand.
We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"
2-1 Waterford. The most inept and irresponsible display I've ever seen on a football pitch. And that was just the refereeHow that idiot and his blind linesmen were ever let near a whistle I'll never know. It makes a mockery of anyone who invests time and money into the league to allow such useless excuses for human beings referee.
Thought most of the team actually played alright tonight but we never had a chance with the three blind mice in charge of the game![]()
Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008
Who was ref/linesmen tonight?
..agree the ref was poor but..
Waterford bullied Galway all over the pitch tonight and we all knew after 20 mins it wasn't going to change with the ref - it's up to the manager to make the team changes.
I spent first half in the new stand two seats away from Tony Cousins and he didn't say a word for 45 mins - he just sat there.
After 20 mins we all knew what was going on and he didn't send one message to the bench to get it changed.
United are too nice - pure and simple
So where to start..
no shape in midfield..Lester not match fit..Fagan kept getting pulled into the center so no width.
The game was crying out for Foley to get into midfield and kick ass- instead he's left sitting on the bench
Someone soon will have to realise that knocking long high balls up to the front guys doesn't work - Moran and Glynn are not strong enough.
I'm not one for getting on the managers case but Cousins looks like a man short on ideas when it comes to how to change the run of a game.
Jaysus it was a bad defeat
to say the least. At half time everyone in the ground could see the midfield wasnt cutting it. Lester gives it all of that there is no doubt and the crowd applaud when he flies in to takles sliding all over the place because he physically just cant get their in time. 10 times out of 10 Johns sliding late challenges normally end up with possession for the other team. Foley shoudv been there and russell. Fagan does very little but id say he could play a bit with a bit of guile that can actually get there on time alongside him. Moran and Glynn dont stand a chance with football like we witnessed in the 1st half. I wish we could show togetherness like waterford as for the ref and his assistant, well you couldnt be surprised with the standard available at this league. about 6 home games left ,I was worried before the game as all fans who have truly followed utd over the years should be. Im demoralized tonite
the consequences of going down are grave another 5years of division 1 is like facing the abyss for those of us who have travelled the byroads of ireland in the 1st division the last 5 years. Nervous? any maroon blooded Utd fan is brickin it now. Anyone else just doesnt understand LOI Football
For his own safety i hope that referee is not put in charge of any more eircom league matches after that display, the guy was absolutely clueless. He wouldnt get out alive if he performed like than and some of the grounds in the league. He let go some desperate tackles at the start of the match and by the second half he completly lost control. Derek O'Brien was absolutlely leveled on the sideline and he did nothing, Derek Glynn was pulled back running in on goal again nothing, their keeper made a save with his hands outside the box and he missed but how Barry Moran missed the resulting handball il never know, he missed 2 or 3 penalty shouts in the second half as well. Waterford could have 2 or 3 sent off. Even the little things he ****ed up like leaving O'Brien on the sideline for 2 or 3 minutes after he recovered from nearly being maimed and then he blew for full time when we had a corner.
It doesnt disguise the fact that it was another poor display though. Our build up play was poor again, everything either hoofed or going through Derek O'Brien who is always going for Hollywood moments instead of just getting in crosses into the bloody box. He tried 3 Ronaldinho esque volleys tonight and a diving header. None of them came off. Can someone not just tell him what his job is. And we could do with using the right wing abit more for a change ffs.
The confidence of the players seems really low at the moment, all the players seem to making the wrong decisions in vital areas. Its disappointing because inspite of them beating us twice this season i think we are better side than Waterford. We had alot of the play tonight and on another night would have won. Waterford were just able to maintain their composure at important times and were really up for the game.
I was disappointed in the players losing the head towards the end scuffling with Waterford only wasting our own time especially Gary Rogers who sprinted 50 yards from his goal a few times to get involved. He could have been sent off for his tangle with Vinny Sullivan as well.
On the plus side Greg O'Halloran looked good when he came on and id say he will be pushing to play from the start, he looked good when he came on against Sunderland imo.
o halloran should be experienced but he was caught badly leaving 10 yards between himself and richardson last wednesday for the second goal. he was only just on mind you at that stage so could be forgiven. I am not impressed with a lot of the signings todate. Alan keane was probably the best Gwy player tonight and he is only back. brinias, lester, armstrong,yeboah, o'flynn and a host of others are very weak compared to local players and I know you cant win a league with local talent alone. But a bit more research on signings is required.
Last edited by geezer; 03/08/2007 at 11:01 PM.
The first half was a total disaster, what is up with Murphs? he just wasn't at the ball park again tonight. We started brilliantly in the second half and if things were going our way we have scored a couple and the game would have been dead, instead it took an own goal to give us a lead and then we were caught out by two sucker punches. The managers tactics of playing in high balls to Glynn and Barry are just crazy as that is not the strong part of their games; they are both young lads with pace so the ball must be kept on the turf (does TC even realise Flynny is not up front lately).
I thought Alan Keane was man of the match tonight apart from one stray pass and being caught out of position once. If the rest of the players showed the commitment he did we would be grand, even considering he's back from a very serious injury.
TC's substitution of Wes for Foley was the weirdest part of the night, one, 12 minutes was not enough time for Foley to make a difference and two, Lester legs were gone with half an hour left, I think the most surprised person in the ground was Lester himself that his number wasn't raised.
As for the ref, I'm not going to dwell on his performance much but he let too much go too early and then lost total control. If the officials don't sort out the late tackles and professional fouls the players will and thats exactly what happened. I'm not blaming Waterford, their tactics were to come to Terryland and bully the home team and it worked for them and they got a result. I'm just glad no one was seriously hurt because of, as Saigon put it the three blind mice (they seen the tackles just chose not to act) were out of their depth.
The next few months are going to be tough, as someone said demorilised is the only way I feel right now. On a positive note Fitzgerald and O'Halloran are decent signings so hopefully we can get it together sooner rather than later.![]()
Don't mind the ref.
The game was lost by the lack of bite and willigness from our wasters.None of these spoiled prats give a toss,with the exception of O Brien,Keane,Fagan and Foley.
When we lose games like this the most infuriating aspect to me is the fact that they're a full time outfit.
I mean what do they do all week?Bar be spolied rotten of course.No doubt we'll see a few of them in the local establishments tonight.Disgraceful.
Cousins is a spoofer aswell....a poor manager.No direction or ability to change things around when we're struggling.
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am