Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: UCD v GUFC

Tir O. It's no secret. Hope it has the desired effect.

big test of TC's management ability tonight -we badly need a win.

If flynn's up front then that gives us a physical presence and fancy us to score.

Then it's down to the back 4 and some decent cover in midfield.

I'll go 1-0 united.

Any truth in rumour Utd were offered Hynes on loan during transfer window but he ended up at UCD

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Flano View Post
    Any truth in rumour Utd were offered Hynes on loan during transfer window but he ended up at UCD
    Not unlikely. I would imagine he got offered to most of the bottom half of the table.

Not a bad night for us, get in there Stephen O'Flynn.

knew he would do something for us once he was back in - sweet!
    more water!

we said we needed goals, and on his return, not only does stevo score but Glynny finds his scoring boots also !!!!!

55 Posts

good point

i have to say they battled really well tonight. Lester just kept going, Robson was excellent when he came on. It was the midfield in the first half that was a problem again. Fagan does to little. Still a valuable point with waterford and longford losing
    Last edited by Terry; 10/08/2007 at 10:54 PM.

I heard Lester the Jester was **** poor and that Robson really gave it socks! Just saw the goals on TV3, another dinger from Glynn and O'Flynns header was class too. Think Rodgers shouldve saved the second from UCD his effort to stop it reminded me of Declan McIntyre. Onwards and upwards lets hope that this is the begining of our traditional end of season push. Last seasons came too late but with 13 games left now is the time to find some form before the wheels fall off altogether.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

55 Posts
    Lester was lester, gave 110% I think he has mobility problems but you had to admire him tonight he epitomised never say die attitude and i think it sunk in with the rest. Watch fagan when our full back takes throws he goes hiding and doesnt want to receive ball. Robson was fantastic and i wouldnt say that lightly

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    Think Rodgers shouldve saved the second from UCD his effort to stop it reminded me of Declan McIntyre.
    In fairness it was hit like a bullet.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    In fairness it was hit like a bullet.
    it was but I still think he couldve got to it. He is a good shot stopper.

3,488 Posts
    My God, Galway were awful. Worst team I've seen this season.

Took advantage of us regrouping in defence early on to score, but then did nothing for 70 minutes as we walked through at will. Scored twice and would have had more but Sammon was on an off day (read, standard day). Then up pops O'Flynn - from a situation where we clearly had a free in after Murphy was hung out of - and score a completely undeserved equaliser. Should have had a penalty too for a foul on Sammon.

Still, such is football.

My God, Galway were awful. Worst team I've seen this season.

Took advantage of us regrouping in defence early on to score, but then did nothing for 70 minutes as we walked through at will. Scored twice and would have had more but Sammon was on an off day (read, standard day). Then up pops O'Flynn - from a situation where we clearly had a free in after Murphy was hung out of - and score a completely undeserved equaliser. Should have had a penalty too for a foul on Sammon.

Still, such is football.
    Now you know how we feel after all our home games.

Although even Pete Mahon thought it was a fair result (as much as you can after a last minute equaliser).
    Last edited by Maroon 7; 11/08/2007 at 2:37 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by inthestand99 View Post
    Hope it has the desired effect.
    Well it worked as far as getting a result is concerned but the desired effect would have included a good performance and I dont think that was the case.

Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    I heard Lester the Jester was **** poor and that Robson really gave it socks! Just saw the goals on TV3, another dinger from Glynn and O'Flynns header was class too. Think Rodgers shouldve saved the second from UCD his effort to stop it reminded me of Declan McIntyre. Onwards and upwards lets hope that this is the begining of our traditional end of season push. Last seasons came too late but with 13 games left now is the time to find some form before the wheels fall off altogether.
    was that the sports tonight show that you saw the goals on?
    more water!

Not far off on the speculation about the starting 11. Good result and a welcome bit of relief. 15 goals better off than W'ford also. Flynny was chomping at the bit and took his goal well. Himself and Derek were getting their buzz going when he got injured so hopefully it will develop. Robson earned his spurs tonight. I was a bit unsure up to now but he came good. The important thing here tonight lads is that we got something out of the game....... 2 goals, a point, Flynny back and a decent performance considering all the bs and giving out we did since W'ford. The sixty four thousand dollar question still remains !!!! Why cant we produce this form at home???????? Two biggies coming up now with Drogheda away and the Bit o Red at home. What points haul do ye think that will yield?

Inthestand
    I will go for 3 as this could be the result we have all been looking for a win againist Sligo at home , but we will come up short at Drogs and I would be happy with that to be honest with the 3 points .

75 Posts
    Whoever told you Lester was ****e is having a laugh.It was a toss up for him or Fitzgerald for man of the match and as geezer said he gave it everything and was by far our most dangerous player from Corner and Free kicks.

Cant believe no one has mentioned the refs part in the second goal for UCD where he played a perfect defence splitting pass to Fitzgerald which gave the defence and Rogers no chance.

We fully deserved the draw and the battling to the last minute shows their is still great heart in the squad despite all the knockers.I feel we can get a result next monday.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Ya twas on the sports tonight show alright. That may be the case regarding Lester. There were some UCD fans that said they were robbed some United fans reckoned we had the chances to win it. Pete Mahon seemed to think the result was fair. Cant see us getting anything out of the next two games to be honest. Both Sligo and Drogs are on a good run and it'll take something very special to take points from them.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Cant believe no one has mentioned the refs part in the second goal for UCD where he played a perfect defence splitting pass to Fitzgerald which gave the defence and Rogers no chance.
    Slight exaggeration. The ball off the ref fell nicely for someone in midfield who played the ball nicely out for Fitzgerald. Still poor from the ref though obviously, he got in the way of another pass earlier too and should have given us a penalty when Sammon was taken out in the box.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast