Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: ENOUGH ALREADY - Stop Slagging Refs!!!

Quote Originally Posted by football fan View Post
    And why dont you grow a pair of balls and get out of the comfort of the stand and become a referee. Every level of football in this country has a shortage of referees and its so easy to see why with the amount of rubbish you people write on this forum.

To that Cobh supporter who thinks we breed ****e referees, our culture breeds knockers like you. You played the game, support the game and if you think you can do better, why dont you referee the game. But let me know when you are brave enough to do your first game and we will all travel to see how ****e you are!!
    Grow up ffs. Maybe he doesnt want to be a referee. You'd swear the refs were getting forced and coerced into it. They chose to become refs and get paid well for it.

Now we're not allowed to criticise if we dont want to do it ourselves is it

We don't pretend to be competent officials, they do

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robbiesdrogs View Post
    the majority of eircom league refs are arrogant and there in lies the problem.now before ye all jump on me as ive stated i referee gaelic.yes i know a totally different sport,but some things are common across all sports.how to deal with people.i find if you are appraochable on the pitch have a little joke with players when it comes to it,youll get on a lot better.and its not just my approach,ive watched other gaelic refs and the ones who set themselves up as above the players are the ones who get abuse.
    That's a very good point too. From a playing point of view the best refs are the ones who'll talk to you, explain decisions etc. The very worst are the autocratic types who make their pronouncements, explain nothing, and brook no discussion of any sort, even from captains. There seems be a majority of these in the eL. Whether they get that way from fielding abuse or constant whingeing is something I don't know. But it seems to me that taking a few seconds to say, 'look, that's how I saw that happening, so that's why I made that decision' would go a long way.

When I played the very best ref used to be a good player himself a few years before, knew all the tricks (especially those of centre-halves, he used to be a forward ), kept up with play, had a good rapport with players, was consistent, but most of all talked to the players. When he explained his decisions and why he made them, even if we still thought he was wrong (which was rare), it was impossible not to respect them.
    Last edited by stann; 09/08/2007 at 7:46 PM.
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    As for courses - iirc there are two coming up at the end of August at the ALSAA (near to Dublin Airport) - best to call the FAI for details: (01) 7037 500
    How long does the beginners course last? Also, what level of games can you do after you pass?

57 Posts
    How long does the beginners course last? Also, what level of games can you do after you pass?
    Not sure how long the course lasts - as when I did mine last season I had my English FA Accreditation with me so I just did the regrading exam.

You'd normally slot onto one of the Amateur Leagues (UCL, AUL, AFL) and go from there
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Grow up ffs. Maybe he doesnt want to be a referee. You'd swear the refs were getting forced and coerced into it. They chose to become refs and get paid well for it.

Now we're not allowed to criticise if we dont want to do it ourselves is it

We don't pretend to be competent officials, they do
    If referees are so well paid, how come there is a major shortage of referees in this country. I have no idea about LOI referees but we are struggling to recruit and retain referees at schoolboy and junior level. There is more football in ireland than LOI. The abuse and the assualts are major reasons for the shortage. The point I was trying to make was that if the cobh supporter became a referee, even for one match, he would have a better understanding of how difficult the job is and the comments these people receive in the name of sport.

Criticism they can handle, the abusive comments is quite a different matter. Referees in junior and schoolboy football dont pretend to be anything other than men and women doing the job to the best of their ability. Dont knock them for that!

Quote Originally Posted by football fan View Post
    Referees in junior and schoolboy football dont pretend to be anything other than men and women doing the job to the best of their ability. Dont knock them for that!
    I never have. Its the well paid EL ones I and most people have a problem with

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    He's certaionly not ****in biased towards cork teams. Its the fear factor the way the Dublin teams think they own the league. i think hes a fairly good ref prob the best we have.
    He rode Galway United in a cup game against Cork a few seasons ago.
    I personally dont think that referees are biased in the eircom league they are just not very good at their job. It is possible that a ref could build up a dislike to a player or team due to the amount of times that they have to referee certain teams games but the pro-Dublin thing is a total red herring in my opinion, funny how Pat Dolan or Damien Richardson never noticed or mentioned it before going to manage Cork.
    There isnt a league in the world where people think that the referees are up to standard which leads me to the conclusion that it must be a very hard job to do.

123 Posts
    bad referees with a superiority complex plus attitude to match are what we are talking about and they are generally found in the EL
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Most of the criticism of refs in this thread are totally valid imo. Probably the majority of them are inconsistent. Some of them are totally incompetent and a minority are totally arrogant (walking in the opposite direction of the offending player and then whistling for him to come back as if he had ran off.)
    I wouldn't say any of the refferees are biased.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

I think all refs are great,especially Alan Kelly and the little man who was at the Harps match tonight against Wexford!

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by corkharps View Post
    I think all refs are great,especially Alan Kelly and the little man who was at the Harps match tonight against Wexford!:D
    yeah just brill, what an example of some1 wanting to be centre of attention how can any1 defend this kind of ref? I dont think your sarcasm is harsh enough for that %$^&)(&$$"!$ of an &*^£%^&%$$"£$! hole.

123 Posts
    sam you have issues
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    Sam is right, from what I've heard from a few lads back from the game tonight he was one of the worst ever refs at Finn Park (that says a lot) FFS it's not rocket science to ref a match or have a bit of common sense in wet conditions or are the FAS refs sent to Division One for their apprenticeships??

To be honest if Wexford had got an equalizer the sh1t would really have hit the fan, this is not on in such an important stage of the season in Division 1, this should not happen as dropping the points tonight would have been a big blow to Harps (or any team in the same position) people like this make the league a laughing stock, them and the “Power Trips they go on at times, I believe Dundalk fans also have a problem this person…
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

Stop slagging refs, jesus they don't help themselves do they.

Tonight at the Brandywell, Longford number 9 straight through, Pizza halfs him outside the box. Ref gives a peno but doesn't send Pizza off!! Now obviously I don't want our players sent off but Pizza was the last man. Correct decision was Pizza off and free outside the box, Whelan got both wrong. I rest my case get rid of the lot of them and replace them with robots

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    sam you have issues
    Feckin right I do but my psychiatrist told me not to tell any1 so ..........

I never have. Its the well paid EL ones I and most people have a problem with
    So, you wouldn't be so bothered if they were paid a bit less ??
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    So, you wouldn't be so bothered if they were paid a bit less ??
    Not as bothered no....It might be a bit more understandable if they were getting paid **** all, everybody works better with incentives

Not as bothered no....
    Sorry bud, I dont believe that for a second, we've all seen ref's taking abuse at junior and scoolboy level. Dont think anyone thinks in a moment of so called passion "oops, I better tone it down, he's not paid so much". Sniping at their pay is just petty and frankly I dont think its anybodys business, not the likes of you and me anyways. And yes I've heard people grumbling about the pay that junior and schoolboy refs get as well !
    LTID

The refereeing last night in Finn Park was absolutely diabolical. This is twice this season that he reffed us. In Oriel he sent Curran off for two very soft yellow cards and turned away a stonewall penalty.

Last night he dished out 2 reds and about 6 yellows in a game that there wasn't one bad tackle. It is people like this that is helping to destroy the game in this country.

To come out and say that they shouldn't be slagged is a laugh. Mistakes can happen. It is part and parcel of the game. But some refs in this league are no where near the standard and it is these people that annoy the average football fan.

The wee ****** that wrecked the game last night obviously never kicked a ball before in his life as he hadn't a clue. In my opinion, some people get into refereeing because they love the game, others because they love the power. Unfortunately there is too many of the latter in this country.

prettty **** in oriel the weekend too.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast