Page 6 of 19 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

Thread: Terry Dixon (F non-league b.1990)

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    877 Posts
    Totally unexpected good news, fair play to the lad for not just giving up when he was let go by Spurs, hope he goes on to have a great career now
    Its really not that complicated!!!

130 Posts
    Delighted to hear that, had such a bad time with injuries, hope it comes good for him now. Fair play to him for sticking at it and keeping his head up as well, shows great character.

245 Posts
    That's a fantastic story, thanks for sharing.

Credit to West Ham as well- not many Premiership clubs would invest that time and money into rehabilitating a player who many had written off at such a young age due to serious injury.

Hopefully he can repay them with some fantastic performances and fulfill his potential with the national side.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozymandias View Post
    great news..just wish we knew where woodie was now......one so young as well
    agree on both counts...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

1,916 Posts
    So West Ham sponsored the rehab including 2 months treatment with specialists in Belgium, not bad.
    Well done to him to get so far, since being written off.
    The contract with WH is very positive, it would mean that there is overwhelming medical confidence that he will be able to train normally.

great news,WH are a good team for bringing through young talent so hopefully he will get a shot soon

I'm sorry lads, but i can still see there being problems in the future. he could end up doing the other knee unfortunately. Sorry for being a pessimist, but the "specialist" didnt even perform an operation by the sounds of it either.

2,713 Posts
    Wow, a very pleasant surprise.

57 Posts
    Fantastic news. Best of luck to the lad and well done West Ham.

Brilliant news, I don't think many people saw this coming. The fact they're talking about trying to make the first team this season is awesome as well.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...td/7883543.stm

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I'm sorry lads, but i can still see there being problems in the future. he could end up doing the other knee unfortunately. Sorry for being a pessimist, but the "specialist" didnt even perform an operation by the sounds of it either.
    I'd say he's well aware that his other knee may have problems and that he's not out of the woods. And I don't think many people on here have high hopes that he'll turn out for Ireland in the future.

We're reacting to the positive news that a talented young lad, looked to be out of the game permanently, but has worked hard to get himself a 3 year deal and another shot at the big time.

1,916 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    What are you basing your pessimism on ?
    Why do you think he needed an operation?
    The fact that Terry did not need an operation in order for him to get to this stage of physical stability, is very positive.

FORMERLY: Youwerethereray Traps Cat's Avatar
    Great news. Now all i need is a Win tonight,and for woodie to turn up again and i'll be over the moon.
    Last edited by Traps Cat; 11/02/2009 at 12:46 PM. Reason: sp
    "The cat is in it, but it's open - and it's a wild cat"

2,713 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    What are you basing your pessimism on ?
    Why do you think he needed an operation?
    The fact that Terry did not need an operation in order for him to get to this stage of physical stability, is very positive.
    Maybe he took the holistic route.

1,916 Posts
    A Ros man taking the holistic route isn't a pretty picture.

I'd suggest the fact that he's been awarded a three year deal is an indication of the faith they have in his knee. They could have quite easily offered him a 6 month deal.

Well geysir he already had a knee operation, and from personal experience, although I was never near a pro footballer, close but never near , I was told by a few different "specialists" that if it occurs again after operation then there is nothing they can do. All he has got since his operation is more phsyio to build up the quads and the meniscus i think its called, but that can only do so much. The 3-years is a confidence measure more than anything. Im sure there are clauses in there to cover them if it re-occurs etc....Anyway I hope I'm wrong

570 Posts
    Best of luck to the lad

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Maybe he took the holistic route.
    So pixies will magically fix it?

Delighted to hear that he's back. Good for him.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

Says a lot that they have given him a 3 year contract. If West Ham still had reservations about his knee im sure they would have only givenhim a year long contract. Fair dues to the lad, he must be made of the right stuff. Most would pack it in with an injury like that. Spurs loss could be West Ham and Irelands gain

Page 6 of 19 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast