Thread: Wexford v UCD

24 Posts

Wexford v UCD

Hi are any of ye making the trip to Wexford on Friday for the game?

Is Finn out of this game? If he is could be interesting to see our tactics
    Last edited by Youths4Ever; 15/07/2009 at 7:15 PM.
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

A few of us heading down alright.

Finn will be automatically banned from this, yeah. Hopefully it'll confuse Wallace!

What time is kick off guys? Wexford Youths website has it at 7.30, another website at 7.45pm and Aertel at 8pm that last time I checked!
    'And Crouch must score'

3,214 Posts
    8pm I thought, but that was going by Aertel.

I think the FAI e-mail release has it at 8 as well.

Edit - UCD website says 8pm too.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    423 Posts
    When Conor Sinnott took over as PRO he decided to change the games to an earlier kick off time to try accomodate more families.
    The Youths website gives 7.30 as kick off time and here's the article about the change to 7.30, although it only specifically refers to the Athlone game.
    http://www.wexfordyouthsfc.ie/athlone_change.html

Tallaght Stadium Regular

3,214 Posts
    Cheers.

So is it 7:30 then?

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    423 Posts
    Might be worth rining the club to double check. I think there's a few contact numbers on the website. Some of the other Youths fans that are based in Wexford and actually get to the games might also be able to confirm it!

Tallaght Stadium Regular

3,214 Posts
    What's the story with that bar of yours? Is it a wine bar or a proper Mick Wallace restaurant or what? Best is to aim to be down for 7:30 anyway and hope we can get a nice bit of grub if we're well early!

7.30pm kickoff lads..overheard from horses mouth!

24 Posts
    What's the story with that bar of yours? Is it a wine bar or a proper Mick Wallace restaurant or what? Best is to aim to be down for 7:30 anyway and hope we can get a nice bit of grub if we're well early!
    def is a 7.30 KO. The complex does not have a restaurant that sells to the public there is wine available for those who wish to have a drink. If early enough Wallace has a restaurant next to Burger Mac in Enniscorthy

24 Posts

Exclamation

probably a bit late for ye now but ko changed to 8pm at last minute

3,214 Posts
    Strange. Extra half hour to get down there though; might be needed!

33 Posts
    Is this the first League or Competitive game UCD have played at Ferrycarrig Park?

I passed a Bar Italia coffehouse today, but I don't think it was a Mick Wallace place.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

33 Posts
    Wexford Youths 0:1 UCD AFC

John 'Rocco' Reilly goal mid-way through the first-half, stops the rot and gives UCD another away win. UCD have taken points from everyone else in the Division and have only failed to beat Waterford Utd. so far in the League.

Gotta keep mounting up the points. Plenty of matches to go. Nice win tonight.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    Is this the first League or Competitive game UCD have played at Ferrycarrig Park?
    It's the first competitive first team game anyway, we had a friendly there but I think it was played on the back pitch. I don't know if we've played under-20/under-21 league games there.

We were all over them in the first half but they were much more dangerous in the second half. Their shooting was so bad though that Brennan didn't have a single difficult save to make. Bolger did really well in midfield, put in some very tough tackles (all fair though) and really ran things well.

Thought Bolger was exceptional in the middle. Was he ex-Wexford Youths? Harding looked impressive enough when he came on as well. Maybe is a better option than Matthews I think.

There was an amazing culture difference in football as well. Was it only one shot Wexford Youths had on target? It's some set up down there - fair play to them.
    'And Crouch must score'

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    No, Bolger never played for them. He was excellent last night- our midfield was non existent when he went off with a knock.

Harding's performances have been better than Matthews' this season but don't know what impressed you about him last night. Practically all of Wexford's attacks late on came from their left wing as they kept getting in behind him. In fairness to him though, if we had a manager who was at least half decent tactically, or even worse than that, we would not have been under so much pressure late in the game. Based on recent performances we are definitely not going to finish in the top three.
    Last edited by DmanDmythDledge; 18/07/2009 at 2:01 PM.

Bolger's been with us since before Wexford entered the league. He's from Wexford though so he probably played for some of the underage teams that Wallace was involved with. I assume that's what the extratime report meant, though it's a bit disingenuous. Was this mentioned in the programme?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    I'm 99% certain he never played for them.