Thread: Cork City 1-2 Sligo Rovers

Cork City 1-2 Sligo Rovers

Great result ! moves us up to 4th , 2 lovely goals . I cant remember the last time we had a front pair as skillful as Judge and Faz . Faz probably wont be properly appreciated till he is gone and is having a great season

Really enjoyed that, our defense was excellent, probably rode our luck a bit in the second half but if ya sit back its to be expected, in saying that they had feck all chances; great start though could have been 3 up at the break. Woods should have gone for that challenge on Raf (second bookable) . Couldn’t fault anyone’s performance especially in the second half.

hopefully a Sligo double.
    Last edited by Bravo; 03/08/2007 at 9:08 PM.

Excellent stuff. I thought they might hav lost their chanc when Cork equalised, but they were pretty comfortable in the second half.

****ing great result. Was expecting a hammering down in Cork but couldn't have been much better than that. Cook is a legend! We're playing brilliant stuff lately.

Comiserations to Cork, hopefully they'll win tomorrow to make up for it

Congrats lads, Cooke has ye well organised, we're gonna do nothing until we sack that bluffer. Coleman had Kearney in his pocket all night although Liam is well used to that at this stage. Well deserved, the team who actually gave two ****s won tonight, well done.

What a result. A nervous last few minutes was endured. Rico must have been raging as he didn't even give a post match interview.

I still think we look dodgy defending, but you can't fault the lads for effort. I thought if Cork were to equalise it would come from a mistake from us rather than from Cork's play. Farrelly and Woods should hang up their boots, did you see Farrelly trying to get a wind of breath towards the end of the game.

I am still not too sure about Boyd and Ventre. I thought Boyd looked off the pace and Ventre looks liable to give away silly frees.

Pick of the bunch tonight were Raf, Faz and O'Grady.

As for the yellow cards, surely Dan Murray should have got one in the first five minutes of the game, for cyinicall
    y taking Raf out of it.

Quote Originally Posted by showgies View Post
    What a result. A nervous last few minutes was endured. Rico must have been raging as he didn't even give a post match interview.
    He couldn't thinnk of anything to bullsh!t his way out of it. Tomorrow w'll read some interview in thge paper from him in the most ****ed up English that we won't understand what he's saying. I really really despise that man.

As for the yellow cards, surely Dan Murray should have got one in the first five minutes of the game, for cyinicall
    y taking Raf out of it.
    He did.

He did.
    Did he?? I must have missed it

He did 2 bad tackles early on, he wasn't booked for the first but was for the second.

Delighted with the win.Great victory.Cooke's really turned things around.Ventre was solid.Boyd was unlucky not to score a cracker.He also put the ball into Judge who done a great bit of skill to get the pass to Hughes who smashed it into the net.Thought Raf was brilliant before he got injured.O'Grady worked the whole way thought the game.Faz played well.
    Last edited by red rovers; 03/08/2007 at 9:55 PM. Reason: Spelling
    SLIGO ROVERS FOOTBALL CLUB

Great result. Reckon we've finally found our manager.Never dreamed at the start of the season we'd be up to fourth. Fair play to everyone who travelled down

Fair play lads. Well deserved. We were pathetic.

Sligo did what Sunderland couldn't

Quote Originally Posted by Kivlehan View Post
    Sligo did what Sunderland couldn't
    Whats even more embarrassing is that our players actually cared in the Sunderland game and didn't bother showing up tonight.

Quote Originally Posted by adamcarr View Post
    Whats even more embarrassing is that our players actually cared in the Sunderland game and didn't bother showing up tonight.

Very true, one thing that's obvious from this game was the amount of support Cork had tonight in comparsion with the friendly v Sunderland although it still better than most teams in the EL, anyway great game , Faz is a f**king legend, one thing that winds me up is cooke's public comments on how far this group of players could go, i don't honestly believe he says to them that survival is the is the main objective and let's do our best, looking at this now i really think pats and drogheda are the only teams that are better than us, i still think derry will put a run together, europe is within are grasp on the basis of the last 2 games, we would never of won that game last year, i also don't accept these comments that cork have had various disruptions through injuries, losing players etc, healy is a shadow of his former self, as for Farrelly. he looks like he was pulled of the bar stool , got to be something with management etc, i think Foys time is up, a disgrace that someone who trains every day looks like that, and likewise for Manson- didn't look confident at all,
    but overall it's happy days - here's hoping sligo beat cork tomorrow, joke of the day is "some lad (meath) is bringing a banner to croker with a message to the tyrone fans " you have been ruled by the royals for hundreds of years, today will be no different"

Quote Originally Posted by Royal rover View Post
    looking at this now i really think pats and drogheda are the only teams that are better than us,

Calm down feen.

You got 2 goals on the break, you never controlled the game.

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb;
    you never controlled the game
    Thanks for setting that straight. Now that you've pointed that out, I no longer feel satisfied with six points out of six against City (6 scored, 2 conceded).

As for 2 on the break, we'd hit the bar twice before the home team had a shot worthy of the description.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb View Post
    Calm down feen.

in fairness, apart from the first 3 minutes, we were all over ye until you scored.
    fantastic result. cant ask for more from any of the players. cant single any of them out for praise either.
    delighted!

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb View Post
    Calm down feen.

We deserved nothing, Roys goal and Hoggy's free kick were our only real chances.