http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/0802/drogheda1.html
Doesn't really give any hints?
Did Drogs throw their toys out of the pram because it wasn't on RTE TV?
Did Bohs demand a fee?
Why were RTÉ radio sport denied commentary coverage of the game from Dalymount tonight?
Whats that comin' over the hill
It's the Monster,
The Cookie Monster!
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/0802/drogheda1.html
Doesn't really give any hints?
Did Drogs throw their toys out of the pram because it wasn't on RTE TV?
Did Bohs demand a fee?
Thats a crazy decision by Drogheda. Lets hope RTE are not further distenced from the EL now. Their Friday night show is top notch
Irish Mail on Sunday says Drogheda looked for a fee. That's more than fair if you ask me.
Fair on whose part?
Don't think that post makes any sense at all...![]()
Below is a post from citizen smith on our forum! Sums it up well imo. Btw remember, a few quid from the radio isnt going to do much for us financially so it was obviously the principle of the thing - if they pay the GAA, they should be willing to pay for a uefa cup match - or will we continue to be treated like 2nd class citizens compared to the GAA?
'My information is that RTE were made aware of situation on the Wednesday evening. The fact is they still turned up automatically expecting to be waved through and allowed set up and broadcast without question. Do you reckon they'd get away with that at Parkhead or Old Trafford? Times are changing, and Drogs are now leading the revolution. Imagine if they had relented and allowed RTE and TV3 in to do their stuff.... what would be said if they then asked from money ahead of the next match - they'd be accused of cashing in, no? . It will be interesting to see if either organisation will stump up a few quid for the Helsingborgs game just because of who's playing for the opposition.'
DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS
I don't accept that RTE should assume that they have the rights to broadcast radio coverage for free. However I also don't think Drogs were wise in informing RTE one day before the game & also a very poor game to choose to start this process as nobody would pay to transmit commentary on a Uefa Cup game against a San Marino side.
Not to mention the fact they'd have got the national airwaves for 2 hours (how much do ads cost?)
As usual with LOI clubs looking at making a quick couple of hundred euro rather thinking about the big picture.
Not even going to mention the poor PR Drogheda got and not even having the balls to tell their own fans what the craic was, but leaving it for someone to post up their version on a fecking internet messageboard
(a) as dmanetc said, not as late as they did.
(b) I disagree anyways. TV coverage is only worth E3k, so radio coverage is worth E100 at best. Not worth fighting over. From RTÉ's point of view, it's not just about the one game, but about the precedent - say Drogs asked for a grand, well then everyone will be asking for a grand every Friday. Suddenly RTÉ have a E30k hole in their budget, which just isn't going to happen.
If Drogheda wanted money from the coverage, they should have asked for it in a professional way, and accepted RTÉ's response (assuming it was based on the above logical reasons, and I can't see any other reason) rather than going off in a huff.
stu, i know you have a hard on for us, but i still find it amazing that how you can make your 'assumptions' to fit your agenda - rte and logical - are you so certain? but you seem certain that the club went off in a huf.
my assumptions are that you have jumped to conclusion based on half truths being posted on a this site, and arrived at a pre determined conclusion as to were the blame lies![]()
Last edited by ColinR; 08/08/2007 at 5:49 AM. Reason: typo
You go show me an alternative argument then rather than prattling on about hard-ons.
RTÉ are highly likely to be completely and utterly illogical about tihngs financial? It's not Drogheda we're talking about here.
alternative argument 1) - the drogs website had a link up with 98fm in the run up to the match advertising ticket giveaways and regular updates before the match. It is almost certain that the club got some money (at least ticket money) from 98fm for this, and got free advertising of the match out of it. Is it in the club's best interests to repay this, by allowing a competitor free access to the rights for the game?
http://www.droghedaunited.ie/scripts...ArticleID=1159
alternative argument 2) the club clearly expected to win through the tie, and with pats likely defeat in denmark, drogheda suddenly are the only european show in town. by denying rte free access to the radio rights, the club were showing that they were not going to be fooled into a cheap deal on any future tv rights on the basis of 'sure isn't free advertisment for ye' attitude.
argument 3) (not really alternative, cos it sort of support your point more than mine) last year the club produced a cup final dvd about 8 or 9 months after the final, when the prospect of massive sales had dropped as all the initial goodwill and euphoria had naturally faded as the months passed. the reason for the delay was (according to the club), in relation to rte and their rights over the coverage. it is possible that the club felt that if they had to pay a fee to rte then, surely rte would understand that the integrity of media rights should neccessitate that they pay a fee now (as with other sports).
now, i have no idea if any of the above are valid or otherwise, but i am betting that you don't either, but yet you seemed quite able, as per usual, to definatively arrive at a conclusion which had the club throwing a huff and being unprofessional.
I've reached no conclusion; I always was at pains to say that my opinions were on the assumption that I was making were correct - "say Drogs asked for a grand", "If Drogheda wanted money", "accepted RTÉ's response (assuming it was based on the above logical reasons)"
I don't think TV deals are linked in any way to radio deals; certainly there's no sign of any evidence to support that. With the new TV deals last season, radio coverage continued exactly as before. Therefore, I would be dubious about your point number 2. If 98FM weren't covering the match, there doesn't appear to be any conflict really. That's like saying The Irish Times shouldn't write about live eL games because The Mirror (or whoever it is) sponsor them.
Point number 3 sounds rather petty to be honest - you screwed us over, so now we'll screw you over?
The free market sets the rates and the fact nobody was willing to pay one cent speaks volumes.
Not particularly bright stuff by Drogs tbh. Its not like EL clubs are starting from a position of strength. Any publicity and exposure must be considered a bonus and unless they know something about listenership figures that the rest of us don't a UEFA Cup QR1 game against a bunch of semi-pro's is hardly must listen to radio.
If they try this again and again RTE will continue to call their bluff.
In fairness stu, your opinions on it (and the rovers supporters opinion as his post was just 'i know what happened and you dont' blah blah blah without expanding') are just like colins different theories - nobody knows the reason bar drogheda united - thats the point colin's making!
DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS