Thread: DSC Questions & Answers night with Paul Cook

DSC Questions & Answers night with Paul Cook

The Dublin Supporters Club are delighted to announce that they will be holding a Questions & Answers evening with Paul Cook next Wednesday 8th August. The event will start at 8pm sharp and will be finished by 10.30pm as the Manager has to return to Sligo that night.

The event will be held in the upstairs bar of The Corner Stone Pub, 40 Wexford Street, Dublin 2. The pub is located at the junction of Wexford St/Aungier St and Cuffe Street and is less than a 5 minute walk from St Stephen’s Green. Everybody welcome.

As this event is been organised at short notice we would appreciate it if you would pass details of this event on to any Rovers fans you know based in Dublin and its surrounding areas.

Also anybody that would like to be added to the DSC mailing/text list and receive updates on all our upcoming events can do so by sending their details to the contact numbers/email address above.

Cheers.
    Last edited by gustavo; 02/08/2007 at 1:48 PM.

great idea..

well done lads.

151 Posts
    Can I suggest as a venue, The Phoenix Bar, Dalymount Park, provided Bohs have cleaned all the blood off the walls after Wednesday night.

this has been updated

Map to The Corner Stone pub ( click to enlarge ).

Corner Stone.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by SRFC DSC View Post
    Map to The Corner Stone pub ( click to enlarge ).

Corner Stone.jpg
    Fair Play Lads nice one.

Any plans for a whip around by those in attendance for The Manager/ committee reps to pay for some Petrol/Expenses.

Small donation / €5 a man or something to show appreciation for them making the trek ?

if you wear your lucky knickers you n=might get a fella

did you get your man:?

Reminder

Just bumping this to remind everybody about tomorrow night.

Cheers.

How'd this go tonight? Any chance of a brief copy and paste of main Q&A?

Much of a turn-out?

Excellent night. Reasonable attendance given the time of year with holidays etc. - 20 approx.

Paul came across very well. Very candid and open about our prospects and his ambitions for the club both short and long term. He took all the questions asked and was refreshingly honest with a very good sense of humour.

He was very loyal to the players but not afraid to be critical if necessary. Easy to see how he is generating the excellent team spirit evident at present.

His main concern is the lack of back up in the squad and the problems we could have with a spate of injuries particularly with the strikers. He is not, however, going to sign anyone just for the sake of it. He is finding it difficult to get players to come and live in Sligo and also to compete with the wages reportedly on offer from Bohs/Drogheda/Pats.

Well done to the SRDSC and Jack Kearney for organising the night.

Yea it was a great evening, an interesting insight into the workings of Paul Cook, one of the most interesting points he made is his commitment to the club.

He stated he was not willing to jump ship to climb the managerial ladder at the first club that came waving money in his face.

Quite an entertaining bloke too, he told some good stories about his dealings with other managers within the league....
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Tell us some of the dirt on other managers then!!

Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post
    He stated he was not willing to jump ship to climb the managerial ladder at the first club that came waving money in his face.
    thats nice to hear.. he knows what we like

Any chance of the Trust organising something like this? Ye did one with Sean Connor.

151 Posts
    Yeah, another one with Sean Connor would be great.

Formerly: wild rover
    Any chance of the Trust organising something like this? Ye did one with Sean Connor.
    it happened 3 weeks ago but the man himself said he wants to have it on a bigger scale so id say it will happen soon

Quote Originally Posted by Rory H View Post
    it happened 3 weeks ago
    I presume you mean the Trust meeting? That's not exactly what I was meaning.

Quote Originally Posted by Rocketfingers View Post
    I am guessing you meant a Q & A night ?
    Yes like the one they done with Sean Connor. Very well organised with Ocean FM's, Gerry Farry, being the MC on the night.