Thread: Gaa/afl

It wasn't started to have a pop at the GAA. It was started to discuss something that was in the news this morning. Player rights is something that I've long had issue with the GAA about, having witnessed it close hand. No different from me having issue with other organisations that treat their workers poorly. I find it hypocritical of the GAA to try and stop players earning money from sport whilst they refuse to pay the players themselves. They want to deny GAA players the chance to be professional sportsmen.

Maybe it was a bit of glib comment about the GAA coffers, but you have to accept that it is the richest sporting organisation in this country? Who are the only ones to get paid by this organisation? Administrators and Managers. What do players get - poor expenses and a holiday if they're lucky.

The fact that this type of debate is stiffled the whole time is one of the reasons I would generally not be a fan of the GAA anymore. If you dare criticise it's because you couldn't possibly understand, or because you're not really irish. It is never because there is a valid case to bloody answer.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Thats a fair point, I obviouslly wasn't aware of this, again I only know of 6 clubs in ros that have it ( but i beleive there is a direction in place to get them for all clubs ). As a matter of interest how many people are trained to use them though WAR ( how apt a username might i add ), i beleive you have to be trained to use one....

Btw they arent cheap either.
    My brother and his mate who run the 2 teams are both trained to use them and the club paid for them themselves.

My point is that junior 'soccer' has done this without feeling the need to pat themselves on the back. Unlike the GAA.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

very good post Macy. Completely agree with your first paragraph. Ill have to read it now and respond properly related to that

IN relation to the second I dont have enough information, neither do you I would assume or most of us lay people, to the breakdown of the GAA expenditure, but in relation to the FAI or IRFU for example, the GAA only gets money internally from games such as leinster finals etc, If ireland appear at world cups or euro champs or rugby world cups they get money externally plus extra sponsorship and what not. How much funds do EL clubs get from the FAI? THe full professional ones paying proper wages, that stop players from having day to day jobs, unlike the GAA players again, who have day to day jobs to make their own income.

My brother and his mate who run the 2 teams are both trained to use them and the club paid for them themselves.
    its 4 per club for gaelic clubs. IF every soccer club up and down the country was to get one, not just the LSL, I am sure the FAI would have come out with something similar. To say otherwise is very naive or just blind.

The cost of running the Tipperary intercounty hurling team for this year was €800,000 according to their manager Babs Keating, i would imagine it is similar for any team of a similar standard. They also have to pay for their football team. The GAA have built up alot of stadiums recently like Pearse Stadium in Galway, the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick, Portlaoise, Wexford, Leitrim and refurbishment of Thurles and Croke Park. Yes they have plenty of money but that is not to say it is disappearing down black holes.
    As for this thing with the Aussies, they are always giving out about it but there is not alot they can or really should be able to do about it, you cannot impede a persons chance from making a living in a professional sport if they feel like it.

but in relation to the FAI or IRFU for example, the GAA only gets money internally from games such as leinster finals etc, If ireland appear at world cups or euro champs or rugby world cups they get money externally plus extra sponsorship and what not.
    what is it with you and location? The FAi have had one senior team qualify for a major finals in the past 13 years. The amount of money they earned from that is far, far exceeded by the amount of money they've spent bringing teams from under16 to amateur to seniors to all parts of the world over that time. The only money they earn is at home for senior internationals and even them its about 6-8 a year max, much much less than the GAA have

To say otherwise is very naive or just blind.
    I'll repeat my point one more time - the FAI can do this stuff without the need for banging on about it as if they are the most wonderful people on Earth. the GAA on the other hand have such an inferiority complex that they have to pat themselves on the back every time. That is all.

You haven't said anything other than they can. lets start when at least one club in every county ( or its a directive from FAI hq ) or district league has at least one with trained people to use it, then we will see And the inferiority complex, hmmm ya ye can really nail that one down there cant ye.

what is it with you and location? The FAi have had one senior team qualify for a major finals in the past 13 years. The amount of money they earned from that is far, far exceeded by the amount of money they've spent bringing teams from under16 to amateur to seniors to all parts of the world over that time. The only money they earn is at home for senior internationals and even them its about 6-8 a year max, much much less than the GAA have
    Fair point 8 mil. thats fair enough i asked though how many clubs get funding from the FAI and how much? Also look at the stadiums ( gaa ) and how they have been rebuilt such as pearse stadium in galway, the money is being distributed, they help pay for every hurling and gaelic intercounty team. How many 'soccer' clubs own their own stadiums etc? There is loads of examples of how the money is being used through underage coaching from u6 all the way up etc, the facilities NOW being provided ( unlike when i was a young fella ) to all ages. The local club at home has 17 teams alone, dont think that this is all paid for by the local community is it fup. They are creating a second pitch with a stand and floodlights and training pitch, partly funded by gaa HQ. The local socccer club? Well they had to go to the government for a grant and fundraise the rest. NO support from the FAI. Thats just one example but id be pretty sure its the same up and down the country. The soccer facilities are savage now though ( for a town the size, especially competing in a mainly gaa-playing ( not supporting necessarily) county ) as well so fair play there. Thats the difference where the 8 mil being made by the FAI and 15 - 20 mil being made by the GAA goes.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 27/07/2007 at 12:51 PM.

20 Posts
    Could a mod please bin all the NON afl related crap in this thread. That's roughly everything bar the first couple of posts.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    According to reports this morning, the GAA is trying to put rules in place stopping Irish people earning a living by becoming professional sportsmen by trying to ban the AFL from "taking" "their" players.
    Is there no end to how low the GAA will stoop? It won't pay the players out of their massive coffers that the players themselves earn for the organisation, and now it wants to stop (the few) players that go to Australia having the chance to live out everyone who's every played sports' dream?

Toned down report here
    **** poor aguements
    I find nothing in the article or linked article to suggest more than a state of resentment exists
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/gael...a-1046261.html

Resentment
    ´Brennan is well aware of the deep-seated resentment from GAA county boards to the poaching of their young talent.

Australia's International Rules Chairman of Selectors Gerard Healy even commented this year that Ireland is "one of the great untapped areas of (AFL) talent".

However, Healy also conceded it was not fair of the AFL to build a relationship with the GAA while "simply pillaging their stocks of young players".´

Would it be fair to say that any EL club losing it's top players to the EPL with no transfer fee involved would have an element of resentment.
    elements of deep resentment and elements of downright indignant deep seated hostile resentment

"massive coffers"
    The GAA is probably the most astute finacially run sporting organization in the country, whatever about other aspects snail pace.
    Take the time to examine facts
    annual reports here
    http://www.gaa.ie/page/official_reports.html.

An annual report is easy enough to assimilate.
    Take a look at operating profit and expenditures.

It won't pay the players out of their massive coffers that the players themselves earn for the organisation
    That's the basic concept of amateur sport.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    That's the basic concept of amateur sport.
    Doesn't seem to apply to managers (or administrators), but you could've always qouted the whole sentence....

and now it wants to stop (the few) players that go to Australia having the chance to live out everyone who's every played sports' dream?

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Doesn't seem to apply to managers (or administrators), but you could've always qouted the whole sentence....
    Here is the whole sentence. Not a feckin word about managers or admins in there.
    "It won't pay the players out of their massive coffers that the players themselves earn for the organisation, and now it wants to stop (the few) players that go to Australia having the chance to live out everyone who's every played sports' dream?"

Amateurs don't get paid
    Coffers?
    Wants to stop player's dreams ?

geysir i want to be like you when I grow up

You already are mate.

Here is the whole sentence.
    Um, did Macy not already do that?
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

By the way, there are a couple of threads on here today that are making this slow-moving Friday move slower, but little nuggets like this keep me going:

i beleive you have to be trained to use one....
    I've seen ER; does that count?
    Last edited by noby; 27/07/2007 at 2:24 PM. Reason: typo
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

I just read that article now, where does it mention they are going to ban players from going to play in australia? unless i missed it, the article itself was very short, and had words such as "amid disquiet", "rumoured" etc, Its just cliona foley trying to pull an article together like she did about fulham irish cos she has nothing better to write about.

However," It is rumoured that this may go one step further this autumn with several AFL clubs reportedly willing to combine their resources to run a camp-style trial for Irish teenagers Down Under. "

A lad 17 or 18, with no college education going to play a sport, that might offer very limited of a career after playing, and very little money to sit back on once finished playing is hardly a smart move and I agree the GAA should trying and stop this. Moving across the other side of the world is growing up too fast way too quickly, away from everything and everyone he knows.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 27/07/2007 at 2:40 PM.

I've seen ER; does that count?
    have you watched it more than once and or rewound the tape? Then yes.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by noby View Post
    Um, did Macy not already do that?
    Not the the sentence from the post I was answering which was about players.

Anyway WTF have manager expenses or admin wages got to do with the original post about players?

Excuse my ignorance but what the fock is a defibrillator
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Anyways, the GAA can't really stop players leaving to play in the AFL. Best of luck to them I say. Just as long as they don't start up that International rules bawlox again. My god, that was ridiculous.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.