Thread: God Hates Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by finlma View Post
    Phelps follows the Bible to the exact word unlike the Christian cherry pickers. He probably has more right to claim his religion as the truer one but to me they are all the same.
    True ...well all other things being equal -like the one in a million shot that the translation of these chinese whispers through a plethora of languages is accurate. But he is a word for word adherent to the king james bible (which has many hopeless inaccuracies). I wonder if he eats perry winkles at the seaside. Leviticus (same clown who rails against the funboys) expressly forbids it. more info at www.godhatesshellfish.com.

But as I said earlier the cantankerous, intolerant hate-filled ******* that Phelps calls God is a far more accurate rendering of the character in the bible than all the folk masses and novenas in the worlds can counter.

Quote Originally Posted by AntoMcC
    Would you like it if everytime you met a Catholic/Protestant or whatever,they tried to convert you to their beliefs?
    No Catholic I've ever met has ever tried to convert me because they've always just brazenly ASSUMED I was Catholic already.

My (ala carte presbyterian) sister-in-law aside -the vast majority of Protestants I meet are drawing bad cartoons on flip charts on Cruises Street and bellowing Michael Stipe-like into megaphones about end-times, my being hell bound and how I must be reborn. So no, I don't particularly like when they try to convert me.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by finlma View Post
    Back on topic - Keith Allen also visited the Phelps compound and had a glaring row with them. Good viewing.
    Allen embarrassed himself by losing every argument with the Phelps. The glaring row came from him shouting down to them after they would not rise to his style of questioning and his inability to hold an intellectual conversation with them. The Phelps are extreme in their beliefs, but I'd rather spend a day in their company than that idiot Allen. The guy on BBC2 - Theroiux, produced a more insightful documentary.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

Allen embarrassed himself by losing every argument with the Phelps. The glaring row came from him shouting down to them after they would not rise to his style of questioning and his inability to hold an intellectual conversation with them. The Phelps are extreme in their beliefs, but I'd rather spend a day in their company than that idiot Allen. The guy on BBC2 - Theroiux, produced a more insightful documentary.
    lofty agree completely with ye, allen comes across as arrogant and someone who beleives he "has made it" and is famous so he can go round saying anything he so feels. I remember reading the metro saying his documentary about the family in the states who hated all gays and the US army are all fag lovers and deserve to die. He made no argument about anything, there was no structure to the programme, he was just trying to rile them and shout them down at every opportunity. He is very inept in his ability to construct a meaningful and worthwhile discussion.

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    I agree Lofty, not a fan of the man at all. Still made for good entertainment when he found out your wan had an "illegitimate" child.

ah right thats the program i saw.....i thought ye were on about the two young girls who sing nazi songs, because of why lionel said earlier. I was on about the same show.

60 Posts
    Personally, I follow the gourd.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    ah right thats the program i saw.....i thought ye were on about the two young girls who sing nazi songs, because of why lionel said earlier. I was on about the same show.
    That was on Channel 4 like the Keith Allen one wasn't it? C4 has gone so bad - they've just started to copy the Louis Theroux documentaries (he met Prussian Blue years ago - that family is much sicker than the Phelps I think, the mother basically admitted out to whoring out her children to advance the Nazi cause) yet manage to completely miss the point that you need to engage with your subjects instead of trying to shout them down.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

First of all I thought this thread was about our poxy weather so avoided it.

Secondly, lads relax on the political/religious rhetoric. We don't allow people to call fans of certain football teams idiots so what makes you think you can generalise a whole religion (or multiple religions in finlma's case)

By all means state your beliefs but this isn't a pulpit (or whatver us on-believers use)

Thirdly, what the **** is up with that graphic?

My vote is for No Politics....and as for religious debate, I thank God I'm an atheist!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

That was on Channel 4 like the Keith Allen one wasn't it? C4 has gone so bad - they've just started to copy the Louis Theroux documentaries (he met Prussian Blue years ago - that family is much sicker than the Phelps I think, the mother basically admitted out to whoring out her children to advance the Nazi cause) yet manage to completely miss the point that you need to engage with your subjects instead of trying to shout them down.
    aye thats it jerry. ya thats the group, theroux or someone else re-visited them recently and they are begining to question what their mother has though them. But again it was a grandad that had a big influence on them.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    Personally, I follow the gourd.
    No, you fool! You heretic!! It's the shoe! THE SHOE!!!
    more bass

He's not a messiah, he's a very bad boy!
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    He's not a messiah, he's a very bad boy!
    Now f*ck off!
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    No, you fool! You heretic!! It's the shoe! THE SHOE!!!
    Cast off your shoes and follow the sandal!!!
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

There was one of the Phelps crowd on the Moncrief show earlier talking about homosexuality, I think her name was Shirley Phelps. She was a bit of a basketcase and Moncrief challenged her on a number of issues with some valid points, then he just tore into her at the end calling her a nutjob and a God hater, he even called her a lesbian. He mentioned the illegitimate child but waited until he had her off air...pity. She singled out David Norris as the main messanger of evil in Ireland.

Oh yeah and the Gourd is the only true messiah

522 Posts
    I was listening to Moncrief at the start, wish I hadn't missed the end now. It was obvious to anyone that knows him that he was drawing her in, but I reckon he made such a good job of it she didn't see it coming. The good thing about the Phelps' - she's Fred's daughter btw - is that they come across so nutty, even on the US scale, that their following is really quite small, mostly family. The bad thing is the inordinate amount of media coverage they get, given that. It really is totally out of whack with their scale, and another example of the absolutely terrible media we tolerate today.

(I'm not talking about things like Moncrief here, I'm talking about mainstream news coverage. Their entire philosophy is based around scandal-to-get-in-the-news and it's blatantly obvious, yet the news media still reports it.)

Last edited by dahamsta; 28/07/2007 at 9:16 AM.

Heard her on Moncrief, he cracked me up saying about her shouting for the salt at the dinner table

The good thing about the Phelps' - she's Fred's daughter btw - is that they come across so nutty, even on the US scale, that their following is really quite small, mostly family.
    i think the reason they have such a small following is because of the stance they take on soldiers and given their location, they are right in the middle of hickville where the "GO BUSH", "GO USA!", "Support our troops!", "Brits out"( ok i made that one up ) is ingrained in 90% of the people living there. If they were pro troops etc etc I am sure they would have a far bigger following.

Disgraceful Website!

I was bored at work today (as usuall ) and came across this website by accident. Im all in favour of freedom of speech and all that but this is just too far. Take a read through it. Im pretty sure its not a joke or comedy website but this guys seriously messed up whichever the case. He really doesnt like Ireland.

http://www.godhatesireland.com/
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Thats so 2 months ago, what rock have you been under