Last edited by sligoman; 27/07/2007 at 11:08 AM. Reason: merge...
ya somehow i think they would feel i was taking the mick and not take it seriouslly, even if on the phone they appeared to do so.if you wanted to you could ring the equality board they are very helpfull .
GAVZAC I mentioned there was a black guy sitting there ( i dont know what he was ) as to show that obviouslly it was a unisex salon ( maybe he had just got his hair cut or barber), however it could be the case that he was just a friend or whatever....
OSO, i wasn't wearing any "gah" jersey!!! Nor do i have ginger hair. Who was it that said about it being a specialist job to use a razor....please come on now think again, good boy. Even if ye cant see past that, if its a unisex salon, it should allow for both anytime, otherwise signs should say different.
Stann, i have done nothing to any slaves or black people or anyone else, some people cant keep using that excuse for their "behaviour".
Last edited by paul_oshea; 27/07/2007 at 10:55 AM.
No they take it seriously i was on to them before over Ladies nights in clubs i felt i was being disscriminated against by the club forcing me to pay just because i was a guy . Same club has been hit for that and stopping an old man ( 60 ) entering because of his age .
I did it because they have a "not tonight bud poilicy " if 3 of ye walk up they will pick one guy and just not allow him in for no reason just to be *****s running the night . I didnt follow it through to court but i should have as an other bloke did and he got 2 grand off them !!!!
I wonder how I could prove it though, its like tupac me against the world, it was basically me and 5 or so of them.....ill look up the equivalent over here just to see.
Btw fair play on following that up, so many times i have said i would do the same but never followed up after getting in somewhere else and sobering up.
Dead right. "We can't call black people n*****s!" ... "Why don't they have Music of White Origin Awards?" ... God, they get EVERYthing.
Get the **** over it.
It is in my arse about "double standards", either. Jesus, there's borderline racist moaning in here you wouldn't get off a pack of Brits*.
Maybe the UBER-PC Brigade didn't deploy on this occasion because they received a telegram in the nick of time from Bletchley Park where the cryptanalysts had, after being up for four days, finally cracked the message "tHe BaRbEr IsN't HeRe".Originally Posted by paul_oshea
(I hope it really was racism, though, obviously, and that the blacks have finally had enough and come and slit your throat in your bed. You were probably the first white person any of them had ever seen. You must have looked like a ghost to them.)
*, ar eagla na heagla...
Last edited by sligoman; 27/07/2007 at 11:13 AM.
Because if Gabriel doesn't rollerblade to the Chelsea Piers then the terrorists have truly won.
if i could see the back of my head, i could shave it off, anyone can do this. the point is the same boz, yet the **** take arguments are coming back again. "ah sure a black person cant be racist toward a white person", no no that cant happen.
I amn't and havent lost sleep over it, but this is the exact thing I knew people here would say and do, so my point in case has been proved.
You have to be taking the ****....you walk into a barbers and the barber isnt there(i dont see what reason you have not to believe them) and you expect just anyone to shave your head.
1) Why would they if its not their job? Just to please you....
2) Theyd probably get in trouble for doing things that arent their job
Unless you are a mind reader I can see no reason to believe this was in any way racist or that it was because of being white
Maybe Im missing something..............
And for the record I wouldnt think it was racist if it was the other way around either
Because if Gabriel doesn't rollerblade to the Chelsea Piers then the terrorists have truly won.
read from the begining, i walk into a unisex salon. How could you possibly walk into a barber, when its opened and the barber or at least one not be there?You have to be taking the ****....Maybe Im missing something..............
still missing the point boz, its a unisex salon, it never said a "unisex salon for black people" even if it had that would be discriminating against me because of my colour
Finally, no they cant, but when they work in a unisex salon I would assume they can, and if they cant again, they are discriminating. Until you can make a valid point, without resorting to stupid smileys to be either patronising or condescending then dont bother making a point, as its been done by about 20 posters before ye.but not every black person can cut a white person's hair
Last edited by paul_oshea; 27/07/2007 at 10:50 AM.
I did read it. Its very possible that they have seperate people for men and wonens hair.....
He could have been on lunch, felt sick and went to the chemist, been rushed to the doctor, had to meet someone urgently, gone to get more supplies or a million other things.
You have no idea and yet you automatically jump to the racism conclusion. Thats just as bad as when black people do it.
It couldnt have just been bad luck no![]()
she said he wasnt here, so i assumed ok i can wait, then she said oh well he wont be here until saturday maybe....my point about the black guy originally ( but i didnt allude to it )is I thought he was the barber to be honest, but I could well have been wrong.He could have been on lunch, felt sick and went to the chemist, been rushed to the doctor, had to meet someone urgently, gone to get more supplies or a million other things.
When my mum buys the Northern Standard and I buy it too. That annoys me.
Maybe he was on holidays and they were only doing ladies til he returned? Who knows?
Can you say with any degree of certainty that you were turned away because you were white?
Sorry but these kinda presumptions just bug me whether its black or white people making them
thats a very fair point, but why lie then and not just say he is on holidays? If that were the case then fair enough. Its still doesnt excuse how they acted and spoke though. But as pointed out before that could just be extreme rudeness/no manners/ignorant.Maybe he was on holidays and they were only doing ladies til he returned? Who knows?
I cant other than to say, the way i was spoken to, how I felt, how they made me feel uncomfortable, and that I have seen black fellas in there before and since when walking by......Can you say with any degree of certainty that you were turned away because you were white?
Is it a double standard that a white person would be asked to give reasonable proof that they racially mistreated, whereas a black person might not get the same grilling?
Not talking about micls here, moreso if such a story was to be considered newsworthy by the national press. I highly doubt they would check full sources on a black person being turned away for their skin colour before running the story, but they probably would for a white person*
* Unless they work for the Daily Mail of course![]()
I know you would just LOVE to be refused from a place that called itself "a unisex salon for black people". Notwithstanding the fact that a salon whose expertise was solely black people's hairdos wouldn't be described as such -- more likely "Afro-Caribbean Stylings" or something -- it still wouldn't be discriminating against you, any more than all the ladies' hairdressers in the world are discriminating against you as we speak because you have men's hair.
Your pathetic inferred victimhood throughout this thread is quite boorishly demeaning of actual racial discrimination, or discrimination on any grounds.
You assume a lot of things, it seems. If a hairdresser works in a unisex salon, the only conclusion you can draw is that he/she cuts men's hair or women's hair or both.Originally Posted by paul_oshea
I'm really at a loss trying to understand why you "assume" that a black hairdresser in a unisex salon would be more likely to be able to cut male Caucasian hair than a black barber in a men-only shop, unless you have some strange understanding of the word 'unisex', or furthermore why you think that the inability of a barber who specializes in black people's hair to cut white people's hair to the same degree of expertise is -- again! -- "discriminating".
You do not seem to appreciate that condescension remains the appropriate tone to take while making the same points you continue to be unable to understand. :ah, bless:Originally Posted by paul_oshea
thank you jebus. or ridiculed, isn't that bullying too, if foot.ie can be sued for libel can i sue for bullying and pish taking!?Is it a double standard that a white person would be asked to give reasonable proof that they racially mistreated, whereas a black person might not get the same grilling?![]()
A black straw man is still a straw man.
As far as I am aware the Equality Tribunal requests factual evidence in all cases. Is this not the case?
If you're talking solely about the British-spawned media, then they are of course beneath contempt and have nothing to do with rational debate.