Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: GAA approve FAI and IRFU applications

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    It depends on what your definition of "pretty small" is and whats the definition of "support"
    Vote while the IRA was actively engaged in terrorism was less than 2%. 1.8% and 1.6% in general elections prior to ceasefire. Even current vote for SF/IRA is quite small even allowing for good looking trendy candidates.

Is support giving money in pubs? I would say yes. I was too young to know at the time, but I realise now.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    As for changing your national allegiances well there are significant numbers of Rangers fans supporting England which would have been unheard of 25 years ago.
    Isn't that because Scotland isn't "British enough", i.e., the team attracts Scottish nationalists who aren't as supportive of the Union and wave the saltire rather than the union flag? They see more in common with the more right-wing of the English support, those that sing the "no Surrender" type drivel.

I didn't see the Panorama programme so can't comment on the content.
    http://video.google.co.uk/videoplay?...arch&plindex=0
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

IRA support in ireland? relevance to football? going way off topic there lads....i for one am not interested at all.

i'd agree with the previous statement that the relevant authorities will have no interest in self-inflicting the myriad of problems staging a game with england at croker would bring. Cant see us playing them at home again unless we end up in the same qualification group.

They surely have learned the lesson from the Lansdowne riot.

Although it's clearly true that a sizeable section of the english travelling support are vile and repulsive creatures, there are many irish scumbags (clad in celtic jersey's of course) that would match their ignorance and thugary for such a game. Witness the riot at the Love Ulster parade only down the road at O'Connell St last year.

The argument regarding irish fans being the 'best fans in the world' is a little oversold IMO

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ofjames View Post
    IRA support in ireland? relevance to football? going way off topic there lads....i for one am not interested at all.
    You should follow your own advice then, what has love ulster got to do with it?

72 Posts
    Stutts/wolfie

Thanks for the facts regarding the North terrace in 95.

'We also have a significant fanbase in Northern Ireland as do England which again was unheard of 20 years ago.'

I've been going to games for over 20 years, as have many of our crew. I'm not sure why you think it was 'unheard of ' ?

I'm not aware of a big England support in the North, in fact its boll**ks . You might see they odd loyalist knuckle dragger in an England top, but they tend to alternate the between Rangers and n.i jerseys these days.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    You should follow your own advice then, what has love ulster got to do with it?
    He had to get in his dig at Celtic fans, thats what.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

What love ulster has to do with it?

The point was quite clear, a senior international with England in Dublin would bring out precisely the same scumbag element as did the Love Ulster parade, and that's exactly why the authorities wont want such a game.

If you cant see that as being more relevant than discussing what % of the vote IRA/SF got pre and post ceasefire then thats grand.

There was no intended dig at celtic fans. The dig was as the hundreds of ignorant and undereducated delinquants, visible across the country, who just so-happen to regard celtic shirts as an essential part of their chav uniform. Rather than being great fans, i would have thought these such people are far more likely to wear their celtic shirts as what they percieve to be a symbol of their particular (and extremely uninformed) view on the political situation of Northern Ireland.

If you cant see that as being more relevant than discussing what % of the vote IRA/SF got pre and post ceasefire then thats grand.
    from the title of the thread it didnt have much to do with the subject matter in fairness, but all posts go slightly off topic along the way.

either way i dont think this is going to happen. The gaa are still not ready for an england soccer team in croke park.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    The gaa are still not ready for an england soccer team in croke park.
    It's not so long since Landsdowne wasn't ready for them.
    Anyway if Croker can handle the sight of Roscommon in an All Ireland Final, culture shock has surely lost some of it's edge

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by co. down green View Post
    I've been going to games for over 20 years, as have many of our crew. I'm not sure why you think it was 'unheard of ' ?

I'm not aware of a big England support in the North, in fact its boll**ks . You might see they odd loyalist knuckle dragger in an England top, but they tend to alternate the between Rangers and n.i jerseys these days.
    "unheard of" was probably the wrong choice of words but prior to Euro88 it would unusual to see fans from NI following us abroad or at home games. There were still huge numbers of London Irish travelling in those days.

I was only at 1 away game prior to Euro88 but my Dad was at some and I know 2 fans who travelled regularly in the late 70's/early 80's.

Obviously given the crowds at home games it can be hard to tell but I can't recall meeting any NI based fans at Lansdowne in that period. I'm sure there must have been some but clearly not as prominent as today.

I also recall a discussion with an FAI official in 1992 when I mentioned I was refused an IFA block booking for the their 6 WC qualifiers including our game. I subsequently re-applied using a Belfast address and got one but I asked re FAI policy and he actually mentioned that they obviously did sell blocki bookings north of the border but that prior to 1988 there were hardly any sold.

I also know from attending programme fairs in the Maysfield since 1983 that nobody up there supported the RoI in the 80's that I recall.

As for england, no personal experience but the like sof Billy Hutchinson announced he was an england fan now and there seems to be england shirts around Belfast. Furthermore I believe they had big support in pubs during the recent major finals. This was not the case 20-30 years ago.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops;729758}

[I
    .[/I] Will be interesting to see if this materialises. If it does, hopefully the FAI will get two big name opponents and get decent crowds. What about Italy, England or Argentina?
    Get the Dutch back to Dublin and let the Irish team make amends for the last drubbing. I know we play the Dutch quite regularly but that last performance was truly abject.

Some travelling Dutch support would make for a good atmosphere as well.
    Last edited by Wolfie; 24/07/2007 at 8:24 AM.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Would the GAA get all the gate receipts, TV money etc or just a percentage of it?
    They'd probably get a flat fee. A big one, but if we fill the stadium again, there'll be a decent profit made by all.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    They'd probably get a flat fee. A big one, but if we fill the stadium again, there'll be a decent profit made by all.
    I thought it was either a flat rate (which I've forgotten, or never knew), or 27% of profits, whichever was greater.

reder
    I dont think an international friendly with England or NI in Croke Park is going to happen. I am quite happy about that because firstly england would hockey us on the pitch and also every moronic extremist from both sides would turn up for both games. You could picture every harline republican moron protesting out CP.

I would love to play either of them away though.
    Last edited by reder; 24/07/2007 at 12:28 PM.

1.25 mil supposedly or 27% whichever is greater

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I thought it was either a flat rate (which I've forgotten, or never knew), or 27% of profits, whichever was greater.
    Edit.........just saw this on the first page.

Quote Originally Posted by HolylandsMan View Post
    Would assume the arrangements would be similar to the qualifiers. Think the rental was somewhere in the region of €1.25 million or 27% of the revenue, whichever is greater. Open to correction on the exact figures though.

bring on the england , fill croke park and feckin hammer them ( 1.0 neville o.g.)
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

1,928 Posts
    I suppose I have been suffering from a long term Friendly depression.
    The FAI regurgatating a crock of faispeak about Fifa rankings. They are looking to maximise a badly needed financial return. Whatever the GAA earn, the FAI will attempt to multiply that. The IRFU certainly are.
    I would hope than Stan plays the friendlies on his terms and gets the maximum benifit for the squad, especially in regard to the youngsters. Regardless of who is being played in a friendly, there is one goal - to qualify for a Finals, anything else is a popcorn diversion.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast