Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 19 years ago today

19 years ago today

It was 19 years today that Ray Houghton put the ball in the English net.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Wow, that is amazing, time flies and I am now feeling very old

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

They'll have the flags out in "Ray Houghton Way " in Stuttgart!!

38 Posts
    Not long until the third anniversary of this!
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

794 Posts
    Or if you prefer the PHOENIX FROM THE FLAMES version with Skinner & Baddiel.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FP2HR3PZX-M
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

1,928 Posts
    Packy has gone up in my opinion.

I commemorate the day every year - the greatest day in Irish football history and am privileged to have been there.

June 12th should be declared a national holiday and we should have a minute's round of applause at 3:06.
    Together with all our hearts.

Will never forget it. The ecstatic celebration of the goal by Houghton, Aldridge and Whelan is classic.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

fergalc, - I believe the minutes applause would be more appropriat at 2.36pm..

131 Posts
    That Phoenix from the Flames sketch is class. Wonder will Baddiel and Skinner be back for another series of Fantasy Football during the next Euros even if England don't qualify.
    Last edited by youngirish; 12/06/2007 at 4:24 PM.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fergalr View Post
    I commemorate the day every year - the greatest day in Irish football history and am privileged to have been there.

June 12th should be declared a national holiday and we should have a minute's round of applause at 3:06.
    It was 2.36pm Irish time as has already been pointed out.

"the greatest day in Irish football history"

your quote has one word in it that is unneccessary - football.

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Packy has gone up in my opinion.
    I thought Sheila D'arcy played in goal for us that day

1,025 Posts
    That means it is 19 years to the day since my uncle, in a unique expression of joy, banged his head repeatedly against the floor, where he had been since dropping on his knees upon hearing the final whistle, and when I, in a moment of insanity, picked up my "Maradona themed" football, and in attempting to kick it straight up in the air, actually kicked it into a pile of bushes and briars next to the house, from where it has never been recovered.

And Tommy O Brien from Shannon,a woodmachinist ,who loose fingures as a traditional hazard of their trade,jumped up on the fence in Stutgart and when he jumped back he caught his ring and pulled his finger off.He was rushed to hospital where he woke up next day with his finger sewn back on.A German policeman had spotted the finger inside the fence on the pitch wrapped it in ice and put it in the ambulance.The nurses and doctors had champagne for him to celebrate the win!!!

Oh Happiest Day
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    That means it is 19 years to the day since my uncle, in a unique expression of joy, banged his head repeatedly against the floor, where he had been since dropping on his knees upon hearing the final whistle, and when I, in a moment of insanity, picked up my "Maradona themed" football, and in attempting to kick it straight up in the air, actually kicked it into a pile of bushes and briars next to the house, from where it has never been recovered.

Maybe you could arrange for someone to salvage the ball for the 20th anniversary!!

I spent the rest of the '88 Summer trying to re-enact the Ronnie Whelan volley against Russia. Sometimes on concrete. Possibly with a car approaching!! There wasn't a window safe on the estate.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

214 Posts
    I was 6 just turning 7 when this happened!!!!
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

and i dont know what day how long ago this all happened, but its definately worth another look:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pazh_...elated&search=

we are great at looking stupid as a nation when ye look back on it, but its still worth it. "The nation holds its breath", that old man crying, jack charlton looking more proud than he did on the day he won the world cup.....brilliant all of it.

Was it the same show on reeling in the years where it showed the two gardas jumping up and down with the supporters and the hat comes flying off one of them? Ill never forget that day though, it took us about 2 hours to get out of dublin.....and my father would usually be going mad with busy traffic but it didnt matter that day.

oh ya and gay byrne standing behind yer man as well......and i doubt tony ward iss too happy with himself looking back...
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 12/06/2007 at 3:00 PM.

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    That Phoenix from the Flames sketch is class. Wonder will Baddiel and SKinner be back for another series of Fantasy Football during the next Euros even if England don't qualify.
    Houghton should have a bit more dignity though. I do like the Shane McGowan sketch.

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast