Thread: Bratislava Meet Up

Thumbs up Bratislava Meet Up

Only seven weeks to go lads and lasses.....can't wait!

As the ticketing situation for this game seems to be sorting itself out, perhaps we should now turn our thoughts to a "Meet Up Venue"

One suggestion ( and I know many are not keen on Irish Bars abroad ) is The Dubliner, Selarska Street ( in Central Old Town location ).It's a large pub ( regularly voted into the top 3 pubs in Bratislava ) opened until 3am each day.Would make a reasonable "Base Camp" IMHO.

Also, close by, but much smaller is the 17's Bar....rated very highly

Any thoughts??

30 Posts
    As far as I can remember I'm in the same hotel as a few Rovers fans, of the
    Sligo variety.

I got the link for wherever I'm staying off a Sligo fans post and booked it.
    Its that long ago I cant remember the name of the place!
    Must sort out my emails soon and print the confirmation!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    Only seven weeks to go lads and lasses.....can't wait!

As the ticketing situation for this game seems to be sorting itself out, perhaps we should now turn our thoughts to a "Meet Up Venue"

One suggestion ( and I know many are not keen on Irish Bars abroad ) is The Dubliner, Selarska Street ( in Central Old Town location ).It's a large pub ( regularly voted into the top 3 pubs in Bratislava ) opened until 3am each day.Would make a reasonable "Base Camp" IMHO.

Also, close by, but much smaller is the 17's Bar....rated very highly

Any thoughts??
    How is the quest for tickets going Hornet.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    As far as I can remember I'm in the same hotel as a few Rovers fans, of the
    Sligo variety.

I got the link for wherever I'm staying off a Sligo fans post and booked it.
    Its that long ago I cant remember the name of the place!
    Must sort out my emails soon and print the confirmation!!!
    You are a very lucky man then Ash.........all that intellectual conversation and sharp wit so close at hand!!

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    How is the quest for tickets going Hornet.
    I'm just waiting for final confirmation, but I am pretty sure we are sorted now ( all five of us )......thanks to a nice man named Joe!

Fair play myself and Paul and 2 other friends have all been sorted so onwards and upwards.
    In Trap we trust

Isn't Mento going to do a reccie or has he done one already ???

Foot.ie calling Mento

Wait uintil he does the reccie and arranges (recommends!!) meet ups etc.

He certainly didn't lead anyone astray (as regards venues, at least ) for San Marino
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Ye Aido, going over next Thursday for three nights, taking in Prague aswell.

We will drink in as many pubs as possible! and get the guide done ASAP

Will post an 8 or 12 page guide up on our site when we return, lookin forward to it

It wont matter what bar people decide on, once we all get to the main square in the oild town the party will begin there...just hope theyve got the beer in!!!

ye we will take a stroll down the square and warn the bars to stock up!

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Fair play myself and Paul and 2 other friends have all been sorted so onwards and upwards.

Are you stopping in Vienna on the Thursday night or going straight to Brats? Mrs Mule and I are stopping the Thursday by SligoHornet cant get a pass for that night.

No we are getting the boat on Thursday afternoon from Vienna to Bratislava. Sorry about that. I am sure I we will meet up in Bratislava and Prague anyway.
    In Trap we trust

is there any main squares about similar to Stuttgart?

Bratislava is a little gem. Euro accepted everywhere we went.
    There are 2 squares 200 metres apart from each other.

The smaller one is called the main square. There are a couple of bars beside this, including the Dubliner which I shall not be going to. Ignorant staff (no Irish staff here either) and dear prices (3.50 a pint of Heineken)

The square I would reccomend is the bigger square about 200 metres away.
    There are alot more bars and it is a lot cheaper.
    We drank lovely pints of Heineken in Slangs Bar for 54k (about 1.70). There is local brew which is cheaper.
    17's Bar is also a nice little haunt, slighly dearer than Slangs.
    There are some lovely restaurants along this strip and plenty of bars and a couple of fountains for those who want to cool off.

You will know you are at this square/strip when you see the McDonald's on the corner. The square is aligned with trees and is directly across from the Radisson hotel.

Bratislava is a small relaxed town with it's size ensuring that all the Irish will be in close proximity.
    It wouldn't be a bad idea to learn a couple of phrases like please and thank you etc, because we came across many ignorant barmen etc.

I highly reccomend a meal in Mama and Papas beside Slangs Bar. Myself and one of the lads paid 32 euro for 4 bottles of heineken and 2 main courses of chicken.
    Four of the other lads went the whole hog, with starters New Yorker steaks, bottles of wine and desert for a bout 40 euro per person. Not the cheapest for Bratislava.
    The further out of the town you go the cheaper it gets, but quality heino at 1.70, you can't go wrong

The weather was lovely and a good time is in store for all the Irish fans

Did you try any of the local brews rather than Amsterdams finest. I love experiencing the local beers when I go to these places and if the Slovaks make beer like their near neighbours they will be divine and even cheaper than the Heineken. Did they understand you when you asked for a pint of Ken!!!!
    In Trap we trust

I don't normally srink Ken but it was different over there, very tasty.
    Bottle of budvar range from 33k to 80k (bout 1.20 to 2.20)
    Starappoman (hope that is right) is also a nice local brew at cheap rates and Kelt another.
    The main town centre is obviously dearer. Pints at a bar beside the train station were about 60 cent and it is meant to be very cheap outside the main town but it is very run down and not the safest place to get boozed up!

82 Posts
    Going to Slovakia and drinking Heineken?

Save yourself the trip......

I don't know if it was heino at all. Very very tasty 'heino' in slangs bar.

Good work mento! sounds like it'll be great craic altogether...can't feckin wait now!
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Mento

Great work. How big was Slangs bar and was there much space outside?