The lot of us were bent over laughing when we saw it

Funniest banner was in Oriel Park this season: "Welcome to Hell"

WTF? It's Oriel Park, hardly the most partisan and intimidating of European venues. It was held up very sheepishly too for about 10 seconds before being taken down when everyone was laughing at them!

I think the 'Cork city of Dorks' would go down as hilarious banter in an episode of Friends or maybe in north-western Utah but other than that I'm afraid our northern European cousins failed in their of attempted witty banner. Don't think I have heard anyone use the word 'Dork' in quite a few years and even that was on an episode of Red Dwarf in 1991.

"does your donut know you're here" sung to the gardai in Longford as 50 of them sat around scratching there arses.

Quote Originally Posted by swano View Post
    "does your donut know you're here" sung to the gardai in Longford as 50 of them sat around scratching there arses.
    Brilliant

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post
    Lame.

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    At the first game of season Rovers fans sang at Galway "Down like bearing you're going down like Bearings" Thought it was a decent attempt
    How is it that everyone else managed to stick to the thread title and refer to a chant sung at them, by opposition fans, not one that attempts to portray their own fans as being funny!

michael gunineys over there, cobh to city,

wheres your famous jason byrne, cobh to shels

don't listen to other fans chants, anyone got one against us, looking at limerick here
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

Quote Originally Posted by don ramo View Post

don't listen to other fans chants, anyone got one against us, looking at limerick here
    Our garden shed is better than that
    It has a roof, and a window
    Our garden shed is better than that whilst pointing at your new superstand

Sadly I only got a few of us to join in on this one

Quote Originally Posted by don ramo View Post

wheres your famous jason byrne, cobh to shels
    (1) You were supposed to post about oppostion fans' chants.

(2) That's not funny at all! Especially in a feckin' Cork accent.

Honestly though I can rarely hear the opposition fans, whether we're home or away, and when I do it's usual along the lines 'Stab City rejects', which is pretty lame to be honest

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    How embarrassing!
    Non US people, using the word "dork"!
    Have you ever met a Swede? A) They don't do humour and B) They learn most of their English from TV - that's why they all sound like extras in Beverly Hills 90210.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Honestly though I can rarely hear the opposition fans, whether we're home or away, and when I do it's usual along the lines 'Stab City rejects', which is pretty lame to be honest

Yeh it's rubbish. But our kids love to sing it. Takes away from the depression of their own lives i suppose

70 Posts
    Okay I know It's not opposition fans but I don't think any Galway fan has said it yet....
    Rovers to Galway: "You're only here to drink the water, here to drink the water!"
    And when a galway player went down injured and the physio came on someone shouted: "All he wants is some water!!!"
    Classic.

There’s been a lot of water ones in Galway this year, but my favourite was from Pat’s who sang “You’ve got dirty water in your taps” to the air of a HYMN!

Why would the fans of a brand new club, playing in the first division, have any reason to hate Shamrock, who play in a division above them!?
    Have the two clubs ever even played each other?
    LOCK THE THREAD!!

No matter how funny a chant appears it's going to be nowhere near as funny as this wonderful piece of wit from Peadar.

I see what you did there you clever little scamp. GENIUS

Post of the Year

Anyhoo, the Shels lads "That's why we're Champions" after going 2-1 up at Jackman raised a smile out of me

How is it that everyone else managed to stick to the thread title and refer to a chant sung at them, by opposition fans, not one that attempts to portray their own fans as being funny!
    Jaysus, its very easy to upset some people isn't it?!

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    I always found "Whats it likle to have a queen" quite amusing

Linfields to us was funny, "DCFC AHA AHA AHA, AHA AHA AHA!!"

My favourite one ever was when we chanted "Limerick fans are homosexual, their so gay its unbelievable", their reply was "your too ugly, your too ugly, your too ugly to be gay!"

Hahaha brilliant!
    Cmon County!

Quote Originally Posted by Kildare Lad View Post
    My favourite one ever was when we chanted "Limerick fans are homosexual, their so gay its unbelievable", their reply was "your too ugly, your too ugly, your too ugly to be gay!"

Hahaha brilliant!
    We stole it from Brighton though.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast