Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Any Bohs Care to Comment?

im not in any way expecting bohs to police anywhere, it was aimed at the few attention seeking idiots on here

btw a quick search on bebo would easily point BFC in the direction of quite a few of them

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    It is you who is badly missing my point. I was merely pointing out that rovers have been guilty of causing trouble in which innocent bystanders where hurt
    Really?

there have been other occasions where rovers have rampaged far away from football stadiums (Hill 16 Pub anyone)
    So that had nothing to do with Bohs?

and here they are on here spinning this to make it sound like Bohs toerags have suddenly decided that they dont like Rovers and have invented a new type of hooligan activity to target anyone in a rover's shirt and anyone who gets between them and anyone in a rovers shirt.
    That's not the case at all.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    bullsh*t. You cant selectively quote my post like that and ignore the rest of that paragraph and the question that follows.
    I quoted the part of your post that I responded to. Why would I quote the whole post if I'm not responding to all of it?

To answer your post in full - of course i get the point of this and it is sickening. Of course no innocent bystanders should be subjected to this. Where have i suggested otherwise?
    4th paragraph, first sentence. You've said (indirectly) that Rovers fans got what was coming to them in relation to this incident. Didn't seem to bother you that innocent people got injured. No point in saying you don't condone innocent people getting hurt but condoning the Rovers fans getting injured when innocent people were hurt to injure them.

The second part of your post is hypothetical and pointless.
    Well it's not hypothetical because it's happening all the time.

Pointless? Only if you don't have a problem with ongoing violence surrounding football in this league.

then crying when these absolute scumbags accept the Rovers challenge. Its a bit cheeky to say the least.
    20 on 1 accepting the challenge? Bricking buses accepting the challenge?

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    why arent Rovers complaining to the police?
    Do you actually think that hasn't been done?

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Really?

So that had nothing to do with Bohs?

That's not the case at all.

I quoted the part of your post that I responded to. Why would I quote the whole post if I'm not responding to all of it?

4th paragraph, first sentence. You've said (indirectly) that Rovers fans got what was coming to them in relation to this incident. Didn't seem to bother you that innocent people got injured. No point in saying you don't condone innocent people getting hurt but condoning the Rovers fans getting injured when innocent people were hurt to injure them.

Well it's not hypothetical because it's happening all the time.

Pointless? Only if you don't have a problem with ongoing violence surrounding football in this league.

20 on 1 accepting the challenge? Bricking buses accepting the challenge?

Do you actually think that hasn't been done?
    ok, ill address the points you made on my post even though you persist in misrepresenting my entire post and its sentiments. You should try reading it in full.

1) you quoted the first sentence of a point i made which taken out of context like that is misleading. It illustrates a point. That the actions of Rovers fans and hooligans in the past in taunting Bohs fans for running away has played a part in how extreme this rivalry has become. I dont think its an unfair point to raise. It takes two to tango. Your selecting only part of that paragraph grossly misrepresents the point i made.

2) read the entire post and my other posts in this thread and see if you want to accuse me again of not caring about innocent people getting hurt. For example the post directly below my original. In each post i have tried to get across my disgust at the events. Its not right that you try and imply otherwise. Your last sentence in that point makes no sense to me but ive probably addressed it above. To be clear i totally detest the actions of the people who attacked that poor kid, there is no justification (there is context however). I similarly detest the past actions of Rovers fans and hooligans inside and outside grounds to which i have been subjected.

3) the point you made was hypothetical as it didnt happen last night. Are you the one missing the point? I still answered the questions you asked. The answer makes my feelings clear even though you again want to accuse me (indirectly of course) about not caring about violence surrounding football in this league.

4) Yes. Unfortunately that is what it has come to. These are not right minded individuals we are talking about and something like this has been on the cards for some time.

5) I dont know. Has it? All ive read about is people asking Bohs and Bohs fans to comment and what are we going to do about it.

Ill ask you again Dman - what are your suggestions to rid my club of this element seeing as you care so much? Or are you just preaching for the sake of it? Maybe another will help.

half_full, i hope that your post is not directed at me. Im far from attention seeking and i restrict my posts in this forum to matters i feel strongly about.

Also, if you read the posts from Bohs fans youll know that people caught organising or participating in trouble have been BANNED by the club. Why dont you stop bleating and send these bebo links of yours to the police?
    Last edited by SkStu; 18/07/2007 at 4:18 AM.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    I hope everyone who was caught up in the incident is doing ok.
    Latest on our mb is that one of the lads hit with a brick may unfortunately lose sight in an eye unless surgery is done asap. I'm really not looking forward to Aug 7th now as I think we all know what's gonna happen
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

156 Posts
    I've just returned to Dublin with my family after a very long time living in England and I'm very saddened at the football violence that seems to be common among certain clubs.

It seems to me that these gob****es (whoever they support) are trying to copy their English counterparts. Unfortunately, while the normal supporter with a family might stop going to certain games, there will be a ****load of young thugs who will jump on the bandwagon trying to imitate Danny Dyer, so that attendances might not be affected, but may rise. I saw this firsthand in England back in the late 70s and 80s. Obviously, it will be on a much smaller scale to England.

The sad thing is that the standard of the league is improving and might actually begin to attract more people. My two sons born and bred in England have grown up on live football and have said that they want to go to Eircom games. Unfortunately, many irish people don't come from that kind of weekly ritual of going to games and many normal people aren't going to be likely to bring a young family to a game if you've got gob****es running amok.

it's up to ALL Eircom fans to stand together and work on trying to eliminate this problem, rather than the usual tit-for-tat nonsense about so and so being worse than us.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Think the point he was making is that Bohs fans are all too quick to post when their fans are abused (either physically or verbally) and last time out they made some unsubstantiated claims (still waiting for that vid BTW)
    and also, you knew someone involved so you want the thread to remain open. admit it. this thread is utterly pointless and (i havent read the rest) will more than likely end up descending into another "x did this, y did that" "every club has its element" thread. groundhog day. my sympathies for anyone hurt, but i fail to see the point in posting it here, or in getting uninvolved bohs fans to comment. go to the police, im bloody sick of here about dubs unable to control themselves. I was given a warning here last time for telling someone throwing a rock/whatever it was at the bus would be idiotic!

this thread is pointless and i'm sure you'd say the same thing, if it wasnt for the personal interest.

Quote Originally Posted by swano View Post
    Pablo is one of the lads from the Cork forum who was posting repeatedly saying that Rovers were going down to Cork with Hammarby fans to cause trouble without knowing any of the facts or what Rovers fans were travelling. When nothing happened (as was predicted by reasonable posters) he just disappears from the thread leaving behind all his incorrect accusations.
    Pablo said they shouldnt be traveling with you as there could be trouble - as there has been repeatedly in the past. And nothing happened? 2-8 (depending on who you ask) "opposition" fans were arrested before the Cork-Hammarby game. In the away leg, our keeper got belted with all manner of coins. The worst injury, however was that inflicted by your fans cheering on another team against us in Europe. That disgusts me, and any little respect I had for Rovers fans is gone.
    Last edited by GavinZac; 18/07/2007 at 8:37 AM.

Why dont the Gardai dress as Rovers fans get on the bus and when its attacked have back up close by and arrest the criminals who are attacking the public transport vehicle.This has nothing to do with football.These are criminals who need to be arrested and jailed.

Or is this all toomuch bother for our police force??
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Quote Originally Posted by Theskinloyal View Post
    Adrian Kennedy debating about Bohs and Rovers
    That's all we need - that clown discussing something he hasn't a clue about to the muppets that ring up that show.

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    and also, you knew someone involved so you want the thread to remain open. admit it
    *sigh* He wasn't involved, he was a witness. Unlike the last rubbish where one side said something and the other refuted it, then the first side said they could prove it but didn't, we know this happened and nobody has denied it happened.

I've no interest at all in the thread (except to keep things in check) but if its so pointless stop reading it and stop ****ing posting in it.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Theskinloyal View Post
    Adrian Kennedy debating about Bohs and Rovers
    I got a phone call from my girlfriend to say she didn't want me going to matches anymore because she was listening to the fools on Adrian Kennedy (she was half serious too). I wonder how many other girlfriends, wives and mothers thought the same? Disastrous publicity for the league. I only caught the last 20 mins or so of the debate and in fairness the Rovers fan was fairly reasonable, but, the idiot who called himself a Bohs fan should never be allowed at a game again if anyone knows him.

In fairness to Adrian Kennedy (don't think I've ever said that before) he said he didn't like debating negatives about Irish soccer and pointed out the good work done by the clubs and the league. He also raised the point that it was a lot to do with policing and that the incidents were happening away from matches and from football grounds.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    Latest on our mb is that one of the lads hit with a brick may unfortunately lose sight in an eye unless surgery is done asap. I'm really not looking forward to Aug 7th now as I think we all know what's gonna happen
    All wind up aside. Now that is appalling. Nobody deserves to have that happen for attending a football match.

I hope the lad is ok.

Should the more senior supporters amongst Rovers and Bohs not take on some responsability here and sit down like adults and call an end to this?

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    I got a phone call from my girlfriend to say she didn't want me going to matches anymore because she was listening to the fools on Adrian Kennedy
    I couldn't go out with a girl who listened to him in the first place. And I'm not half joking

If you believed everything on that show you'd never leave the house again

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    Should the more senior supporters amongst Rovers and Bohs not take on some responsability here and sit down like adults and call an end to this?
    Unfortunately the only way this will ever be put to an end is one of the clubs going bust or rovers/bohs fans having some balls and getting the police involved, enough of this "they arent real fans", "its inevitable" and "every club has them" rubbish that is usually spouted by the "ordinary, decent" fans. The people who did this should be doing time for it and they probably wouldnt have had the opportunity if they were punished for past offences. There aren't exactly thousands of them.

Jesus this seems to be getting worse every week, and all we ever get is the usual hand wringing by all involved. Surely Bohs and Rovers officials could come together with the Gardai for tackling this sort of garbage? Not sure what the solution would be, possibly plain clothes policemen in grounds, and traveling away from the grounds with fans, coupled with a decent number of uniformed police in and around the ground, but something needs to be done.

I've never been a fan of this 'it happened away from our ground so it's not our fault' mentality, it's your fans, it's your problem. Clubs could start by looking on Bebo for proposed meet-ups and then pass the information on to the Gardai, they could also easily find out and issue a lifetime ban to anyone mouthing off about throwing rocks at buses, or battering other clubs supporters. Might seem harsh, as I'm sure there are some teenagers just mouth off on that site and wouldn't actually do anything, but tough times, tough measures and all that.

Maybe the FAI should be contacting their British counterparts to get advice on how to tackle this rising problem (this season alone I've noticed incident reports increasing a lot)

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    Its not the feckin Sopranos Pablo....

Quote Originally Posted by Bungle View Post
    I've just returned to Dublin with my family after a very long time living in England and I'm very saddened at the football violence that seems to be common among certain clubs.

It seems to me that these gob****es (whoever they support) are trying to copy their English counterparts. Unfortunately, while the normal supporter with a family might stop going to certain games, there will be a ****load of young thugs who will jump on the bandwagon trying to imitate Danny Dyer, so that attendances might not be affected, but may rise. I saw this firsthand in England back in the late 70s and 80s. Obviously, it will be on a much smaller scale to England.

The sad thing is that the standard of the league is improving and might actually begin to attract more people. My two sons born and bred in England have grown up on live football and have said that they want to go to Eircom games. Unfortunately, many irish people don't come from that kind of weekly ritual of going to games and many normal people aren't going to be likely to bring a young family to a game if you've got gob****es running amok.

it's up to ALL Eircom fans to stand together and work on trying to eliminate this problem, rather than the usual tit-for-tat nonsense about so and so being worse than us.

Good post. At the end of the day it's just aping what they have seen in england. Talking about "firms", wearing burberry etc has got nothing to do with supporting your team. And they all look like clones of each other. Pathetic.

The Dorset st scum have been active for a lot longer than this season. I remember back circa 1991 seeing about 5 Hoops getting chased by about 40 scum. Thankfully tolka back then was an away venue.

Bohs have definitely not done enough on this. They continuously have allowed that hooligan flag to be hung at every home game knowing full well that the guy hanging it, as well as his friends, are known troublemakers.

For the bohs and cork fans coming on here condoning this is sad. Is there a part of "innocent non football fans are getting hurt" that you dont understand?

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Its not the feckin Sopranos Pablo....

No but a blind eye is being turned. I for one am sick of attending games in Dublin where there is incidents be they minor or major. Something has to be done. All Rovers and Bohs care about is blaming each other. Tit for tat. And sadly, very literally, it looks like eye for an eye.

This is awful. Hope the young fella is okay.

Those with the 'you reap what you sow' attitude may change their mind if any of their loved ones are ever injured or caught up in any trouble while travelling on a bus.

Jeez but there would some whinging if Rovers had of been playing Cork and there were Cork fans on that 16 bus. What happens if Cork, Derry, Galway etc are playing Rovers in Dublin, will the fans of these clubs use public transport after the game or for that matter get the 16 bus? I know I wouldn't.

The Jewish remarks says it all........idiot.

It's not just down to scum stoning buses that I blame for this crap, it is the type of eircom League fan that has the devil may care attitude towards it and this thread is full of them.

To the sensible posters saying that the clubs should go to the police, it's been done. I posted earlier saying that they were told that the incident the other night was on the cards. They turned up in the wrong place. It's like talking to the wall with most of the gardai cos they don't want to know. Dealing with the problem means getting their hands dirty and they don't seem interested in doing this.

Quote Originally Posted by swano View Post
    To the sensible posters saying that the clubs should go to the police, it's been done. I posted earlier saying that they were told that the incident the other night was on the cards. They turned up in the wrong place. It's like talking to the wall with most of the gardai cos they don't want to know. Dealing with the problem means getting their hands dirty and they don't seem interested in doing this.
    We can all agree on that much at least.

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast