Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Worst ground for visitors

I hate our stand, and the fact that it's so far from the pitch means that there's never an atmosphere except when it's full. As a Dundalk fan observed to me last time we were in Oriel, it's hard enough to get the fans into KCP, but with that stand it's harder to keep them because the place is dead.
    Plus it's at an angle to the pitch so every pass looks offside!

Milltown. Can't see the pitch no matter where you stand.

Derry for not being able to see the pitch, Cork for having 300 stewards for every one Shels fan, Dundalk for having no shelter for away fans, Belfield for lack of any atmosphere whatsoever and the RSC for the running track. Have to mention the Connaught St stand too - absolute kip.

Love United Park, Inchicore, Athlone and of course Limerick

30 Posts

Stadium of Tin

Ahh I remember the good old days when St Mels Park - Stadium of Tin
    would top the poll every time in this category.

Instead of a toilet we had the old unisex, multipurpose wall, sheltered
    by a bit of galvanised, behind the far goal.

The old television/reporter gantry that looked like a tower from a WW II
    concentration camp.

The roof over the terrace behind the far goals that blew down in the storms
    and we couldnt afford to repair it cos the insurance didnt cover "acts of God"

Railway sleepers instead of steps in the terrace and also instead of seats in the mini stand

Good times

drog park wouldn't be too bad if the away terrace wasn't so uneven. Myself and many others, have gone on our ear, while celebrating goals, because of a misplaced foot.

Tolka is an absolute kip, which is ironic, given how the FAI seem to love it so much. I would vote to have it razed to the ground.

The RSC is one of the least desirable places to visit. It's not a football ground!

Colmans has new dressin rooms, brand new toilets on both ends, fair enough the stand is in progress but our place is improving so much to be fair.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    Finn Park. Awful view, ****e ground, need milkcrates to see. ****e!!
    It just as bad in that end block of the stand in the Brandywell where you lot alway put us
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

75 Posts
    Showgrounds has detoriated so much and the entrance is absolutely shocking.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sfc red View Post
    Derry for not being able to see the pitch
    Its fairly hard to see it from the 1st division alright...

Good man, nominate yourself for POTM there

united Park in Drogheda. Its a crumbling heap. Wouldnt be passed safe in any other country.

I dont know what the ground was called, but one that Limerick played in in 2005, terrible. No seats or nothing and you had to walk through estates to get there.
    Cmon County!

It's funny that in a poll about favourite away trips, Harps and Drogheda were up there near the top. They are also there for worst grounds.

What's the craic there? Is it our pubs closing hours

Quote Originally Posted by fbtn View Post
    It's funny that in a poll about favourite away trips, Harps and Drogheda were up there near the top. They are also there for worst grounds.

What's the craic there? Is it our pubs closing hours
    The pubs close in Ballybofey? That's news to me.

Back on topic, Oriel by a mile.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Utd Park has been fallen apart for years any Drogs fan would tell you that. The stewards don't seem to be able to control big away support. Flancare Park. Nice ground but no is soulless.

I haven't been to all of the grounds yet. I have been to:
    Dalymount (obviously)
    Richmond
    Tolka
    Whitehall
    Turners Cross
    RSC
    Kilkenny's ground
    Mel's and the new Athlone Stadium
    Ballybofey
    United Park (or h2o Park)
    Carlisle Grounds
    Flancare
    Showgrounds
    Century Homes
    Kildare County
    Belfield

... and they all have their faults. Out of those my worst experiences of watching a game of football (not result orientated) would be in no particular order

United Park (which is a kip) notwithstanding it does help to generate a good atmosphere
    RSC for reasons already stated
    Ballybofey

I no longer go to the Camac side of the ground at Richmond due to my height and this is as much the problem I have with United Park, not helped by all of the obstructions in my way when trying to watch a match there.

Two not in use anymore;
    Mel's Park (nuff said)
    Whitehall

It is good to hear of new grounds in planning at the moment. Drogheda, Finn Harps, Athlone's new stadium, Kilkenny have done a good job there, Dalymount notwithstanding legal issues at the moment, Corks upgraded Turners Cross, Wexford would seem to have a decent setup under the circumstances, whenever Tallaght gets sorted out, Richmond Parks improvements. So things are looking up with plans at varying degrees of readiness to improve the matchday experience, this is probably a better angle to consider and add some balance to your article rather than only focusing on the poor facilities already on offer throughout the land.
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Im preparing an article and im just wondering what everyone's worst 3 stadium are for the visiting supporter. this could range from poor stewarding, to worst facilities, to most risk of trouble before/after game, ie most hostile atmosphere.

northern lads feel free to submit your views, but fot this artcile im really only interested in eL grounds
    just wondering why your article cant be on the 3 best stadiums as opposed to 3 worst. everyone knows EL grounds arent the best so not sure why an article to point this out is needed. In fairness some/most clubs trying to improve their grounds, just takes time and more funding.
    "Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure"

Lack of atmosphere:
    1 Belifleid
    2. Wexford Youth Complex
    3. RSC (well casue of the running track)

Kip.
    1. Coleman Park
    2. Jackman Park
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by L37Ultra View Post
    Lack of atmosphere:
    1 Belifleid
    Is that not in Germany?
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

If youse ever travel up north you should see Limavady Showgrounds, and Donegal Celtic Park. Absolute shambles of stadia.
    Linfield Football Club - Hatchets & Hammers - You Can Only Envy Us

A Blue 52

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast