Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Worst ground for visitors

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    I share the affection above for United Park, and agree that Finn Park is a dump, but again, like going there; like Terryland, neutral about the Showgrounds, dislike Flancare; despite the awful view from the away end, I like the Brandywell - at least its usually fullish - and really like Turner's Cross and Richmond. Monaghan's cute too. Haven't been to Jackman, Wexford or Cobh

Awww bless
    Who Cares?!

Worst-

Finn Park
    Colemans Park(Cobh)
    Any Limerick Ground is usually poor.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Connaught Street
    Oriel
    Flancare
    Hogan Park

in my experience
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    Turner's Cross has the worst toilet facilities for away fans in the league. One portaloo! It's a joke considering how good the rest of the ground is. Have they rectified this since the new shed went in?
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    They had three portaloos at the cross this year for us. Maybe they like us better?
    i can confirm it is now 3. With the derrynane stand (the one away fans go in) being so shallow and the st anns end (the as-yet uncovered hill with seats) being open, there is no place for a permanent toilet near the away fans section. i doubt the 3 ever get used, there are rarely more than a handful of away fans to experience the stadium anyway.

however, i have to question your nomination as the worst for toilet facilities - waterford united only provide a single shared urinal for both sets of fans, and tolka park itself has that absolutely disgusting tunnel thing for away fans, which regularly floods. nothing worse than ****ing whilst in 3 inches of water. also, the tap was not working as of our last cup game. having to walk from the riverside stand to that kip is surely worse than walking across to the relatively fantastic facilities under the donie forde, even without the extra 2 portaloos?

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Hogan Park
    No longer a league ground. That said Jackman is pretty basic too. Think Monaghan is a bit of a hole too, only one baby stand that's puzzlingly far back from the pitch. RSC is souless.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Richmond.

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    its got to be united park.
    Let it go GZ, your anti-Drog rants are getting more and more tiresome...

As if Langerland is like the feckin San Siro.

The dinginess of the RSC is very disheartening.
    As said above it's a bit of a graveyard and in that sense, helps the team.
    I wouldn't be too enthusiastic about it if i was a WUFC fan though.
    One-sided ground with a crap view far back from the pitch and a running track to add in.
    Packie Holden shouting at the ballboys to slow down and waste time.

Sound out stewards don't amount to a redeeming factor.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Snoop Drog View Post
    Let it go GZ, your anti-Drog rants are getting more and more tiresome...

As if Langerland is like the feckin San Siro.
    Compared to United park, it is. The wonderful thing is, the FAI and UEFA ground inspectors agree with me!

I fail to see how its "another anti drog rant" (when was my last? i thought i was focusing on slaphead mcdonell this year ), as it wouldnt matter if we played there ourselves, its a terrible ground, and drogs are doing the right thing in abandoning it anyway, right?

waterford united only provide a single shared urinal for both sets of fans
    I was down there a few weeks ago and there was a proper gents toilet at the side of the stand, plenty of urinals and cubicles sinks and paper towels.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    I was down there a few weeks ago and there was a proper gents toilet at the side of the stand, plenty of urinals and cubicles sinks and paper towels.
    4 cubicles, 1 "wall" style urinal, unsegregated and in only one part of the ground - though the paper towels are an advancement!

I fail to see how its "another anti drog rant" (when was my last?
    Only this week Langer with your prediction that we would be trounced in San Marino.

Quote Originally Posted by Snoop Drog View Post
    Only this week Langer with your prediction that we would be trounced in San Marino.
    what? my prediction was 1:1, away from home. hardly a trouncing, but i think you might underestimate them.

You've got the wrong langer i think!

Ah well, you all look the same to me

While we are on the subject...

I recall United Park being listed as a favourite of many visiting fans in a previous thread. Ok, they certainly aren't coming for the corporate facitites (such as seats...) but they acknowledged that the tight enclosed ground can lead to a cracking athmosphere.
    Although the lack of toilets and crumbling facade is obviously a big problem, the "real football ground" feel of United Park makes it popular with some.

I like United Park for the reasons above. Love Richmond for much the same reasons (obviousky enough)

In terms of facilities Belfield and Finn park are ptretty bad (never been to Limericks ground)

Oriel is the ground I least like going to. By a country ****ing mile too.

4 cubicles, 1 "wall" style urinal, unsegregated and in only one part of the ground - though the paper towels are an advancement!

I always love the meaningless comments that always spew forth from our near neighbours, if its not 1 thing its another, toilet facilities have always been bad at the RSC i admit it, but the new stand is about to commence very shortly and that will be rectified along with a complete overhaul of the whole ground.
    I look forward to our visit to Turners Cross tonight and the fantatsic toilet facilities that they provide in the ground , its like a balancing act when you go to use them, 1 false move and its on the ground with the occupant inside it?
    Do every house in Cork use portaloos?

I wouldn't be too enthusiastic about it if i was a WUFC fan though.
    We're not. Believe me. Hopefully, as MM said, the new stand will make a difference.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Im preparing an article and im just wondering what everyone's worst 3 stadium are for the visiting supporter. this could range from poor stewarding, to worst facilities, to most risk of trouble before/after game, ie most hostile atmosphere.

northern lads feel free to submit your views, but fot this artcile im really only interested in eL grounds
    Pointless negativity for the league if u ask me
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    No longer a league ground. That said Jackman is pretty basic too. Think Monaghan is a bit of a hole too, only one baby stand that's puzzlingly far back from the pitch. RSC is souless.
    Our stand was built at a time when there were plans to turn the pitch so that it would be behind the goal hence the distance from the pitch.

Anyways u havent been up to see it this season, its very prettyful now!

Worst ground for me is the Showgrounds, stewards with no manners, filthy toilets, looks like Beruit as u come in and a hostile crowd. I hear there are loads of improvements being made and am glad.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast