Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Drinking on the terraces

Drinking on the terraces

Very unusual to see people openly drinking Pints from the bar on the terrace at Oriel park tonight .Both Harps and Duns fans were buying beers at the bar and were allowed stand and watch the game while supping away . While this looked very enjoyable i felt a bit on edge as there was a few really drunk people falling about the place .Recipe for disaster IMHO .

i see your point but been adults i think we should be allowed to drink while we watch the games...my main reason for this is the games are on friday nights!!.
    if someone cant drink responsibly well then they should be delt with like they would in any other establishment!!.... we dont have a bar as dont many other clubs so in this regard i think we should be allowed drink what we brought in as long as were not rowdy or not flauting it and are of the above age to drink.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

22 Posts
    Possibility that Pats could offer this service to home fans in the stand, i cant see it being bad thing as long as normal bar rules applied.

Why shouldnt we be able to get beer at games, in our seats?

kdjac

I wish the average Irish person was responsible enough to down a few beers while watching a match but here's hoping.

There's a UEFA rule that won't allow alcohol cannot be consumed in the "viewing" part of the ground. Bars are fine but once you leave the bar, the drink must stay.

Im not saying it applies to Ye Olde First Division but Pats have looked intoa lot of things recently and the FAI told them they couldn't do it...

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    i see your point but been adults i think we should be allowed to drink while we watch the games...my main reason for this is the games are on friday nights!!.
    if someone cant drink responsibly well then they should be delt with like they would in any other establishment!!.... we dont have a bar as dont many other clubs so in this regard i think we should be allowed drink what we brought in as long as were not rowdy or not flauting it and are of the above age to drink.
    it wouldnt be cool if you couldnt drink your cans of dutch gold and look like a scumbag watching the match.
    cop on ffs, the last thing we need in the ground is a bunch of clowns who think their the whole men with their stupit cans of ****.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    There's a UEFA rule that won't allow alcohol cannot be consumed in the "viewing" part of the ground. Bars are fine but once you leave the bar, the drink must stay.

Im not saying it applies to Ye Olde First Division but Pats have looked intoa lot of things recently and the FAI told them they couldn't do it...
    Is this really true?
    I have drank a good few beers sitting in my seat at matches on the continent expecially Germany.

I was under the impression that the FAI were just slavishly following the English FA decision to ban alcohol from football grounds.

I think allowing people at EL matches to have a beer in a plastic glass would do a lot to attract people to the game.

The football might not be the best but the EL is the best drinking league in the world.
    Cogito ergo Bohs

We found that out in Monaghan. At first we were allowed bring our (plastic) pints into the stand. Then the head of security got onto us and told us we couldn't leave the bar with the drink. Wasn't a major problem - we could still see the game, get pished and get hammered 4-0, what more can you ask for on a Friday evening?!

Finn Harps didn't have a problem with us drinking up there early in the season. We were able to leave at half time to get more cans in the nearby offo - that's two UEFA rules broken there

We were allowed drink in Limerick's ground. In Athlone you can bring your plastic pints into the stand. Cobh didn't allow drinking on the terraces.

Anyway, there's nothing better than having a few drinks watching a bit of ball.
    Who Cares?!

82 Posts
    UEFA competition rules prohibit drink sales at all games under their jurisdiction(club and international). Foreign domestic league games are generally fine (unless its in England or Scotland where its against the law).

Not sure if there is a specific FAI/EL rule on it, but hypothetically I'd love a pint or two watching the match if I wasn't driving.

I reckon it would have a large impact on stewarding and security though as we aren't renowned as a nation for responsible drinking.

I agree it should be allowed by the way (in plastic cups) but in Italy and Spain only non alcoholic beer is sold. Friend of mine spent a fair few quid at a game in Barcelona and after 13 ****es realised it was non alcoholic.

The reason Pats were given from the FAI is the UEFA spiel

i think adults should be allowed in the plastic cups but the problem is people who pass them on to kids then. Most fans wont want to miss the match so they prob get one before and at half time anyway.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    True alright about lastnight in Oriel lot's of fans from both sides drinking on the terrace beside the clubhouse (plastic cups supplied) seemed like a lot of underage drinking going all as well!
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

I would love to have a few pints while watching a match. Cant see there being any problems if its in plastic cups. I would defo be able to attract a few of my mates down to richmond if you could sit there drinking a pint.

Its all positive as far as im concerned. Even if a fella went around the ground selling pints(like the coffee fellas) it would be ideal. It would attract more fans to games. I know my mates would be coaxed out of the pub if you could buy beer especially on friday nights.

If marketed well like the house racing and the greyhounds it would attract more fans.

A thousand pints sold at 1 euro profit per pint. Additional income for the clubs.

Quote Originally Posted by Vitruvian Man View Post
    Is this really true?
    I have drank a good few beers sitting in my seat at matches on the continent expecially Germany.
    are you sure it wasn't non-alcoholic

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    Very unusual to see people openly drinking Pints from the bar on the terrace at Oriel park tonight .Both Harps and Duns fans were buying beers at the bar and were allowed stand and watch the game while supping away . While this looked very enjoyable i felt a bit on edge as there was a few really drunk people falling about the place .Recipe for disaster IMHO .
    Funniest thing about it though was, we could bring them out b4 the game but not after Half time. Whats the difference?
    We absolutely drenched Parkhouse for the goal beer everywhere

It was edgy enough - I was having pints myself but there were some skangers in the Dundalk support to our left who were hammered and looking to have a go all night. They weren't kids either. Bad idea to have drink on the terraces like that.

I wish the average Irish person was responsible enough to down a few beers while watching a match but here's hoping.
    100% spot on.

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    are you sure it wasn't non-alcoholic
    Condidering the 7 or 8 I'd have in the pub beforehand I can neither confirm nor deny that remark.
    Cogito ergo Bohs

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    I'd love a pint or two watching the match
    ...or maybe some whiskey in a nice warm cup of coffeee kindly supplied by a friend!
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

25 Posts
    Oriel is a joke. Full of clowns thinking they are hard lads. Shops must do some sales in tracksuits and Air Max!
    I counted 8 stewards in the whole ground and they had no idea what was going on. If Dundalk go up I would love to see the shape of the place when Rovers and Bohs leave it. Sort it out Dundalk!
    Say nothin til ya hear more!

Quote Originally Posted by Finlay Harp View Post
    Oriel is a joke. Full of clowns thinking they are hard lads. Shops must do some sales in tracksuits and Air Max!
    I counted 8 stewards in the whole ground and they had no idea what was going on. If Dundalk go up I would love to see the shape of the place when Rovers and Bohs leave it. Sort it out Dundalk!
    100%.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast