I think play-off is a good idea. Should be a two-leg fixture though. It avoids a load of dead rubbers late in the season. As for Cobh being hard done by (cue fiddles), well it could be any team. Cobh could be the beneficiaries another season.
As for negating the need for a league - I don't know about that. You still need a league to decide the play-off berths. Its not like Wexford will be getting into a knock-out competition for promotion.![]()
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
Actually they could couldn't they? Did Cobh get a Premier license last year? If they don't have one they ain't getting in. Plus from next year on isn't the league set up changing? I remember hearing something about cutting the Premier by two clubs and having a 10 man Premier League?
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
Dont worry mate ye wont be needing it,yer goin nowhere judging on yer performance against us last week.....We were rubbish but ye werent much better....Ye"ll fade away like ye always do in the second half of the season....Cobh have no backbone....Ye were all born Spineless![]()
1 - 0 to the super blues![]()
LTID
Soccerbot forecasts and recent form .Makes interesting reading:
Form Table (Last 6 weeks) Pld Pts Avg
1 Finn Harps 5 13 2.6
2 Cobh Ramblers 5 11 2.2
3 Dundalk 5 8 1.6
4 Limerick 37 FC 5 8 1.6
5 Monaghan United 5 7 1.4
6 Kildare County FC 4 4 1.0
7 Shelbourne 4 4 1.0
8 Kilkenny City 5 3 0.6
9 Athlone Town 5 3 0.6
10 Wexford Youths 5 3 0.6
PredictFinal Table Pld Pts
1 Dundalk 36 82
2 Cobh Ramblers 36 82
3 Limerick 37 FC 36 71
4 Finn Harps 36 63
5 Athlone Town 36 44
6 Kildare FC 36 43
7 Shelbourne 36 36
8 Monaghan 36 29
9 Wexford Yths 36 20
10 Kilkenny City 36 16
"You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"
i predict the super blues to win 3-0,kelleher hat-trick
lets do the business now boys and we can all go to the still house for celebrations
MORE....
Limerick37
League Position 3
Previous Position 3
Current Form D W L D W D W W W L D D W W L
Athlone TownLeague Position 5
Previous Position 5
Current Form L L W D L W L W L W L D L D D
Predicted Outcome Home Win
Scorers
(5) Padraig Moran 8 games since last score
(4) Kevin Waters 2 games since last score
(3) Ross Cosgrave 2 games since last score
(2) Paul Danagher 2 games since last score
(2) Brian Buckley 6 games since last score
(2) Davy Wall 11 games since last score
(2) David Goldbey 15 games since last score
(1) Derek McCarthy 0 games since last score
(1) Pat Purcell 1 game since last score
(1) Joey Maloney 6 games since last score
Total Games Played 19 (9 home, 10 away)
Biggest Win 3-0 29/05/07 19:45 v Wexford Youths (Home)
Biggest Loss 3-0 01/06/07 20:00 v Finn Harps (Away)
Biggest Home Win 3-0 29/05/07 19:45 v Wexford Youths (Home)
Biggest Home Loss 0-1 20/04/07 19:45 v Dundalk (Home)
Biggest Away Win 0-2 09/03/07 19:45 v Cobh Ramblers (Away)
Biggest Away Loss 3-0 01/06/07 20:00 v Finn Harps (Away)
"You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"
Im just heading to the Still House now boys for the victory celebrations....
Well done skee you got your tactics spot on...
Well done to the Colbert and Kelleher especially for the goals they got...
the 2 boys along with Tommy will fire us back to premier where we belong
Kevin Waters was had a brilliant game, illustrates how much of a loss he was last weekend.
LTID
Great 1st half , Waters and Colbert were outstanding, McCarthy very busy up front.
Good stuff from everyone in fact, big difference in midfield as has been said,
Athlone were poor on the night though and the 2nd half was poor allround.
but what about.Ski, what the fcuk is he playing at? how much are we gonna get fined again for that crap on the sideline again?
to be honest it was ridiculous why ski got sent off. i was right behind it when it happened. the athlone manager was roaring at the ref all match and all ski done was give out about a stupid decision the ref made and was sent off for it.
I think it might be the manner that he uses when giving out more than anything. I am amazed that it took so long this season for people to realise that he has an abusive manner on the sidelines.
I hope the rumours round Jackman about where he is going next season aren't true
Two observations Battery Rover and myself had last night.....
First off, is the Lion pregnant, or overweight?!
And what's the story with the advertising hoardings around the pitch? Take away the free ones like eircom, errea and Live95, and there is practially nothing. Not having a dig or anything, was just struck last night about how little there was.
Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887
If right was right he should have been f***** off there last week
Wayne Colbert is looking an excellent player, Carthy as sharp as I've ever seen him
And what about Kevin Waters
YawnAnd what's the story with the advertising hoardings around the pitch?
Does someone with more time want to do the whole Limerick Senior Football -v- All Local Business for the umpteenth time for this guy??
Suffice to say these things take time
Great result lads hope ye finish second, and obviously beat dundsalk in playoffs. Weird to think yere stars on the night played our 21s 2 nights b4 hand to no avail(bar no8 who was class IMO). Well done Lims 37 but dont get any ideas bout 2nd place!!!