Thread: Heading to Galway next month

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    That depend on how old you are. If you are under 26, then the Living Room is the biz. If you are in your 30's, then Busker Brownes (100 meters from the Living Room) is the spot for you.
    i wouldnt really put an age on it!. places are more scene then age!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

It depends on your age really.

For pubs...
    Quays(20's on...great spot though...all Irish music etc)
    Kings head(Ditto)
    Living Room.....always packed...nearly like a Club really
    Cellar.....young pun on Eglinton Street
    Fibbers...In Eyre Square....good lively pub...all ages
    Foxs...Also in the Square...young enough...18-30 year olds mainly...home to GUST
    For the older crowds...30's+...
    Front Door
    Buskers
    Garavans
    Skeff

Clubs....
    Cp's....Young club...much better from September to March when it's by in large a Galway crowd.....Summer it's a Red neck fest!
    Halo....More of a mid 20's-mid 30's crowd.....right beside Cp's.....good club though
    Cuba...Meh...It's ok..
    Karma.....Does better on student nights than weekends
    GPO.....Don't ask.

You'll have a good time regardless.Galway is always bizzing but this time of year it's fairly mental.Impossible to move everywhere!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Im in my 30's as are most of the lads going so we must check out Buskers.
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

Quote Originally Posted by Aldini98 View Post
    Im in my 30's as are most of the lads going so we must check out Buskers.
    Head to the Warwick after Buskers on a Sat night if you're goin clubbin - live band and DJ - don't go out there till 12.30 or after though.

Buskers is great craic, there's also the front door (Across the road from buskers) and the Drew Drop (across the road and up a bit from buskers, on the corner) are great spots too

Looks like we are seriously going to be spoilt for choice !!!

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06 View Post
    Head to the Warwick after Buskers on a Sat night if you're goin clubbin - live band and DJ - don't go out there till 12.30 or after though.

Buskers is great craic, there's also the front door (Across the road from buskers) and the Drew Drop (across the road and up a bit from buskers, on the corner) are great spots too
    just to let ya know the wareick is a bit of a trek from there and a cab would be required....best to stay in city center!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    That depend on how old you are. If you are under 26, then the Living Room is the biz. If you are in your 30's, then Busker Brownes (100 meters from the Living Room) is the spot for you.
    Also depends on what age they're chasing ....

Whats the Galway Arms like ?

small pub, next door to the garda station, so ye wouldnt have far to travel the following morning !!!!!!!!!

Dont know anybody that has ever stayed there so cant comment on that, its located around 50-100 metres from most of the previously mentioned pubs, so located nicely, and finally they do a cracking fry up-probably my favourite in town anyway!

Quote Originally Posted by Aldini98 View Post
    Whats the Galway Arms like ?

More of a locals pub AFAIK. Also it's next door to the Garda station - not that that means anything - I think

You're still within spittin' distance of the so called latin quarter and you can see the Living Room from the Galway Arms. The west side of the town "begins" from the Galway Arms with a couple of nice pubs down that side, but, at that stage you've started to leave "town".

You have to remember for Race Week all usual presumptions go out the window and madness reigns...or should that be rains?
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

also, if you havent booked at this stage and are coming this weekend coming...you'll be very lucky to get in anywhere accomodation wise, ye might have to start thinking even of bring the tent with ya.

bring shoes at all times.....one of the most important things to remember when going out in galway, along with only having 1 pint before hitting a club. been to cities all over europe and america but i still have hassle in galway.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    bring shoes at all times.....one of the most important things to remember when going out in galway, along with only having 1 pint before hitting a club. been to cities all over europe and america but i still have hassle in galway.
    Got refused entry to Kennedys on Eyre Square last night because I was wearing trainers...it's Wednesday of race week FFS, people were hanging off the light fixtures...

I usually wear shoes anyway. Dont want to give bouncers any excuse

Heading down last weekend of the month, cant wait.

It's all starting to make sense now p_osh
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

along with only having 1 pint before hitting a club.
    Most times I've been out in Galway I've barely been able to remember my name, let alone only having one pint, by the time it comes to the night clubs (back the buckie factor I guess! ). Never had trouble getting in places in Galway...