Thread: North Tipp & District League 2007/08

teams in limerick,that was tried by the nenagh teams in the 70s and 80s,even before that .it did not work out and to be honest like every other junior league there is only 3 to 5 good teams and the rest are average or worse!!

I don't know about the availability of the astro-turf in Brickfields but it's open 6 days a week(at least) from around 17:00-22:30 .

I know us youths gave up an hour slot on a thursday recently to go train in Islandbawn .We had been training on the pitches and then heading into the astro-turf but since it's getting dark early now and brickfields doesn't have light for the pitches at the moment we had to move to Islandbawn .

Blackcastle beat Ballingarry 2-1 , from what I've heard after the poor start Ballingarry are starting to lose players and at the moment I can't really see past them and Clodiagh going down .

Despite the league doing fairly poorly in the FAi this year I have to say I think the standard has gone up this year from most clubs .

As far as North Tipp sides going to Limerick.......not going to happen , and it shouldn't either . However there being an all-Tipp Premier division in the future(with lower divisions being regionalised to North and South Tipp) is a possibility that may happen .

Currently at Youth level they have the Joe Delaney(All-Tipperary) Cup , with was a success last year and if it continues to be so it will most likely be implemented into Junior level .
    For those not familiar with it , the competition takes the top 4 sides from North and South once the league has those places cemented(the league doesn't have to be over and it doesn't matter if any of the top four change position between them once no other team can break into that top 4) .

Now because of the success of this competition last year there was an idea put forward of taking the top 4 teams from North Tipp at youth level and putting them into a league with the top 4 teams from South Tipp at youth level . Now the idea didn't come about(for this season anyway) but may be looked at again in the future and seeing as they like to use the youths as a trial for the Juniors anything that works at youth level may eventually be applied to Junior .

If the Joe Delaney Cup is competitive between North and South again this year and goes well I reckon there is a very good chance it'll be implemented into Junior football for the following season .

the 2 Nenagh teams struggled sunday but came away with wins.Pity arra gave blackcastle a walk over

Clough 2 Ballingarry 2
    Very bad result for Clough this weekend in a game they controlled from start to finish.. We missed too many chances in the first half and we could have been 4 nil up at halftime but instead we were 2 nil down.. They scored from their only attack in the game and we conceded another through an unfortunate O.G..
    We did get 2 goals back in the second half but these are the types of games we should be winning.. Playing Nenagh Celtic next weekend which will no doubt be a tough game..

I think Arra had hurling on sunday, thats why they gave the walk over. Kinda shows them up for what they are. A crowd of hurlers!

Has any other team based around dual players won the league in the last 20 years (Besides Arra back in 95ish)?
    Newtown Celtic FC RIP (1992-2007)

no not as far as i know,and do not think it will happen again

Premier Division League Fixtures

Cloughjordan v Nenagh Celtic 2.30pm
    Arra Rovers v Ballingarry 11.30
    Nenagh AFC v Toomevara 2.30pm.
    Rearcross v Clodiagh Rgs. 11.30

is arra rovers pitch in good condition? do they have dressing rooms?

Quote Originally Posted by bishbash View Post
    is arra rovers pitch in good condition? do they have dressing rooms?
    I think they have 'changing facilities' for the home team but I don't remember ever using a dressing room down there .

Pitch itself , even if it is in good condition(extremely unlikely) is very lopsided and has a bit hill to go with it .

It's the one pitch I question why it's even allowed to be used , I'm sure there must be a nearby field in better condition .

When we were down there last year a rusty tenon saw was found on the pitch during the game(tells you how long the grass was that no one noticed it before-hand and presumely it was there for weeks/years)

Dreadful pitch , possibly the most difficult thing about getting a result down there , although with that said they do have a better team this year .

with the recent bad weather (heavy rain) will the game go ahead?

Quote Originally Posted by bishbash View Post
    with the recent bad weather (heavy rain) will the game go ahead?
    Yep that game will go ahead imo..
    We played down there 2 weeks ago and i must agree that the pitch is a lob sided and hilly..
    However the surface was pretty ok and alot better than i ever remember it.. We had no dressing rooms to use but i am sure they will organise something for ye.. Tough place to go and get a result.

Tough pitch to play on, worst thing to do would be to try and out play them on it. Really is a game of two halfs down there.
    I have to agree though about it being one of the worst pitches in the league. They have the option to use Newtown Celtics old field but know that they would be destroyed on it because of its size.

do they ever play on the other pitch you mentioned?

No not that I know of. There was talk of Nenagh Celtic playing out in Newtown as well but that seems to have come to naught.
    To be honest Im kinda out of the loop on what Arra are up to this season. Ive driven by the pitch in Portroe (the hilly one) about two sundays ago and they were playing there so I cant see that changing.

League History

Collect historic data on Junior/Intermediate leagues in Ireland.
    Have viewed legue website and note no historic section.
    Anyone able to share league history and details of past champions/runners up ?
    Thanks

Why didnt the league call the matches off last Saturday night?
    We didnt get word until Sunday morning. It was obvious with the rain that most of the matches would be off.
    Its hard enough to get lads to stay in off the beer as it is. If they called them off Saturday it would allow lads to head out and let a bit of steam off without affecting a match weekend.

Totally agree with ya Bawn.. It is a disgrace.. one of our lads rang some1 from the North Tipp board Sat evening to see willl the matches be on and we were told that they are still on and they will make a decision in the morning.. Do they not look at the weather forecast... And it is not as if there were pitch inspecations on sun cos we got a text a 09:00 to say all matches are off..
    I stayed in on Sat Night when i could have gone out on the beer..
    Some of our players drove back from a stag in mayo Sun Morning and others drove back from Cork and this is not on or not fair imo..
    Are these lads on the north tipp board thick or what..
    The season is long enough and it is great when ya get a break on sun and be able to go out Sat night...

Totally agree, word only came to us at about 10am. I thought it might have been a break down of communication on our side. Obviously just the North Tipp organisers.

What's a shame was that Islandbawn was in perfect condition , we had used Brickfields for the FAI youths game against Celtic the day before(we won on penalties) and that was cut to shreds but even if Islandbawn had been used Saturday I suspect it would of been okay Sunday .

It holds up to the weather very well and you can always count on it to be in good condition come this(dreary, muddy, generally ****ty) time of year .

Tis looking like we will have a free Sunday this weekend again , going by the weather..
    I wonder when we will be told... we will prob get the phone call around 10:00 Sunday Morning..
    I am going on the beer anyway either way !!!