Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Signings

151 Posts
    Moran went to Athlone and is now with Limerick 37.

Did he not go to derry from sligo and then to athlone?

I know im driving off the subject but does anyone know where choice ended up?

151 Posts
    Wigwam, have you used the word 'know' instead of 'care'.?

21 Posts
    Sean Kelly gone to Longford.

Longford are likely to give debuts to recent signings Sean Kelly from Sligo Rovers and Colm James from Galway United.

Independent

The transfer window is coming to an end and we seem to have released more players than we have signed!!!

With the transfer window coming to a near close I suppose it is normal for fans to be a bit worried that we have let so many players go and have not balanced this out with new signings.I too would be thinking along these lines, but let me maybe try and ease some of these worries.

Last Tuesday Cookey dropped down to the trust meeting(thanks Eddie the Panda for inviting him) and where previously a manager dropped in as a PR exercise ,stayed a while ,never answered any supporters queries and only really met the trust to see what they could get.
    Cookey was a million miles from this.

At 8pm he called in to meet the trust and stayed chatting until after 11pm.
    He talked about "Our club" as if he supported Rovers all his life.
    Any question asked he answered, (and there were some no holes barred opinions on players tactics etc.from the lads).
    He explained what he expected from his sides and where he wants to be in the next few years, no crap about heading off to England to manage or who he knows in the game like previous manager.

A truer and honest manager you will not find anywhere in the LOI.
    He eats, sleeps and breeds football.

On the transfer window simply......
    he will not pay over the odds for average players.Transfers windows are silly season but this man knows what he wants and will not comprimise in his effort to strengthen the sqaud, but wil not be held to ransom by players or clubs.He wants to raise the bar on and off the pitch but will only spend money wisely on players he believe wants to play for the club.

So from meeting with the guy, and all the lads at the meeting will back this, he is 100% genuine ,what you see is what you get, no bull****, he tells it as it is and calls a spade a spade.We will be spared the PR bull Sean spun (and is still doing at Bohs)by this guy.

So dont panic lads....

Monaghan United have signed Jason McCartney from you today.

Quote Originally Posted by akearins View Post
    breeds football.
    We'll be a while waiting for new players if this is how he intends to get them
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

151 Posts
    Nice one, Fivesilver. Has he been introduced to Aine ?

i think apart from maybe a striker we will be ok for the remainder of the season, in fairness what was just said about him at the trust meeting is a positive sign in my book, if we are realistic and look back to this time last year certain individuals were aware that the fat chancer would lead them to Dalymount, and i guarantee you some of those are wishing the were still applying there trade at Sligo, i think if we are honest this squad is every bit as good as last years bar the goalkeeping position, we struggled at the begining, but like all of you want lads with heart and pride of someone like cretaro playing for you every week, rather than someone like Singh..... these lads dream of playing championship level in England so F**k them they have no real appreciation of what an opportunity there getting and how lucky they are, i think Mansaram will have more of a chance of playing with forest green than notts forest,

fair play whoever posted that clip of SC and Mick McCarthy- priceless stuff i thought i was watching the office for a few minutes

Look at the style of football Rovers are playing. There are very few other teams in the league that are playing a passing game. Seanie C has Bohs hoofing the ball around the shop, Pats, Drogs and Co aren't exactly pleasing on the eye. The surface in the Showgies prob doesn't do us much favours, but I take some positives out of the style Cook has us playing.
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

did ye notice how mc carthy was trying to walk away from the minute sean came over, and he kept tryin to get away and connor kept pullin him back

Have to say that every interview I’ve seen, heard or read with Cookey involved has been refreshing, his honesty, common sense & general attitude has won me over. Seems to be a good lad!
    I gladly would have taken all we have now at the start of the season, he came in difficult circumstances & has done well. He is getting the best out of players (& I appreciate others have nothing to offer), But he is right in a way, why waste money this year on making signings of convenience? find the players you want and build a team.

Yea off topic, but in the interveiw with The Connor after the Wolves game he said he had a Stephen O'Donnell and a McCann (on trial) come on for the last 20mins of the game, are they the players that palyed for us a season or 2 ago?
    O'Donnell who was from Donegal and in the army and
    McCann who came from Linfield?
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

21 Posts
    From the Champion. Nineteen year old James Meredith (Derby County) a left sided player is currently training with Rovers.

Moore will not be signing as he has picked up an injury.

Rovers are also considering an Welsh under 21 international plus some other players.

Rovers have also received a payment up front for Turner plus another one at the end of season. Also they will get a twenty percent sell on clause if he is sold.

Both clubs have agreed that Turner will not play if Rovers are drawn against Bohs further down the line in the cup.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Red did it say we will get a 20% of a sell on clause With the Turner deal. Although if they keep playing the way they no club would come in for him as Bohs bypass midfield at the moment. I see Connor is having Q&A session in Dublin nice bit of PR spin from him as soon as the natives get restless he is trying to win them over again but that only lasts so long.
    Yes according to the Champion. Imagine a Rovers-Bohs cup final, do you think Connor would stick to the gentlemans agreement of not playing Turner?

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Is there a gentlemans agreement Red ?

If there is at that did happen no
    Well I presume thats what you would call it. They MC and Connor probably spat on it and shook hands afterwards, so every thing is bound to be above board.

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Wigwam, have you used the word 'know' instead of 'care'.?
    yes,yes i have

151 Posts
    For a gentleman's agreement to exist, there must be gentlemen involved. I rest my case.

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast