Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Pre Match Reception Saturday

[quote=GuisaSaigon;725856]This is being blown way out of proportion here. One or two muppets jumped the wall when we scored the didnt even make two meters, it was hardly Green Street Hooligans.

Its not about how far they got on the pitch - its about how much of a fine our club gets. If running on the pitch (and banging into the linesman) was merely frowned upon the FAI you might have a point but GUFC needs all the money it can get and it must be frustrating for money raisers to see it being flushed down the toilet by a few drunk messers.

Jumping a wall when your team scores is an act of over-exuberance and is no big deal.

Walking 20-30 yards (Sligo) or 70 yards (Shamrock Rovers) to goad opposition fans is acting the fool. Why would you bother ?

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    Definitely thumbs up to Baileban for his stance on this thread (only!)

If anyone posts a pro family message on this or the Eircom League forum, they are dsimissed as whingers, ridiculed as wimps and lectured about the need to lighten up, grow up or take their "kids" somewhere else where they'll be immune to the less savoury elements in our society. (When I defended a Sligo supporter recently on this I was dismissed by Rocketfingers and a few others as a wind-up-merchant).

It's pretty obvious to me who needs to do the growing up... and it definitely isn't the children.

If this game is to have a future it depends on children coming through the turnstiles. Smarter clubs and Trusts also cop on to the fact that they are a guaranteed income stream.

IMO it suits some people to keep abusing parents and children for asserting their rights to safety. Those people will soon get what they wish for and enjoy watching matches in the future..............alone.

Clubs that promote family enclosures and childrens membership schemes are clubs that have some hope of a future existence.
    Actually it's about catering for everyone....not just families alone.

You can't just soley concentrate on getting families into the ground.The market that should be aimed at is both families and the 17-30 year old males/females.This market are far more likely to give money,support the team on a regular basis.Aswell as this they are even more likely to bring new faces to the ground should they enjoy their experience.

It all works in spins and cycles.When kids come to matches they aren't coming for the quality of football like most adults are.They're coming for the atmosphere,colour and noise.Hense a vast chunk of them descending on the Section A area.The more kids=more adults=more money.A simple concept.Aiming GUFC at families is a step in the right direction and can only be seen as positive but it certainly would not be the most beneficial,revenue wise,to go down.
    Also football isn't like rugby.It's passionate-and with passion you often get over exuberant people who like to let lose.Fair enough some people's actions can be downright idotic but at the same time their GUFC fans.
    No UTD fans should come on here and lambast another supporter,especially when they didn't travel themselves.The people involved will be dealt with.....we don't need Bruce Almighty's on here calling them all sorts and going on like we had a hooligan problem because 3 lads hopped a wall.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

75 Posts
    And if those kids got hurt on saturday lads who would get the blame.Galway United F.C. and their supporters. A lot of what went on in the Showgrounds was unacceptable and mainly down to excessive drinking and a minority of fools who had no interest in the game.

There are people within the club who will be delighted with this as they have their own plans and agendas but our genuine fans who did travel dont deserve to be tarnished with the same brush as these clowns.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    No UTD fans should come on here and lambast another supporter,especially when they didn't travel themselves.The people involved will be dealt with.....we don't need Bruce Almighty's on here calling them all sorts and going on like we had a hooligan problem because 3 lads hopped a wall.
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Nothing worse than when people question other people's loyalties to the Club.There's an abundance of reasons why people can't go/chose not to go to away games.It doesn't mean they're less of a fan.
    You often get clowns at away matches that are no more UTD fans than the man on the moon.
    Take a bow Conor.

In recent months I thought I'd detected a much a much more reasonable
    note in your posts, but if its at the price of a new line in hypcrisy and condesension you might as well revert to type.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

75 Posts
    "The people involved will be dealt with.....we don't need Bruce Almighty's on here calling them all sorts and going on like we had a hooligan problem because 3 lads hopped a wall."

The Referee's report is far more serious than that Conor and I presume you know that by now so making out that the only thing that happened was 3 clowns jumping the wall is stupid.

Agree with nearly everything you said Conor but I think I have earned the right to lambast the fools who caused this discussion. Didnt think much of the pitch invasion to be honest 3 lads didnt eve get to the touch line! But if it causes a major fine then there is trouble. Its the tossers that go out of their way to goad opposition supporters that should be hung out to dry. Havin said that they are not regular lads at all from my experiences and so we can afford to ban them. You'll agree with me on that one for sure as youve had more run ins with those than I. Goin onto to the pitch is silly but I can see why it happens it the heat of the moment, the passion of a derby game, I sure hope common sense prevails in the refs report, but GUFCT seems to know thats not the case.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

[QUOTE=gufct;726004
    There are people within the club who will be delighted with this as they have their own plans and agendas but our genuine fans who did travel dont deserve to be tarnished with the same brush as these clowns.[/QUOTE]

Thats a sad state of affairs thought that sort of ****e died out a few years ago. But I guess there is still a few that would like us to sit with our fingers on our lips a la primary school for 90 minutes every Fri...... So much for the 12th man initiative

There is a thread elsewhere on this forum discussing the merits of having alcohol freely available inside grounds during games, Sat night in Sligo is a prime example of why this should never happen & why people with excessive alcohol consumed should not be allowed enter any ground. It only takes one idiot to cause trouble. Whether people choose to believe it or not, from where I was sitting, with my two children, it was very close to a major incident, all because of a couple of drunk Galway idiots, and unfortunately the reputation of other genuine GUFC supporters will be blackened. Sligo would also need to review their match day plans as it is not safe.
    Also why bother travelling to “support” your team if you are going to spend the majority of your time and effort, abusing Sligo, Sligo people & Oliver Davey? When you support your team loads of people joined in, for example after Sligo scored, when you were just abusing people there were very few joining in. Mr. Davey was the happiest man in the ground, going around with a smile on his face loving all the attention. You made him out to be something special. He is not, he is a thug in a yellow jacket.
    Never have supporters from another team come to Terryland and spent the majority of their time abusing Galway or Galway people, you will always have a bit of it, but you should support your team, the rest just sounded sad and pathetic after the first ten times.
    Finally everybody knows who brought in the flares, you could see them before the game. Are these people going to pay the fine? If not then they should not be let travel with the rest of the fans until such time as the do so. The club can’t afford supporters like that. I don’t agree with the ban on flares, there should be some sort of compromise, but when it’s costing the club money we have to live with it.
    Galway has always had some of the best, loudest & most colourful fans in the league.
    Keep the tradition alive. Support your team nothing else matters when they are on the pitch.

75 Posts
    Its not just the kids John.We had over 200 fans in the showgrounds on Saturday and because of the actions of 6/7 people the others adults and kids were in danger.

I usually enjoy the away games cause im not working or having to make sure there are no problems or trouble in Terryland but I didnt enjoy saturday because I spent most of the second half making sure our own support didnt get out of hand.

People can come on here about banter and a bit of crack but there was a nastiness there that cannot be let ruin the good name of our club and fans.

POTM Demo
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

On another thread NY Hoop has asked where was the segregation? Sad thats its needed but it would have avoided most if not all of this poo. Terrlyland is always prepared to segregate fans.

75 Posts
    The sligo Stewards should have had a far tighter area for GUFC fans as they were too spread out and also rather than being inside the wall facing our fans they should have been on the other side sitting down and there should have been at least 3 stewards between the fans. One of the Clowns who was so drunk he probably doesnt remember a ting was allowed to bring in a full Pint Glass!

But to blame lack of segregation on this is rubbish.The blame lies fairly and squarely with the clowns who ruined the day for everybody else and trying to brush it over is pointless

Not blaming it on lack of segregation just sayin there is clearly less chance of any of that **** if there was.

Quote Originally Posted by Demoshield View Post
    There is a thread elsewhere on this forum discussing the merits of having alcohol freely available inside grounds during games, Sat night in Sligo is a prime example of why this should never happen & why people with excessive alcohol consumed should not be allowed enter any ground. It only takes one idiot to cause trouble. Whether people choose to believe it or not, from where I was sitting, with my two children, it was very close to a major incident, all because of a couple of drunk Galway idiots, and unfortunately the reputation of other genuine GUFC supporters will be blackened. Sligo would also need to review their match day plans as it is not safe.
    Also why bother travelling to “support” your team if you are going to spend the majority of your time and effort, abusing Sligo, Sligo people & Oliver Davey? When you support your team loads of people joined in, for example after Sligo scored, when you were just abusing people there were very few joining in. Mr. Davey was the happiest man in the ground, going around with a smile on his face loving all the attention. You made him out to be something special. He is not, he is a thug in a yellow jacket.
    Never have supporters from another team come to Terryland and spent the majority of their time abusing Galway or Galway people, you will always have a bit of it, but you should support your team, the rest just sounded sad and pathetic after the first ten times.
    Finally everybody knows who brought in the flares, you could see them before the game. Are these people going to pay the fine? If not then they should not be let travel with the rest of the fans until such time as the do so. The club can’t afford supporters like that. I don’t agree with the ban on flares, there should be some sort of compromise, but when it’s costing the club money we have to live with it.
    Galway has always had some of the best, loudest & most colourful fans in the league.
    Keep the tradition alive. Support your team nothing else matters when they are on the pitch.
    hang on why shouldnt the majority be able to drink because of one or two clowns??.... in relation to incidents per person it is lower then you would get in any club or pub, lets just close the pubs too so if thats the way its going to be viewed...''trouble=no drink''..... the problem with games here is proper stewarding and policing!. if one of the 2/3 fans was thrown out for goading fans like he should have been then that would have been one less person on the pitch(he was involved in both and who knows maybe he was the first on the pitch and enticed the other 2, basically it mightnt have happened was he removed when he should have been)

we cant blame drink here, imo its bad policing and stewarding thats at fault, things are always allowed to get out of control then the finger is pointed in other directions! i.e drink,supporters as a whole

in all the posts ive read about trouble at the games in dublin its been lack of policing around the ground after the game but then the ''it was drink/supporters'' crap that goes on again!.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    We had over 200 fans in the showgrounds on Saturday
    No ye didn't.

75 Posts
    between both stands we had although if you were one of the stewards that were facing our fans you couldnt have seen the amount of United Fans in the main stand.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    between both stands we had although if you were one of the stewards that were facing our fans you couldnt have seen the amount of United Fans in the main stand.
    No didn't notice ye in main stand but I doubt there was that many. Ye had 120-150 maximum in my opinion.

I wasn't discussing trouble at games in Dublin as I know nothing about it. I was discussing last weeks game in Sligo. The problem was caused by drunk people, having drink freely available at games would IMO lead to more of this type of behaviour. I'm fairly sure the individuals involved would not have behaved they way they did if they were not pi**ed. It's a sad fact of life that there is a percentage of Irish people who simply cannot have a couple of pints and stop. They have to get sh1t faced and act the idiot. in an atmosphere where emotions already run high do we really need to add drink into the equation? I think not. I enjoy a pint as much as the next man but am prepared to go the 90 mins with out one to ensure people can enjoy a game of football in safety. This I could not do on Sat. ou had to keep one eye on what was going on around you and couldn't watch the match properly

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    Take a bow Conor.

In recent months I thought I'd detected a much a much more reasonable
    note in your posts, but if its at the price of a new line in hypcrisy and condesension you might as well revert to type.
    Fair play to you MyTown.

Your true colours shine again.Take one post out of another completetly different discussion and selectively qoute it so it makes it look like you've really caught me out.Congratulations.Where were you on Saturday?

Who are you to take such a stance and be so condesecending?

"Revert to type"?
    Crazy.An absoloute nobody suggesting i might aswell revert back to whatever i supposedly was before.
    MyTown instead of making sweeping statements like that behind the luxury of a username please explain what you mean to me on Friday night.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast