Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Pre Match Reception Saturday

just out of curiosity is yer man who ran ont the pitch when ye scored on foot.ie?

Exactly. But gilberto would need to let reality sink in if he thinks ye don't have any knacker fans. That's all I'll say now, looking forward to today, should be good craic.
    look man im in terryland every other week so i think i have a better view then you!
    last night for instance, after we scored there was a few over-18's pulling shapes and tauntin us to start something.....ive never witnessed this in our ground...can anyone point out when the last incident bordering on an ''element'' happened in galway?
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    just out of curiosity is yer man who ran ont the pitch when ye scored on foot.ie?
    i cant remember who ran on when we scored apart frm one fella but frm the ones i remembered NONE were even regular away supporters, never mind even trust members!!

55 Posts

handbags

it was all handbags in the showgies last night, the 3 eejits that ran on the pitch 2 of them i never seen before and the other is regular enough at Tland
    it was a crap game of football. The new striker seems to lack pace,strength and strikers nuance but to be fair its his first chance so we will know after 10 games.

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    can anyone point out when the last incident bordering on an ''element'' happened in galway?
    March 9th 2007. Bear in mind I haven't been to Terryland since then so can't give a more recent one.

It's obvious you're the only Galway fan who thinks ye don't have a problem so I'll just accept that you're deluded and the other fans haven't got their heads buried in the sand like you clearly do.

March 9th 2007. Bear in mind I haven't been to Terryland since then so can't give a more recent one.

It's obvious you're the only Galway fan who thinks ye don't have a problem so I'll just accept that you're deluded and the other fans haven't got their heads buried in the sand like you clearly do.
    you talking about the 3/4 lil fellas who threw a rock at your bus?.... thats hardly an element as in any place with 3000+ you'll get something here and there.... an element is a group of ppl who can do some damage!!.
    can i say ye have an element because of the fan of your's who threatened one of ours with a bottle after the match??... when he tried to go to mooneys to use the toliet was told if he tried come in he was getting it over the head.... does that mean you have an element for something like that?

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    you talking about the 3/4 lil fellas who threw a rock at your bus?.... thats hardly an element as in any place with 3000+ you'll get something here and there.... an element is a group of ppl who can do some damage!!.
    can i say ye have an element because of the fan of your's who threatened one of ours with a bottle after the match??... when he tried to go to mooneys to use the toliet was told if he tried come in he was getting it over the head.... does that mean you have an element for something like that?
    Probably the same pr1cks who had one ring leader who shouted serious abuse at me over the road from mooneys. Big man as i was on my own. What srtuck me was that not one of these 3/4 lads had any bit of Rovers Merchandice on them... where they Fans at all or do they spend all their money on Beer and porno mags. By the way its been a year or two since i was in the showgrounds before that...where di the 2 resident Neo Nazis go hilarious

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Probably the same pr1cks who had one ring leader who shouted serious abuse at me over the road from mooneys. Big man as i was on my own. What srtuck me was that not one of these 3/4 lads had any bit of Rovers Merchandice on them... where they Fans at all or do they spend all their money on Beer and porno mags. By the way its been a year or two since i was in the showgrounds before that...where di the 2 resident Neo Nazis go hilarious

was he wering a celtic jacket and did he have skinned hair?

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    was he wering a celtic jacket and did he have skinned hair?
    Not sure. Tall fella. Right outside the door of the pub after the game. Dont think any had Celtic Jackets. One was bulkier but smaller. Drinking pint bottles...(dont ask me how i spotted that)

i know who it was.

but anyone that walked by us during the match gave us the fingers or started saying stuff up at us.

there was one blondie little s**t that passed by us about 10 times, he probably had too much coke on the bus down but he never stopped. he was on the bus, but didnt play if ye know who im talking about? and that absolute gobs**te with ''dolly davey''......all that came out of his mouth was davey this and davey that at the fan's match, in mooneys, and at the game.

Seems like you are npt happy unless you are having a rant. Mostly just handbag stuff. Lighten up!!!!

There was feck all going on in the Showgrounds the other day but a bit of banter between fans. Having United fans walk by the vocal Shligo fans to use the toilet was hardly ideal but even describing what went on as handbags is exaggerating. This moaning has to stop. people seem to think that all a forum is for is moaning, the worst thing is some people believe the crap they read on these forums. I'm getting sick of it.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Fair play to you for travelling, baileban, and bringing the family. I disagree with you on many things, but you are 100% correct in your last post.

GUST are trying to build better relationships with away fans (organising a match beforehand, inviting them to Foxes, etc). We also are trying to improve our away support. The main way to do this is to get more people driving to matches. Some of the carry-on the last day won't entice them.

The behaviour of a few tools at the game was unacceptable. One idiot would start a fight with himself in a phone box, you would have seen him surrounded by the gardai. Another lad, in particular, went down to the Sligo supporters to goad them. Why ?

Other supporters, who know that we have been fined for flares, and that repeat incidents will result in increased fines, let off more flares

At the home game, vs Shamrock Rovers, some supporters (who were in Sligo on the bus) were part of a small group that went the length of the stand to taunt Shamrock Rovers supporters.

These fools are a disgrace to GUFC. GUST have an excellent relationship with Rovers supporters. We don't want it damaged by drunken morons.

The sad thing is that 99% of GUFC supporters are a credit to the club, and the actions of a few only give carte blanche to the clubhouse brigade to tar all those who travel away and vocally support the club as scum.
    Last edited by Patrick Dunne; 16/07/2007 at 11:01 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    Fair play to you for travelling, baileban, and bringing the family. I disagree with you on many things, but you are 100% correct in your last post.

GUST are trying to build better relationships with away fans (organising a match beforehand, inviting them to Foxes, etc). We also are trying to improve our away support. The main way to do this is to get more people driving to matches. Some of the carry-on the last day won't entice them.

The behaviour of a few tools at the game was unacceptable. One idiot would start a fight with himself in a phone box, you would have seen him surrounded by the gardai. Another lad, in particular, went down to the Sligo supporters to goad them. Why ?

Other supporters, who know that we have been fined for flares, and that repeat incidents will result in increased fines, let off more flares

At the home game, vs Shamrock Rovers, some supporters (who were in Sligo on the bus) were part of a small group that went the length of the stand to taunt Shamrock Rovers supporters.

These fools are a disgrace to GUFC. GUST have an excellent relationship with Rovers supporters. We don't want it damaged by drunken morons.

The sad thing is that 99% of GUFC supporters are a credit to the club, and the actions of a few only give carte blanche to the clubhouse brigade to tar all those who travel away and vocally support the club as scum.

Pa the good thing about us over other clubs is that we dont have more then 2/3 fellas who are known to us stirring things up so it can be easily solved!. that was there 1st away game this yr but if they board a bus again they should be told that we dont want that s*it from the, (what would have happened if they played the Trust match god onlys knows!).... ill be honest it nearly kicked off in the stand when we scored but thanks to the drunken plonker(1 of the previous mentioned) he had got the cops down on his part a few mins before that

99% of the away support were great on saturday, fair play to them for coming, they rightfully so went mad when they scored the goal! but just 3 or 4 of them acted the eejit. two fellas in white galway away tops, and a young fella with bleached hair. and yer man with the sheep was being a bit of a eejit aswell, was always down in front of us looking up at us altho he wasnt abusive or anyting, just drunk and dopey, some idiot on our side might have taken the wrong course of action with him

The 3/4 arse holes that caused the nuisance in Sligo should be baned from going to away games on the bus. They are only acting the ****** and its clear that they are well known. One way of ensuring all are known is by forcing them to join GUST to be able to travel youve got their details then so you can ban them from away trips or Terryland if necessary, problem solved.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

This is being blown way out of proportion here. One or two muppets jumped the wall when we scored the didnt even make two meters, it was hardly Green Street Hooligans. A word in their ear and a warning will be enough, If they go at it again then take further action.
    Last edited by GuisaSaigon; 17/07/2007 at 11:31 AM.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

75 Posts
    Baileban for once we agree on something.The few fools who will cost the club a very large fine need to be sorted now before they do cause a serious problem for the large majority of excellent fans who are their to support the team and not act like drunken extras from Green Street .
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

55 Posts

imo

i think bailebain has a point too, he had young kids with him. The taepot that goaded the sligo fans and ran on to the pitch also caused hastle a year or so ago on one of the bus trips to lansdowne in fact a lot of us got ****ed off with him and ordered the bus to leave without him. It does seem though that sometimes some of the posters here think it ok because you know its the lads sure they wouldnt harm anybody. Someday some innocent creature like bailebans children will bear the brunt of stupidity. Fair play to the trust for showing the way to the supporters around the country with their reception before game idea. These taepots need to be banned form going on the bus

Definitely thumbs up to Baileban for his stance on this thread (only!)

If anyone posts a pro family message on this or the Eircom League forum, they are dsimissed as whingers, ridiculed as wimps and lectured about the need to lighten up, grow up or take their "kids" somewhere else where they'll be immune to the less savoury elements in our society. (When I defended a Sligo supporter recently on this I was dismissed by Rocketfingers and a few others as a wind-up-merchant).

It's pretty obvious to me who needs to do the growing up... and it definitely isn't the children.

If this game is to have a future it depends on children coming through the turnstiles. Smarter clubs and Trusts also cop on to the fact that they are a guaranteed income stream.

IMO it suits some people to keep abusing parents and children for asserting their rights to safety. Those people will soon get what they wish for and enjoy watching matches in the future..............alone.

Clubs that promote family enclosures and childrens membership schemes are clubs that have some hope of a future existence.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast