Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Pre Match Reception Saturday

i think that the tension in the stand would have been just as bad even if people werent drinking. it was absolutely disgraceful to make the gufc fans walk up past rovers fans if they wanted to go for a ****. when you have to walk past a crowd of people giving ya abuse its bad enough but when its sligo fans giving people abuse and they are 1 nil up now thats a different story. i could clearly hear the sligo fans abusing gufc fans that were walking past and yes some gufc fans abused them back (some reactions might have been a bit overboard). Sligo are definitely as much to blame for this as galway and yet they just squarely point the finger at us. the sligo fans who were abusing galway supporters and the sligo fans who ran down towards our fans should be ashamed of themselves. obviously so should our supporters who ran on the pitch and in turn abused sligo fans.

i still feel that if the fans were properly segregated none of this would have happened. i think what happened in sligo would happen in terryland as well if vocal sections of both fans were beside and opposition fans having to walk past the singing sections of home fans. the lay out and stewards of gufc goes a long way towards the troublefree games in terryland, now if only other clubs would follow suit
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

Well said, Ultra.

The arrangements for away supporters in the Showgrounds are very poor.
    The stand we were in could have been reserved completely for our supporters.

With proper segregation, toilet and food facilites, as provided in Terryland
    for away fans, it is likely that potential flashpoints could have been avoided.

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    Well said, Ultra.

I agree that the segregation could/should have been better but it would have been a waste to give ye the whole stand. Not enough Galway fans to warrent that. We should have done what was done for Bohs match, put a fence in centre of stand, including a buffer zone. Rovers fans down bottom section(entering through railway end) and Galway fans down other end(beginning of new stand).

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    Well said, Ultra.

someting should be done about the away fans and where they go. theres no real sergregation at all when you can just keep walking by the oppsition support, you usually will have someone shout at the person going by, causing a reaction and this could lead to something more serious. it happens almost every week in the showgrounds. theres been no fights full on fights yet, just people acting the muppet from both home and away fans, against longford there was yonug lads passing every 5 minutes and s**t went on with them and it was the same against UCD at home, and galway aswell.

i don't think the blue stand should be closed to home supporters, i just think something else can be done....we could let the away support go past the all weather pitch and around the back of the stand and in that way, it would stop them passing in front of us at least, the only trouble arises when away fans walk past the home support. its grand outside the ground generally and around the shop/chipper etc aswell.

there were a few muppets outside mooneys aswell, acting all hard. no need for it at all. threatening some galway lads. it all ruined what had started to be a good day between supporters, chatted away to many of them at the pub before the game.
    it was only really 3 or 4 away fans that done anything wrong, the rest were brilliant. and a couple of our own lads were actin the eejit aswell.

37 Posts
    I agree that the segregation could/should have been better but it would have been a waste to give ye the whole stand. Not enough Galway fans to warrent that. We should have done what was done for Bohs match, put a fence in centre of stand, including a buffer zone. Rovers fans down bottom section(entering through railway end) and Galway fans down other end(beginning of new stand).
    I couldn't think of a better place to put a buffer zone than Sligo.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

If the Sligo fans were occupying the railway end side it would have made much more sense.

Its a pity that a few small incidents have overshadowed the great work of both Trusts in promoting relationships between the two sets of supporters.

that would have been a perfect solution. if there was a toilet down our side and a fence in the middle then a lot of this would have been avoided. having opposition fans walking past each other in a derby game isnt a good idea and tensions were high enough as it was
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234