SLIGO ROVERS FOOTBALL CLUB

two points dropped, no doubt about. not enough effort shown at all. curran isnt a winger. ventre looks very good. why wasnt manson's name on the programme?

Galway deserved the point. Complete lack of effort for the most part. I thought Curran did well enough actually. I hope we turn this "form" around next week!

Scrappy game, but it could have went either way. If we'd gone on and got the second game over but it was clear if we didnt score they were always going to equalise.

Anyway, it's ok because we are the champions of Connacht! And we have a cup to prove it!

thought the midfield were fairly non existent. peers had a great game at the back as did coleman as per usual. it was clear galway posed an attacking threat but the rovers defense coughed up very few chances. sligoman can i just ask, why wasnt the fella who ran onto the pitch kicked out? he had already stood there for about 2 mins annoying the rovers fans.

Who scored the Galway goal? Rovers site says Murphy and Aertel says Glynn. 2 scrappy goals tonight either way
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    sligoman can i just ask, why wasnt the fella who ran onto the pitch kicked out? he had already stood there for about 2 mins annoying the rovers fans.
    No idea, twas not my decision or else he would have been gone, the guards obviously didn't think too much of it either as they saw him.

what happened after the galway goal? somebody said ogrady decked somebody, didnt see it myself but the galway players were clearly annoyed

No Commitment shown by the players at all last night. Disappionting really.
    O'Grady non-existant, Boyd i feel may come in and take his place for the next game.
    Ventre played well, he was solid and may turn out to be a good signing.
    Peers = A ROCK. Nothing got past him all night.
    Could hear Cousins giving his team talk after the game. He was so annoyed at their prefomance and was giving out about how they played. He mention Derek O'Brien and he said they gave him no support when he was on the ball or something of the like.b Although i would have loved to hear Cookie's. He would have given them a rolocking. 2 pionts droped.

Iv been going to the showgrounds a long time and never seen a more one sided first half.We should have been a least 2 up before half time.To much football in the final third of the pitch.O Gardy and hughes went missing in the second half thought the new left full was soild enough.Will get better with games.But all in all you would have to say 2 points dropped.

Quote Originally Posted by red metal View Post
    Iv been going to the showgrounds a long time and never seen a more one sided first half..

really. thought we slightly shaded it but they definitely started to come into it towards the end of the first half. very little in the way of clear cut chances

Foot.ie! one sided?

Quote Originally Posted by red metal View Post
    Iv been going to the showgrounds a long time and never seen a more one sided first half.We should have been a least 2 up before half time.(
    Don't know what game you were watching Metal? We were the better side, in the first half but but not by much.
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post
    Don't know what game you were watching Metal? We were the better side, in the first half but but not by much.

exactly what i was thinking myself

, why wasnt the fella who ran onto the pitch kicked out? he had already stood there for about 2 mins annoying the rovers fans.
    In England he would get a 3 year stadium ban for that

Lads in fairness, yes he should have been kicked out but some of our own fans don't help the situation either.

Was great to see Peers back made a big difference defense wise a huge influence on the team.Alot of fingers pointing at the midfield Gary Curran of the Pace particularily in second half.I think Judge will want get his head up a bit more holding on to the ball too long doesn't pass it enough.Can't figure out what Mc kenzie and Brush were doing in the lead up to the Galway goal.Was impressed with Ventre didnt see enough of Boyd to form an opinion.Faz seem very fustrate leaving the pitch.Again Coleman a class act,best I've seen in years!One thing do How was Charles not booked persistant fouling alnite.While on that subject Linesman on Jinks ave side very poor all game.

Overall a diappointing result but having said that the reactions of the fans and players said it all! We were disappointed ,they overjoyed with the result shows our expectations and theirs we've come a long way since the beginning of the season.Long may it continue!
    Till d End!

Quote Originally Posted by Shiba View Post
    Overall a diappointing result but having said that the reactions of the fans and players said it all! We were disappointed ,they overjoyed with the result shows our expectations and theirs we've come a long way since the beginning of the season.Long may it continue!

that was more to do with the fact that they got a late equaliser

Dispite not playing well, we should have been at least 2 up at half time. Although I don't think O'grady, Hughes, Faz or Judge played particuarly badly, I think they certainly were a little off what what they have been producing this season. In particular, Faz's and Judges's touch was poor.

Their goal came from an indecisive Brushie. He really should have come and collected that ball that McKensie was scream at him to do so.

Just like the waterford game this was 2 points well and truely dropped.

I agree that Charles should ahave been booked as early as the first half.

The best piece of play in the game was the brilliant free kick involving Foy, Judge and Faz. Only for a brilliant tackle this would have been another contender for goal of the month.

It may do but I'd like to think we'd have more to offer on the pitch they had.They have brought in a number of players since I seen them last at the beginning of the season they really havent improved much.where as our team has change since then and we are down to bear bones at the moment they never looked like beating us.
    Till d End!

what happened after the galway goal? somebody said ogrady decked somebody, didnt see it myself but the galway players were clearly annoyed
    He gave Alan Murphy a bit of a shove but Murphy's reaction may have been a little exaggerated.
    Regarding the game I thought we were cat almighty but ye weren't much better and a draw was a fair result. ****e match, best forgotten.

Spot on,fair play.
    Rovers celebrated like they won the Cup in Terryland when they scored late in Terryland.We haven't scored late all season so you can maybe understand why we were overjoyed at the final whistle.
    If it was in Tland and ye scored late it would have been the exact same.

Great trip,good laugh.Big enough Galway crowd and a hefty Sligo support to.
    Hope Ollie Davey enjoyed his reception aswell.Thug.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast