Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: GUFC v Cork City

75 Posts
    agree on Philip I thought he had a very good game but im afraid hes not Popular with some of our support so he will always get knocked even when he plays well.

Cork are easily the best team we have played this year and I wouldnt write them off as title contenders.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

not a regular in terryland but went last night.Good first half performance.centre halves were solid but wes went astray at left full.Rodgers distribution is shocking.You wouldnt see it in the lower levels of junior football.Robson looks like a prospect.Cork played best football and could keep the ball while also gettting players behind the ball when needed.also the programme was a disgrace. none of the new players named this is unacceptable bar the case of flatherty and while cork have squad numbers no where to mark who was playing and who was benched.

Snookerloopy, its difficult enough to be Club CPO never mind be editor of the match and on top of that haul over 3000 into Terryland. I must admit i didnt buy a programme last night but by and large the quality is quite good. I didnt have time to submit an article due to work committments and it would have undoubtedly featured a new player. I promise I'll have the new lads featured in the near future so keep on heading up the Dyke Rd.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

The new players were pictured, featured in a article, and listed under player sponsors. They were omitted from the players list.

snookerloopy, this is hardly "unacceptable". It is a small error which will be
    rectified for the next game.

Would you be interested in helping out with the programme yourself, snookerloopy ? An hour a fortnight would do the trick - I'm sure that there is
    something interesting topic you could write about.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    agree on Philip I thought he had a very good game but im afraid hes not Popular with some of our support so he will always get knocked even when he plays well.

Cork are easily the best team we have played this year and I wouldnt write them off as title contenders.
    Tommy he's not popular because he's been nothing short of abysmal for the majority of the season.End of.What did he do that you think he had a good game?
    Two things i remember were awful.Both in the last 5 minutes when we needed a goal.He walloped the free kick into the waterworks when we had 8 players in the box and he took a shot from 40 yards when we had 4 up front.
    His general passing,tackling and committment is poor.He's our 3rd choice left back-and it's obvious.He's a nice lad but he's not up to standard and i really do worry with him marking Cretaro on Saturday!Remember the first game against Sligo?He was dropped the following week.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Hey lads. Last night was my first trip to terryland and got a great welcome.

The 'Merry Fiddler' also gave us free food, the people were friendly, the crowd was good, good atmosphere and obviously happy with the result.

Ye have a good side and will only get stronger next year as benefits of full time kick in.

And new stand looks great btw

I agree with GUFCT also, Reilly played very well as CB, with himself and regi clearing 100% of the crosses that came in. He also closed down healy and kearney a couple of times when they were about to shoot, forcing them to mi**** the ball and sending it well out of play. Also, like Tir Oilean said, he even covered for Wes down the left when Wes hadnt the legs to get back.

Also, Reilly wasnt dropped after the sligo match. He actually damaged his knee (ligament damage if I remember correctly) in the first training season after the match after going in on a tackle with another player.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    I agree with GUFCT also, Reilly played very well as CB, with himself and regi clearing 100% of the crosses that came in. He also closed down healy and kearney a couple of times when they were about to shoot, forcing them to mi**** the ball and sending it well out of play. Also, like Tir Oilean said, he even covered for Wes down the left when Wes hadnt the legs to get back.

Also, Reilly wasnt dropped after the sligo match. He actually damaged his knee (ligament damage if I remember correctly) in the first training season after the match after going in on a tackle with another player.
    He was on the bench in Cork though AFAIK?
    Regardless he hasn't played well in most games this season,including last night IMO.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

good entertaining game well worth the €15. pity we didn't get a result but we will against lesser teams than Cork. I thought we'd be lucky to get 1000 for a mid week game maybe theres more attractions on Friday night and people are more inclined to take in a game midweek especially during school holidays. I hope for a better result in Sligo but can't fault the team for effort.

lads reilly didnt play well at center back nor has he ever played well at left-back!.

he had to cover for wes??.... wes was covering for him as reilly wasnt even trusted with kearney. he made 2/3 headers and that was it from my recollection!.

lets just look at the facts... we conceded 2 goals and lost... if we didnt concede then maybe ya could get away with saying he played well!.

in a previous post it was stated that 3 players are constantly slated.... 2 of those(moran and reilly) are of under-11 standard and rightly so.... although i agree the slating of lester is a bit OTT!

GUFCT you told me on the other forum a while back to stop defending dimitri well ill say the same to you about reilly.

dimitri only played 2 games(reilly has a lot more then that under his belt)... the two goals in the sligo game caused by reillys inability to deal with his side!.

all said though the players are(as far as we know) trying there best but there not the one sending themselves out onto the pitch this is down to the management!
    Last edited by gilberto_eire; 11/07/2007 at 10:01 PM.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Kearney was outsatanding for City but let himself down with his childish gestures towards the fans in section A after full time.

Reilly had his best game ever for GUFC but Rogers' kick outs were poor. Maybe he's used to a Gale force winds and was distracted by the calmness.
    I think I should step in here as it was I who first mentioned Reilly. I said he had his best game for GUFC, I didn't say he was Man of the Match. He has been pretty poor up to now and a change of position did him a world of good. He made a few boo boos but he was playing against the best team to come to Terryland this season.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

I agree with Paddyfield. Yes Conor H he did fong a free and he did play some woeful balls. But in fairness you have to admit it was his best performance yet. We would not have expected to be so close to a draw against Cork (would have been udeserved) who are my tip to win the League. They are the best team I've seen play yet. Reilly wasnt at fault for either goal AFAIK. Yes Wes had to go on the left to take Kearney cos REilly wouldve been fleeced but I think were all forgetting he is a central midfielder/defender. Whats with Tracey wasnt he a left midfielder that TC had plans for left back? I know he wasnt great the few games he played alright.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

I realy enjoyed my trip to Galway, new stand looks great...Fair play to Fiddlers for the free food and we headed to foxs after were double vodka and red bull was only 5 euro .Enough about pubs as for the game I realy enjoyed the second half I felt Kearney played well for us and I thought kelly made a few slip ups.....1-2 fair result...

You'll be seeing me again on the 20th.

37 Posts
    Here is a brief clip from the game

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=DqOJ97jbVoM

Nobody knows us, we don't care

Quote Originally Posted by Angelic Upstart View Post
    You'll be seeing me again on the 20th.

you've caught the bug and theres no going back now, welcome to the club !!!!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123