Thread: GUFC v Cork City

Just to say, after almost two years living in Galway, this will be my first ever attendence at Terryland. I'm well looking forward to it.

fao angelic upstart.

i hope you enjoy the game tomorrow,just dont be expecting champions league standard football that most ppl when they come for the first time expect.enjoy it though,because you never forget your first time.
    at the rovers game a few weeks ago you could sense the nervousness in the crowd in the last few mins,nobody felt like singing and celebrating for obvious reasons.those nerves can then go onto the pitch and affect the players.we just so badly need one home win to take some of that away.

I just want to see an entertaining match, and I'm anticipating a good'un.

Welcome to Foot Angelic Upstart! Hopefully you'll catch the bug and make the games from now on. I'm even considering travelling from Cork for the game tonight thats how much the bug can catch you!!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

seems like keane wont be starting

http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/match-p...cork-city.html
    more water!

I think Gamble is injured for us so only 2 Ireland senior Internationals in midfield tonight.

Some fans might be a bit over the top on the qualities of Healy but watch out for him as he will prove to be very good addition to the league. Not sure how ling he will stay but enjoy him while you can...

2-1 Cork United lead 1-0 at half time through a Derek O'Brien header. Roy o Donovan got two second half Goals for Cork. The first was gifted to them by a terrible mix up between collie james and regi. Fagan and Robson both started in midfield and looked really good Vinny Faherty came on towards the end and was lively enough. Tom the Gom was one of about 3000 attendees.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

37 Posts
    Kearney was outsatanding for City but let himself down with his childish gestures towards the fans in section A after full time.

Reilly had his best game ever for GUFC but Rogers' kick outs were poor. Maybe he's used to a Gale force winds and was distracted by the calmness.
    Last edited by Paddyfield; 11/07/2007 at 5:14 AM.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Left Terryland at 10.30 and Tom the gom was still there! Not what we were really looking for tonight. Shocking mix up between C.J. and Reggie. Still there were a lot of positives. Robson, Fagan fitted in well. Murphs workes his b....x off and Derek took his goal well. He got in some really good crosses tonite. Forever the optomist, thats me!!!! Bring on the SHLIGO!

Well again we are taking about the if buts and maybe's but the bottom line Cork were far the better team and deserved all 3 points , now if only we could have taken more than one chance in the first half oh how different it could have been .

Barry put in his best effort so far this season and bar testing the keeper with a great effort in the first half he still wasnt up for it. I got the feeling he knows the game is up with the arrival of Mensah. Why the **** does red tape constantly screw up players chances of playing? Mensah was clearly dejected sitting in front of the clubhouse last night. Glynn had 2 0r 3 chances but he was well out powered by the physical defence. Robson was a bit nervy I felt but still performed reasonably well. Another disappointment and in front of our largest crowd of the season according to the PA of 3072, why does it always happen!?!

75 Posts
    I know ill probably get slated for this but our support was brilliant when we were winning but the minute Cork equalised even the fans gave up with the drums going silent. I said yesterday we needed the team and supporters to be up for it. We are going to go through periods where things dont go our way and its then the team needs the supporters we have it at all the away games this year but at home the nervousness from the crowd seems to seep into the Team.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

777 Posts
    Throughly enjoyed the game last night lads - ye have a fine set-up there now, keep it going.

Thanks as well to the lads and lassies in Foxes pub b4 the game for the chips, sausages - and directions!

I agree with Claret. Cork deserved the 3 points no question.

We didn't do enough in the second half, and needed to build on the first goal when we were on top.

The lads worked hard, but the mistake for the equaliser was very very amateur.

Kearney is a pup but he was class for me and Kelly and Murray had a very easy time of it despite an excellent supply from Derek O'Brien especially in the second half.

Brilliant support. A huge contingent from Claremorris, and a very good atmosphere generally. All connections deserve great credit for putting bums on seats with their various initiatives, but the CPO has been particularly successful in this regard IMO.

Galway Harps comments about the midweek being more attractive in the summer rings true for me. There were quite a few tourists coming through the turnstiles last night.

Maybe it took a visit from Tom Symonds to finally give the blessing to our "promotion", and things will pick up on the field from here?

Paul Cook, Gerry Carr (?) and Raf Cretaro came on a spying mission. They were in great form and well up for a bit of craic. Rightly or wrongly I've written off the Showgrounds already. Bray and Wateford at home and the trip to College is when our "little league" will be decided.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Kearney was outsatanding for City but let himself down with his childish gestures towards the fans in section A after full time.

Reilly had his best game ever for GUFC but Rogers' kick outs were poor. Maybe he's used to a Gale force winds and was distracted by the calmness.
    you mustnt know much about been a center-back...a good center back isnt supposed to be onymous as you can see with reggie flying left,right and center with tacles/headers!!....he got his head to one or two crosses but that was it.
    Last edited by gilberto_eire; 11/07/2007 at 2:38 PM.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    I know ill probably get slated for this but our support was brilliant when we were winning but the minute Cork equalised even the fans gave up with the drums going silent. I said yesterday we needed the team and supporters to be up for it. We are going to go through periods where things dont go our way and its then the team needs the supporters we have it at all the away games this year but at home the nervousness from the crowd seems to seep into the Team.
    The crowd are very quick to come down on players also. There is not a player in the world who doesn't mis control the ball or put passes astray in every single game. Last night you could hear the groan & swearing any time this happened. Players can hear it also and it makes them more nervous imo.

Was not at the game last night but surprise ye down near the foot of the table. I think it might take the 2nd half of the season before the advantages of fulltime training kick in. A couple of home wins should see ye ahead of Waterford & Bray.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Demoshield View Post
    The crowd are very quick to come down on players also. There is not a player in the world who doesn't mis control the ball or put passes astray in every single game. Last night you could hear the groan & swearing any time this happened. Players can hear it also and it makes them more nervous imo.

This is the case with 3 players especially who are the butt of the majoriy of the criticism not always justified while other players can make bigger gaffes and get away with it.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

I agree GUFCT the mood on the terrace was fairly doom and gloom once the goal went in, but its a natural instinct its part of the ups and downs of watching your team play. There isnt a sport in the world where it doesnt happen.

Everybody that I talked to at the match agreed that Reilly had his best game for Utd. Ad he actually came out left on a few occasions to clear the ball. I'm not saying he's much improved he would need consistency for that but certainly his best performance.