Thread: UCD 0-1 Drogheda

i was at the game, wasnt too bad of a game either. imo drogs did enough to deserve the win, they controlled the game for large parts, ucd were very organised, 2 rows of 4 which at times fustrated drogs. stupid sending off - kicking the ball when already booked is just stupid!!! didnt see the throw-in incident but when ucd's player was injured and gregg kicked the ball out, dan connor started shouting not to give it back which they didnt was very dissapointing imo and not needed, would he be happy if ucd did that to them??? also i think garto cud hav got a straight red for his blatant elbow to ucd forward, and he had the cheek to pretend it was a clash of heads - scum should have walked.

fair play to drogs fans, queit load when ya got going pity it was only every 30 mins or so... i'd say there was about 500 drogs fans, 150 ucd fans (including officals and u21 players) and about 100 neutrals... shocking support for ucd.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    He went off then didn't he?
    Rubbish! Gregg tried to time waste by abusing common courtesy.
    I for one was delighted when the ball wasnt given back

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by dublinwanderer View Post
    fair play to drogs fans, queit load when ya got going pity it was only every 30 mins or so... i'd say there was about 500 drogs fans, 150 ucd fans (including officals and u21 players) and about 100 neutrals... shocking support for ucd.
    Nowhere near 500 Drogs. Nice to know to can pick out our club officials and judge neutrals...

Quote Originally Posted by Dyl10 View Post
    Rubbish! Gregg tried to time waste by abusing common courtesy.
    I for one was delighted when the ball wasnt given back
    He wasn't wasting time (in this incident), he booted the ball out so that Finn could come off. Finn wasn't hurt, just tired, so I don't think the Drogs were wrong to keep the ball.

Quote Originally Posted by dublinwanderer View Post
    i was at the game, wasnt too bad of a game either. imo drogs did enough to deserve the win, they controlled the game for large parts, ucd were very organised, 2 rows of 4 which at times fustrated drogs. stupid sending off - kicking the ball when already booked is just stupid!!! didnt see the throw-in incident but when ucd's player was injured and gregg kicked the ball out, dan connor started shouting not to give it back which they didnt was very dissapointing imo and not needed, would he be happy if ucd did that to them??? also i think garto cud hav got a straight red for his blatant elbow to ucd forward, and he had the cheek to pretend it was a clash of heads - scum should have walked.

fair play to drogs fans, queit load when ya got going pity it was only every 30 mins or so... i'd say there was about 500 drogs fans, 150 ucd fans (including officals and u21 players) and about 100 neutrals....

fair synopsis. theres no doubt in my mind that gartand should have walked.led with his elbow,he was out to do damage. ref had no bottle.

Quote Originally Posted by mcglinchey View Post
    fair synopsis. theres no doubt in my mind that gartand should have walked.led with his elbow,he was out to do damage. ref had no bottle.
    No wonder Pete Mahon was incensed then, but he only mentioned the throw-in on TV3.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    No wonder Pete Mahon was incensed then, but he only mentioned the throw-in on TV3.
    Well your number 11 (I think) who was already booked stayed on the pitch even after he almost cut Gartland in two with about 20 minutes to go. Should have been a straight red never mind a second yellow.
    What about the corner the linesman gave that McKeon overruled?
    What about Gregg's timewasting that got him no yellow.
    What about Keddy's goal that was given offside.

Wasn't all one way lads, far from it
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student View Post
    Finn wasn't hurt, just tired, so I don't think the Drogs were wrong to keep the ball.

Oh ffs, I think I've heard it all now. Hope ye dont have to kick the ball out every time a player gets 'tired'
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post

Oh ffs, I think I've heard it all now. Hope ye dont have to kick the ball out every time a player gets 'tired'
    Perhaps you could read the post you quoted?

3,489 Posts
    Ffs stu, how can ye not say we deserved the 3 points?

Seriously I'd usually say if we didnt deserve anything, jus ta draw,etc etc but I genuinely thought we were worthy winners lastnight (though there wasnt much in it)
    Thing is, I'm well used to seeing teams having a fair bit of possession against us, but I'm also well used to seeing our defence perform superbly, like they did on Friday again. So just because you have more of the ball against us doesn't mean yez deserve the three points. Drogs really only troubled Matt Gregg twice - hitting the post and the goal, and even those only in the last ten minutes. Anything else was typically weak and straight at him in the end.

Conan left four hours before kick off, incidentally, for a ten mile journey.

I assume Finn had cramp, seeing as he's been out for the past few weeks and was substituted immediately.

Dublinwanderer's analysis of the crowd is one of the funniest things I've read in a long time.

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    What about the corner the linesman gave that McKeon overruled?

What about Keddy's goal that was given offside.
    Whatever about the rest, there's little point in complaining about correct decisions.

Hope ye dont have to kick the ball out every time a player gets 'tired'
    He kicked the ball out to allow a substitution to take place.

Dublinwanderer's analysis of the crowd is one of the funniest things I've read in a long time.
    Did you not read this or do you call 2 weeks a long time?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    Well your number 11 (I think) who was already booked stayed on the pitch even after he almost cut Gartland in two with about 20 minutes to go. Should have been a straight red never mind a second yellow.
    He was booked for it.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Perhaps you could read the post you quoted?

It would help alright, sorry abuot that
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS