Thread: Athlone looking for new manager

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    who else wins things by spending big except fenlon!
    No one said anything about winning things

May I suggest Roderick Collins

84 Posts
    Lim go and wash your mouth out.

A decision like that would nearly have me supporting Longford

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

37 Posts
    May I suggest Roderick Collins
    I'd love to Roddy back in management... so long as it is not as boss at Galway United. He's one of these characters that people love to hate.

I just like a good laugh.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    I'd love to Roddy back in management... so long as it is not as boss at Galway United. He's one of these characters that people love to hate.
    Precisely

I think everyone would love the guy back in the dugout - As long as it's the opposition one

Go On Athlone, for the craic, this seasons a write off anyway

to be fair, Athlone fans have been giving out about O'Connor for a while.

There seems to be an awful atmosphere there with the Cootes boys being banned. The good vibes on the back of the stadium havent lasted very long.

o connor was the guy that told moran he was over the hill, and went and paid over the odds for players who he cant get to perform. moran is a true gentleman and should never have been kicked out of athlone. he would make a good manager imo

Sorry to see ATFC sacking another manager. Mickey was manager of us in the college in 1991. Great laugh. The George Best of the Town. Pity he wasn't up to the job second time around but the club seem to go through managers at a shocking rate. Haven't a clue who should get the job but hope it works out.

What is Rod de Kors doing for a few bob these days?
    "oh my, that was some beer we had last night, I think I feel like getting sick" Effin Eddie

84 Posts
    What is Rod de Kors doing for a few bob these days?
    Not sure but he was down in Athlone for the first match in the new ground and still loves the Town. Still a great man for the beer as well and we also introduced Magicme to him along with other greats like Barry Murphy, Val Keenan and Frank Darby

137 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Lim go and wash your mouth out.

A decision like that would nearly have me supporting Longford
    Wash your mouth out!! Looks like they need every cent they can get though, was over there the other night and they seemed to have pawned off their electronic subs board!
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    Wash your mouth out!! Looks like they need every cent they can get though, was over there the other night and they seemed to have pawned off their electronic subs board!

Notice the word nearly atfconline. Nothing would make me stoop that low

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Dont know our actual budget but it would be on par or even greater than Harps and Dundalk. The money is there though we arent spending more than we have.

No committee discussion on who we they are going to approach for the job yet but there are a few names doing the rounds as usual
    I dont believe for a minute your budget is on par with Dundalk.Look at the names in their squad.These lads are all ex-premier players and would not leave that for a big wage cut.

Unfortunately cant give you a heads up on my sneaking feeling as my source would probably cut my head off but needless to say some people on here may not be happy with it and they will want to spend money.

It a fair point made by Kdjac however.Where is the loyalty to managers gone?A bad spell nowadays and their job is realistically on the line.Its a sad reflection on boards and fans in this country.But my point remains on the number of managers Athlone have had in the last 10 years.More than most I would think (Bohs included).This is a reflection on the board of ATFC and no one else.They appoint and fire and they are clearly getting it wrong time and again!!
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

'' We are the brothers Malone, we come from the town of Athlone, and to all the ladies we show our shillelaghs.....'' anyone know the rest? A fellow student from Athlone taught me those two lines....

I remember when Athlone played in Europe every 2-3 seasons or so I even remember them when winning two League titles. Larry Be Wyse and Turly is Magic... you have the basis of a wonderful new stadium it's already a vast improvement on the one where those words were graffitied .
    If you can add another stand to the present one by the end of the year regardless of what happens on the field, this season won't have been a disaster. Getting the fundamentals right off the field is more important than ever in this day and age.

As regards a manager there's a few out of work ones at present. But the ante has been raised by licencing and if they don't have the pro licence there could be problems playing at a higher level when you eventually do get promoted.

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post

As regards a manager there's a few out of work ones at present. But the ante has been raised by licencing and if they don't have the pro licence there could be problems playing at a higher level when you eventually do get promoted.

Don't think that comes into effect until 2010. As long as you have UEFA B at the moment you can manage so they would have two years to complete the A and the Pro licence

30 Posts
    Tom Symmonds reckons he can convince a certain person to take the job