Thread: Oxegen Weather...

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts

Oxegen Weather...

Thursday night will be breezy, with rain giving way to clear spells and scattered showers. Friday will be breezy with sunny spells and further showers, some heavy. Saturday will be less breezy, and less showery with good sunny spells. Rain will spread in from the Atlantic later in the day. More rain or showers on Sunday, though some bright or sunny spells are also likely.

friend of mine sent me this forecast for the oxegen weekend...think wellies and riangear are in order!!!!!
    anyone else going??
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

Yeah I've heard loads of mixed weather forecasts tho. I'm not believing any of them. Not gonna bother with the wellies - just old runners. Must find a poncho somewhere tho.
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Screw the wellies bring a little boat , IM so looking foward to not going to oxegen this year . when i wake up in my warm dry bed on sunday morning

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shannonman View Post
    Thursday night will be breezy, with rain giving way to clear spells and scattered showers. Friday will be breezy with sunny spells and further showers, some heavy. Saturday will be less breezy, and less showery with good sunny spells. Rain will spread in from the Atlantic later in the day. More rain or showers on Sunday, though some bright or sunny spells are also likely.

friend of mine sent me this forecast for the oxegen weekend...think wellies and riangear are in order!!!!!
    anyone else going??
    Don't forget your canoe
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    Screw the wellies bring a little boat , IM so looking foward to not going to oxegen this year . when i wake up in my warm dry bed on sunday morning
    did i mention im staying in a hotel this year...rock and roll!!!!!!
    well at least i have a hot shower and a residents bar!!

what a crap summer this is!!.... i rememeber ONE sunny day all june that was the sunday of the bank holiday weekend, and we had a week in april!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

it should be good, i was running around all day looking for wellis and eventually got a pair

hope ye all get very, very wet and have a bad time

59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    hope ye all get very, very wet and have a bad time
    ah jeez thanks..thats swell!!!
    iim sure we will get wet but feck it at least we'll have good music to get wet too!!!

84 Posts
    iim sure we will get wet but feck it at least we'll have good music to get wet too!!!
    Yeah!, and don't forget the lovely half cooked over priced food + warm drink, ever so pleasent security staff, and the ever so enjoyable drunken scumbags running about the place starting fights and set fire to tents.

Ohh how I miss Oxegen
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Neish View Post
    Yeah!, and don't forget the lovely half cooked over priced food + warm drink, ever so pleasent security staff, and the ever so enjoyable drunken scumbags running about the place starting fights and set fire to tents.
    Ohh how I miss Oxegen
    and there in lies the reason im staying in a hotel this year!!!

weathers grand down here so no need for wellies yet, hope they all get flooded out of it up there, specially the Muse, dont like them
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

2.30 pm Update from Kildare. Its absolutely bucketing down here. The real heavy ****ty rain too. Enjoy.

ah jeez thanks..thats swell!!!
    Its exactly the same lineup as the past 2 or 3 years isn't it?

Quote Originally Posted by Neish View Post
    the ever so enjoyable drunken scumbags running about the place starting fights and set fire to tents.
    Quiet you fool, MCD have already explained how none of that happened, how it was all a figment of people's over-excited imagination, stemming from being at the greatest show on earth (or at least on that weekend in Kildare), and how the complaints made to the Gardai were all thrown out based on MCD's counter argument of 'No-huh, that didn't happen'.

They got fairly lucky on Saturday and early Sunday...but Sunday afternoon/evening were foul...

59 Posts
    well it was a veritable mud-fest!!
    by sunday it was a stagnant large lake of mud.
    trying to get from tent ot tent to see gigs was like running a gauntlet of mentalers throwing themselves in the mud and trying to drag everyone in with them.

but the music was good....interpol, muse, brian wilson, bright eyes where all highlights.
    was dissapointed with arcade fire though, but the sound dudn't help

Yeah the main downpoint was the relentless trudging, and effort that you had to make everytime you wanted to go anywhere.

I thought Arcade Fire was best and Daft Punk were unreal ending to Sunday. Interpol were very good without being spectacular. Also caught Ocean Colour Scene, the Klaxons, Muse, Bloc Party, which were all quality.
    <insert witty remark>

Mud+drink= a lot of fun!!

I would have been lost without wellies. The weather was better than i expected it to be i came home slightly burned. I met two shels players Chambers and Cregan. can anybody confirm that they play for shels?

No wellies for me (didn't realise they were selling them down there until sunday evening!) and getting back to the tent was a chore. Managed to do it without losing my runners which was impressive although said runners are still down there, along with my tent!

Music was quality, loved Arcade Fire. Made a trip to the medical tent after the music was finished on sunday to get an inhaler and there were loads of people covered in mud shivering in front of heaters with foil blankets wrapped around them!!