Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Rovers support the GAA

21 Posts
    The GAA is top dog in the county by a long shot and will want to keep it that way. Having the Connaught Champions in the Showgrounds would up the attendance. Do you really think they want that to happen? They have never shown Rovers any goodwill in an official capacity. Actually it wouldnt surpise me if they organised a victory parade around the town at the same time as the Galway match.

Quote Originally Posted by Midgit View Post
    YES!!!!!!!!!!!! they won it!!!! Brilliant........ suck on it Sligoman ye miserable little fecker
    And the bandwagon rolls on...

They've now won 2 games(NY doesn't count) and they're the best ever team Bring on the All-Ireland, see how far they get!

They have won a trophy!and made alot of People happy.If rovers win the cup be 3/4 games I think and if beat a non league side on the way will that count
    Till d End!

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    The GAA is top dog in the county by a long shot and will want to keep it that way. Having the Connaught Champions in the Showgrounds would up the attendance. Do you really think they want that to happen? They have never shown Rovers any goodwill in an official capacity. Actually it wouldnt surpise me if they organised a victory parade around the town at the same time as the Galway match.
    Very cinacle! I'm not a great supporter of the Gaa been only ever been at Sligo game once in my life but I don't think the relationship between Rovers and Sligo Gaa is that bad.Our attendance been down is not the Gaa's fault,it was the FAi(loi) who encroached into their playing season by introducing summer soccer.

Have they any ill will towards Rovers? I don't remember any!
    Till d End!

Fair play - and nice to see Mickey Mac getting the crucial score.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

class craic there today, was in the middle of the rovers lads....fare play to them for going up, the craic was mighty

Thumbs down Brewer

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    the next bandwagon for you to jump on......
    WTF??????????????????????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????

I've supported Sligo GAA since i can remember (been to every[Championship] game over the past seven years). And brewer if you are saying this because i didn't go??............ i bought a ticket with every intention of going but unfortunatly my grandmother fell ill this morning in my house and was rushed to hospital.
    I support GAA through and through and play for my county club with pride. I can't see where you got the impression i jumped on the bandwagon brewer??? So for in future Brewer don't comment where your opinion is not welcome or in fact don't comment on a subject you don't have a f**kn clue about).

Ya and Sligoman i can understand how you said the same thing that i joined the bandwagon when you clearly read what Brewer said and just copied him.(the post was for the laugh only trying to rise ye[and did])

Quote Originally Posted by Midgit View Post
    the post was for the laugh only trying to rise ye[and did])
    So you're admitting to being a WUM then?

Formerly: wild rover
    Hate the GAA myself but even i was cheering them on yesterday at the end...great for sligo, hope they go further now.

Quote Originally Posted by Rory H View Post
    There is an article on the front page of the weekender stating several Sligo Rovers players and manager Paul Cook will be attending the final of the GAA this week as a show of support for the efforts . Cook says that when any team from Sligo is in a big event its great for the whole town etc and that he is looking forward to watching his first GAA match and will learn the rules before the game.

Nice to see i suppose....
    Any word of what he made of it? Heard one comment he was meant to have made to the players "something about Sligo team been amatuer" not meant to degrade gaa team but as motivation to the Rovers team as reagrds what can be acheived with heart & determination.
    Till d End!

The only time I have ever been in Markiewicz Park was to compete in the community games final at a teenager. I doubt I am the only person from town who is the same - I have no hostility towards the GAA and was happy they won the title it I just couldnt really a toss about it or them.

It is possibly that that attitude stems from that post colonial/garrison town mentality that is still in existance in Sligo Town or and I could just be a totally paranoid clown (dont all agree at once) but I never felt welcome at any GAA club nor did I ever get the impression that they ever wanted young fellas from the various estates around the town to be at "their club" and were happy with the sons of coppers, shopkeepers and teachers etc.

Maybe I am paranoid but what percentage of the population of County Sligo is from the town and what percentage of the team/dquad was from the town

Quote Originally Posted by sligobhoy67 View Post
    The only time I have ever been in Markiewicz Park was to compete in the community games final at a teenager. I doubt I am the only person from town who is the same - I have no hostility towards the GAA and was happy they won the title it I just couldnt really a toss about it or them.

It is possibly that that attitude stems from that post colonial/garrison town mentality that is still in existance in Sligo Town or and I could just be a totally paranoid clown (dont all agree at once) but I never felt welcome at any GAA club nor did I ever get the impression that they ever wanted young fellas from the various estates around the town to be at "their club" and were happy with the sons of coppers, shopkeepers and teachers etc.

Maybe I am paranoid but what percentage of the population of County Sligo is from the town and what percentage of the team/dquad was from the town
    well it's evident that most of the town wasn't that bothered about it, when the team arrived back in Sligo...a small crowd there to greet them compared to Tubber and Charlestown...

Not too many townies were on the team:
    St Johns:Michael McNamara,Fizzy Greene, Charlie Harrison
    St. Mary's:Mark Brehony...

that's all i can think of anyway, but i'm sure there's more...

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    well it's evident that most of the town wasn't that bothered about it, when the team arrived back in Sligo...a small crowd there to greet them compared to Tubber and Charlestown...

Not too many townies were on the team:
    St Johns:Michael McNamara,Fizzy Greene, Charlie Harrison
    St. Mary's:Mark Brehony...

that's all i can think of anyway, but i'm sure there's more...
    johnny davey, johnny martin, fegus horan,

so thats 7/32 anyway
    towns population as proportion of county is 18,000/55,000 so not too bad percentage wise

out of 30, not 32....so probably a bit better even

and i dont think we can really say much about that either, how many rovers players are from the town/surrounding area!? ogrady, mccartney, gino.....

Yes but the won the connacht championship for the first time since 1975, how can you begrudge them of that. And yes to bring on the All Ireland we are only 3 games away from winning it and anything can happen on any given day, thats the magic of the GAA

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    and i dont think we can really say much about that either, how many rovers players are from the town/surrounding area!? ogrady, mccartney, gino.....
    slightly different circumstances feo...

Pg 4-5 in the weekender

On page 4 in the weekender that Cooke (or maybe its toolan) has invited the Connaught cup to the showgrounds on Saterday night. Interesting article actualy, Cooke's views on the GAA.
    What do ye think of that?

I would welcome it.

I'm sick of it.. they win 2 games and now they're the greatest thing ever. the worst is the bandwagon jumpers, the "I've
    been going to every championship match since I was 3" brigade..

The bonfires on the news were embarrassing, that report made us look like slap-jawed yokels who'd never even won a raffle in our lives..yeah it's good but they won 2 games!
    The over-reacting by 70 percent of Sligo is cringe-worthy... in the big picture of the all-ireland, we've been at this stage before.

How many pages of the weekender were dedicated to the win? It's a Championship among 5/7 teams, talk about mickey bloody mouse.

Plus, the way people of my age used it as an excuse to drink themselves stupid afterwards is truly embarrassing. Going to a match an seeing it as an opportunity to get bladdered..Grow up ffs
    Last edited by SligoBrewer; 10/07/2007 at 10:42 PM.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast