The GAA is top dog in the county by a long shot and will want to keep it that way. Having the Connaught Champions in the Showgrounds would up the attendance. Do you really think they want that to happen? They have never shown Rovers any goodwill in an official capacity. Actually it wouldnt surpise me if they organised a victory parade around the town at the same time as the Galway match.
Very cinacle! I'm not a great supporter of the Gaa been only ever been at Sligo game once in my life but I don't think the relationship between Rovers and Sligo Gaa is that bad.Our attendance been down is not the Gaa's fault,it was the FAi(loi) who encroached into their playing season by introducing summer soccer.
Have they any ill will towards Rovers? I don't remember any!
Till d End!
Fair play - and nice to see Mickey Mac getting the crucial score.
"Even if the wind stops to blow
Even if the sea ceases to flow
Even if the sun ceases to rise
The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."
class craic there today, was in the middle of the rovers lads....fare play to them for going up, the craic was mighty![]()
WTF??????????????????????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????
I've supported Sligo GAA since i can remember (been to every[Championship] game over the past seven years). And brewer if you are saying this because i didn't go??............ i bought a ticket with every intention of going but unfortunatly my grandmother fell ill this morning in my house and was rushed to hospital.
I support GAA through and through and play for my county club with pride. I can't see where you got the impression i jumped on the bandwagon brewer??? So for in future Brewer don't comment where your opinion is not welcome or in fact don't comment on a subject you don't have a f**kn clue about).
Ya and Sligoman i can understand how you said the same thing that i joined the bandwagon when you clearly read what Brewer said and just copied him.(the post was for the laugh only trying to rise ye[and did])![]()
Hate the GAA myself but even i was cheering them on yesterday at the end...great for sligo, hope they go further now.
The only time I have ever been in Markiewicz Park was to compete in the community games final at a teenager. I doubt I am the only person from town who is the same - I have no hostility towards the GAA and was happy they won the title it I just couldnt really a toss about it or them.
It is possibly that that attitude stems from that post colonial/garrison town mentality that is still in existance in Sligo Town or and I could just be a totally paranoid clown (dont all agree at once) but I never felt welcome at any GAA club nor did I ever get the impression that they ever wanted young fellas from the various estates around the town to be at "their club" and were happy with the sons of coppers, shopkeepers and teachers etc.
Maybe I am paranoid but what percentage of the population of County Sligo is from the town and what percentage of the team/dquad was from the town
well it's evident that most of the town wasn't that bothered about it, when the team arrived back in Sligo...a small crowd there to greet them compared to Tubber and Charlestown...
Not too many townies were on the team:
St Johns:Michael McNamara,Fizzy Greene, Charlie Harrison
St. Mary's:Mark Brehony...
that's all i can think of anyway, but i'm sure there's more...
so thats 7/32 anyway
towns population as proportion of county is 18,000/55,000 so not too bad percentage wise
out of 30, not 32....so probably a bit better even
and i dont think we can really say much about that either, how many rovers players are from the town/surrounding area!? ogrady, mccartney, gino.....
On page 4 in the weekender that Cooke (or maybe its toolan) has invited the Connaught cup to the showgrounds on Saterday night. Interesting article actualy, Cooke's views on the GAA.
What do ye think of that?
I would welcome it.
I'm sick of it.. they win 2 games and now they're the greatest thing ever. the worst is the bandwagon jumpers, the "I've
been going to every championship match since I was 3"brigade..
The bonfires on the news were embarrassing, that report made us look like slap-jawed yokels who'd never even won a raffle in our lives..yeah it's good but they won 2 games!
The over-reacting by 70 percent of Sligo is cringe-worthy... in the big picture of the all-ireland, we've been at this stage before.
How many pages of the weekender were dedicated to the win? It's a Championship among 5/7 teams, talk about mickey bloody mouse.
Plus, the way people of my age used it as an excuse to drink themselves stupid afterwards is truly embarrassing. Going to a match an seeing it as an opportunity to get bladdered..Grow up ffs![]()
Last edited by SligoBrewer; 10/07/2007 at 10:42 PM.