Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Rovers support the GAA

Formerly: wild rover
    Couldnt care less what they do. I have similar opinion to sligoman and da real rover in regards to GAA. I know Cook is trying to get more fans into the showgrounds and i suppose its a good thing but GAA fans are very similar to a small section of fans that sit in our main stand , ie quick to criticize and pick on players when they don't have a clue. That's a different story though, this story below is just for the fun of it

The Dominant H must be ignored

At work i face a constant stream of GAA conversation , the like of " The big game this week, are ya heading up" . The minature black and white flag attached to the farmers jeep, the straw hat in the back seat and the vocal chords ready to unleash the dominant "H". The dominant "H" being the the unmistakable added letter to the name of our town. "Shligo". "Come on Shligo" the man will roar, his support is likened to the waterproof factor of his wellington boots. That's right sir, its 100%. I mention I will be venturing North this weekend in support of Sligo Rovers but I am quickly dismissed as a supporter of a foreign game. The temptation to counter his accusation with what he does is resisted and I wish the man well. Ignore the GAA , it is the only way

I must say i agree - i hope the sligo GAA team win - but i have no interest whatsoever. I met a man from curry a while ago and he asked me about football and i stated my fondness for the bitored and he stated very seriously "Sure why woiuldnt you, you are all protestants in the town anyway!" - i shrugged my shoulders and pitied his ignorance.

And away we go again on this nonsensical idea that anyone who lives beyond Maugheraboy or Cartron is an exclusively GAA-supporting troglodyte who spends all day worrying about the price of potatoes.

I remember years ago Rovers players Dwayne Shanley ann Robbie Keegan being mystified by a conversation in the Stables about "buffs". The two Dubs had a hard time figuring out what it was all about. Finally, Shanley said, in complete innocence: "But I thought ye were all culchies, together like - I didn't realise there was different levels."

It fits in nicely with the young lads you get in the Showgrounds calling away fans from the likes of Cork, Limerick and Waterford cities sheep-shaggers or rednecks.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post

It fits in nicely with the young lads you get in the Showgrounds calling away fans from the likes of Cork, Limerick and Waterford cities sheep-shaggers or rednecks.
    *cough*Galway about Sligo*cough*

What I was referring to was lads talking about "rednecks" from far bigger population centres, which would include - believe it or not - Galway.
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by Rocketfingers View Post
    Now that is absolutely the most pathetic thread i have seen on any website ever. If ever narrow-mindessness is listed in a dictionary i think Da real Rovers post should be the definition that is given.
    Yes coming from the man that doesnt even bother to back up his sweeping statements with any sort of justification. I gave my opinion and gave a statement that i feel was true. If you dont like my opinion or dont agree with it, deal with it. And if you cant do that, crawl into a hole and die. Now to give your response 'Narrow minded' or 'sad'?? expand your vocabulary.

I remember years ago Rovers players Dwayne Shanley ann Robbie Keegan being mystified by a conversation in the Stables about "buffs". The two Dubs had a hard time figuring out what it was all about. Finally, Shanley said, in complete innocence: "But I thought ye were all culchies, together like - I didn't realise there was different levels."

Firstly that argument does not stand up. Imagine if you took some Home boys from south central LA and had them talking to some dubs, sure they will just as easily see them as rednecks as dubs see us as culchies. Its just where ever urban area is bigger they think is less backward. But none the less all these areas are still urban.

And I have never recalled Rovers fans calling fans from Cork, Waterford or Limerick sheepshaggers, its normally refined to harps.

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover View Post
    Its just where ever urban area is bigger they think is less backward. But none the less all these areas are still urban.
    So at what precise point does an area get to be defined as urban, and therefore not backward?

Mexico City, Tokyo, Los Angeles, London, Dublin, Limerick, Sligo, Ballisodare, Tubbercurry, Ballymote, Drumcliffe, Ballygawley . . . (insert dividing line where applicable).

I suppose all I'm trying to say is that this idea of comparing populations is a bit daft. You yourself have said as much with the mention of Dubliners who fail to realise they're not living in a world-renowned hotspot of high sophistication.

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover View Post
    And I have never recalled Rovers fans calling fans from Cork, Waterford or Limerick sheepshaggers, its normally refined to harps.
    I have.
    Last edited by Fivesilver; 05/07/2007 at 6:39 PM.

Begrudging pr1cks. Half of you would rather support teams in other countries. There a bunch of Sligo Lads like ourselves & deserve our backing whether ya support them or not is up to you, why run them down, SAD

Coming out of the showgies after the Monaghan friendly (pre-season) I met 4 county Players, grand lads, glad to see Rovers return the complement. Good luck to them on Sunday Ill be there, the lads with the thatch roofs on there heads & all the sodbusters, out for the day, great craic!!

So at what precise point does an area get to be defined as urban, and therefore not backward?

Mexico City, Tokyo, Los Angeles, London, Dublin, Limerick, Sligo, Ballisodare, Tubbercurry, Ballymote, Drumcliffe, Ballygawley . . . (insert dividing line where applicable).

I suppose all I'm trying to say is that this idea of comparing populations is a bit daft. You yourself have said as much with the mention of Dubliners who fail to realise they're not living in a world-renowned hotspot of high sophistication.

I have.
    That is true, but do you really think Drumcliffe and Balleygawley are urban centers?? It is a difficult question to answer but I guess alot is to do with the mindset of the populace aswell, do they think like Roasters or Townies?? Do they get excited by the mart or by a needle exchange?? I dont know the answer to these questions but my view was that if the town has a populace of upwards on 20000 then they arent buffs. But everyone to there own.

Oh what a funny thread. When I clicked into it first I thought it was something about Shamrock Rovers U-turn with Thomas Davis in Tallaght, but it's much funnier than that Sligo fans defining the word culchie and sheep shagger. Priceless

By the way, Cork has Soccer, hurling, football & Munster Rugby. There are some fans who support all of them, some who support one and not any other etc. So don't get your knickers in a twist over it. Build a bridge etc.....

151 Posts
    You also have 61 bales of Columbian marching powder.

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover;
    my view was that if the town has a populace of upwards on 20000
    Imagine that - there's a coincidence.

My point is that I know people in a village of a few hundred I did a lot of growing up in that I'd regard as more up to speed than acquaintances of mine from a city of 12,000,000 I lived in for most of my adult life - and vice versa. It's just hard not to get a giggle out of people who think their level of civilisation is decided by how many neighbours they have in close proximity.

And that would include the smug dolt who came trolling in a couple of posts back, who presumably has notions about Cork.

Get a grip lads - take a look in the mirror and sort that mess out before you go talking down to GAA, League of Ireland, culchies, buffs, Jackeens and so on.

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Great to see a sligo double this weekend
    Enjoy your trip to Hyde Park

Ps:You are not allowed sing nasty songs about the opposition or the ref at GAA matches

Talking Sligo Connaught Champions!!!!

YES!!!!!!!!!!!! they won it!!!! Brilliant........ suck on it Sligoman ye miserable little fecker

unlucky sligoman.

hopefully the first of 3 victories over galway the coming week...

Quote Originally Posted by Midgit View Post
    YES!!!!!!!!!!!! they won it!!!! Brilliant........ suck on it Sligoman ye miserable little fecker
    the next bandwagon for you to jump on..

Bad weekend for you Sligoman,I think. Sligo lost & Sligo won but I think it great as a real Sligoman that the Gaa Team won, can only be good for the county.

Sligoman since you so hung up lack of coverage the gave Rovers wouldnt be a great idea for some media coverage for Rovers to invite the GAA team to the Showgrounds on Saturday to present them to the crowd especially since we playing "Galway".

I remember a few years ago when Don O Riordan was in charge of Galway organising a charity game between both codes.At time I thought it was a novel idea.Now I think with the success of the GAA team & Rovers arn't going bad either could be a way winning over some fans from both sides for both sides.
    Till d End!

21 Posts
    Would be a good idea but would doubt it very much the local GAA would sanction that.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Would be a good idea but would doubt it very much the local GAA would sanction that.
    Can't see why not
    Till d End!

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast