Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Rovers support the GAA

Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post
    And Sligoman, if the Cookie Monster can make the effort to support his new adopted town (and county) in various codes maybe you should do the same or keep the trap shut. We spend enough time complaning about sligo or sligo people or people not supporting the Rovers, dont be such a hypocrite.
    I'm entitled to my opinion as much as you so don't tell me to shut up. I never asked you to agree with it. Rovers comes first for me and to see Sligo Gah knocked out will benefit us more imo.

I dont see how the gaelic team getting knocked out would benifit us in any way shape or form.

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    I dont see how the gaelic team getting knocked out would benifit us in any way shape or form.
    I've said it a couple of times already...
    Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    I want more coverage for Rovers so the quicker the bogballers are knocked out, the better for our club. Plus, with the Gah campaign over, the sunshiners may appear at the Showgies again which means more money for our club.

I dont think that Sligo's prolonged appearance in the Championships and our attendances are or will be related at all.I didnt see the Weeekender this week but did Rovers get any less coverage than they normally get?

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    I dont think that Sligo's prolonged appearance in the Championships and our attendances are or will be related at all.I didnt see the Weeekender this week but did Rovers get any less coverage than they normally get?
    Yes. We only got 2 pages. Haven't seen today's Sligo Champion but I'd guess that'll be dominated by Gah stories too. Fair enough it's to be expected but I'd still prefer them to be gone so that we'll get more.

We'll have to disagree on the attendances thing then.

Fair enough we can agree to disagree , but I for one will be wishing former Rovers players Michael McNamara , Philip Gallagher , Johnny Davey and the rest of the Sligo squad the best of luck for Sunday,

Yes. We only got 2 pages. Haven't seen today's Sligo Champion but I'd guess that'll be dominated by Gah stories too. Fair enough it's to be expected but I'd still prefer them to be gone so that we'll get more.
    They are in a final... give them some credit...

I'm not the biggest GAA fan but its something to have a bit of pride in. Better than having no local teams representing us at a national level. Ultimately having the GAA team in a provincial final is good for the town and county. I'm really impressed with Cook's attitude towards the GAA team. What a way to raise the awareness of the Rovers. I'm sure they will be wearing their Rovers tracksuits in Hyde Park, when people see them (GAA heads) they will talk about the Rovers. One or two who have never been to the Showgies may think about coming up for a look.

We're playing Galway on the 14th at home. Cook's vision could improve the attendance for that game alone. He may have planted a seed in the heads of those who have little interest in the Rovers. They may walk up Church hill on July 14th to return the complement.
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

We'll have to disagree on the attendances thing then.
    Sligoman! You would need to avoid the "Sligo Post" this week.If you think i would need to growup over my comments well you better look at yourself first.Your Basically saying that "You hope Sligo(Gaa) dont do well on Sunday because (sniff,Sniff) the local papers & radio are given them(sniff,sniff) coverage than their given to Sligo(Rovers)".I have a 4 year old with more sense than that.
    Till d End!

ah i think this thread can be locked down now. It's just tat really. We all from Sligo want any Sligo team to well in whatever they do. Sligoman, the wind up man of Sligo , is in the minority of 1 so the effort of a long thread in retort isnt really justified.

Have to say I didnt know what to make of Cook when he arrived. But he's doing himself no harm at all and fare play to him. Be interesting to see what happens during the transfer window.

Good luck once again to the county team on Sunday !!
    "Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure"

I'm not the GAA's biggest supporter either, but I heading to Hyde park on Sunday. I guess they would call the likes of me a sunshine supporter too. But they will accept my 25 or 35 euro with open arms. We would do the same with Rovers sunshine supporters.
    I would like to see them take a Connacht title. As they say "a rising tide lifts all boats". If there was a feel good factor around Sligo, we all could benifit.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Your a sad sad sligoman. It's one dimensional people like you who are the reason alot of sligo GAA dont support rovers.

no way does the GAA affect our attendances. The dates dont clash!! The crowd against longford was great and that was probably during the climax of the gah season for sligo

Quote Originally Posted by SeaniesRedArmy View Post
    no way does the GAA affect our attendances. The dates dont clash!! The crowd against longford was great and that was probably during the climax of the gah season for sligo
    surely the climax is Sunday...like how is it a climax if there's no games on?

I mean this whole week, interest wise. the most hype will be during this week and that didnt affect our attendnce against longford

Fair play to Paul and the lads for getting behind the Gaa team and the ex Rovers players in it.Shows a bit of pride in the local community.Oh to be in a Provincial final,you lucky lucky b......s. I'll be in Castlebar on Sat. to see Cavan getting hockeyed! Full steam ahead with the Red Army for the rest of the season

Ill definitely be rooting for sligo come sunday, dont see how it affects rovers. Cook is conducting himself well of the pitch

I will show GAA the indifference it deserves, could care less. Win, lose, or draw i wont even know the result. Has nothing to do with me, and never will. To be honest i dont think it deserves the mileage it is getting here. Bogball is an ugly sport if you ask me. But if it were a hurling final i would be there, that is a class sport. The Sligo gaelic team does not represent me, sure ffs the county boundarys were just accentuated by the GAA. They have no bearing. Sure you will find more in common with man from Souey and Crossmallina than with someone from sligo town and souey.

Slightly off topic, I came across a load of lads in Sligo Rovers tracksuits in the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick during our 2nd replay with Tipp, any know if these were players or fans?

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover View Post
    . Sure you will find more in common with man from Souey and Crossmallina than with someone from sligo town and souey.
    Why would you say that? It's all the West of Ireland anyway

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover;
    Sure you will find more in common with man from Souey and Crossmallina than with someone from sligo town and souey.
    Definitely. Sligo town is clearly the odd one out here - check the spellings.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast