Thread: Athlone Town 0 - 1 Shelbourne

137 Posts

Athlone Town 0 - 1 Shelbourne

Looked to me like a full strength Shels team. We had a few new lads. Alan Kelly at left back, Shane Jackson partnering Conor in the centre of defense. An unknown goalie and and unknown No.10. Shels were on top throughout but sure that was to be expected. Their goal was soft enough, Byrne just got away from his marker and tapped in from close range. Goalie had done alright up to that. Brennan replaced him a few minutes later. We didn't create much up front, though we did have a few chances near the end.

Anyone else at it?

Line up was

16. Unknown
    2. Ronan Frawley
    3. Alan Kelly
    4. Conor Frawley
    5. Shane Jackson
    6. Michael Harney
    7. Damien Rushe
    8. Michael Collins
    9. Stephen Mullin
    10. Unknown
    11. Eric Molloy

Subs used were Paul Brennan, Mark Sherlock, Shane Brennan and another unknown. Think that was it.
    Last edited by atfconline; 16/03/2003 at 5:54 PM.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

30 Posts

Jeepers Keepers

New keeper is Paul Flood. Used to play with Dublin City and
    Home Farm/Whatever.
    Seen him a few games when I lived near Whitehall and to be
    honest in any game I've seen (including today) he hasnt
    impressed much. His kicking can be weak enough and his handling
    isnt great.
    A.F.A.I.K. he's signed as David Moran seems to have left the club -
    so rumours have it anyway!

Number 10 was Mikey something from Kildare. He seems to suffer
    from the common "Athlone Town Post Myler Phobia"- the
    uncurable fear of taking shots. Dunno if he's signed

Shane Brennan played on the wing for Longford 21s last season
    but can play up front as well. Threw himself about a bit kinda like
    Conor Ryans first few games. Dunno if he'll fade as fast and
    dunno if he's signed

Mark Sherlock should have equalised but was unfortunately
    struck down with the same phobia.

Alan Kelly played well at left full and Ronan Frawley done ok
    on the right.

As for the other subs ... I think Robbie Shine would take offence
    at being dubbed "another unknown"

All in all it was a truely sh!te game watched by a whopping 20-30
    people ... at least 7 from Shels!

137 Posts

Robbie...

knew I forgot somebody. The other unknown came on right at the end though for Conor. He was wearing 12 whoever he was.

"Mousey" Brennan actually played for our Under-21's last season. We got him a few games into the season I think.

I used to play, and I use that word lightly, soccer with Alan Kelly back in school. Good to see him getting onto the senior team. I remember when Ray signed for Man City, Alan asking me if I wanted to try on his new Predator boots! Those were the days....
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

30 Posts

Hope for us all

Didnt notice another sub to be honest. Could have been Des
    Hope as he was on the bench!

If that game is anything to go by Kilkenny will have a battle on
    their hands to win the bottom of the league competition again

Its games like that that make me kinda glad I'm gonna miss most
    of the season - I dont thik I could take much more!

In 3 months Im gonna start up the Athlone (Victoria,Australia)
    branch of the Athlone Town Supporters Club...
    Hopefully the branches in Thiland, Singapore and China will be
    fully established by then

104 Days and counting ...

hahah

All in all it was a truely sh!te game watched by a whopping 20-30

some **** on the shels forum claims they brought 90 down!

30 Posts

90!!!!

There wasnt even 90 including both teams, officials, stray dogs
    and my 5 imaginary friends!

As someone at the game said to me Summer Soccer will be
    a disaster for Athlone as if its a nice sunny day (which it was)
    people will go to the beach in Galway for the day rather than go
    to a Town match!

When its finished (or even started!) we're gonna have the nicest
    empty stadium since Tolka Park

well maybe i read that wrong.....

from the shels bored:

Name: walshie
    Date: 18-03-03 10:11

I was at Athlone and counted about 90, and there was a good ensemble of Redsmen and Women, not too many due up in Belfast tonight however

good "ensemble" he has more imaginary friends than you!

what was ger mccarthy like?

Re: Jeepers Keepers

Originally posted by Ash
    Shane Brennan played on the wing for Longford 21s last season
    but can play up front as well. Threw himself about a bit kinda like
    Conor Ryans first few games. Dunno if he'll fade as fast and
    dunno if he's signed
    Mousey is a decent player, the only problem with him is his build... I think he'll do okay for youse, if you sign him... Pity he never made it at the premier Town - would be nice to see a sometime member of the buckfast army playing

Unknown players

I think that "Mikey from Kildare " that you mentioned could be
    Mikey McCann. If hes small and scrawny thats him.
    He's very skillful but only scored 1 goal for us last year. That was a 25 yard injury time winner in Finn Park.
    He was mostly a sub but he will not score goals in my opinion.

Also Paul Flood was the sub keeper with the Kildare GAA team for a few years without ever really getting a game. I heard he's been back and forth between the soccer and GAH in recent years,

30 Posts

McCann

Aye, I think that was his surname alright.

Wasnt overly impressed. He battled for a lot but
    a striker who cant shoot ... we've had enough of
    them over the years!

Id even offer my services ... although it's a well known
    fact I cant kick snow off a rope

137 Posts

Other unknown

was Trevor Moylan.

In case some of you wanna see this again this has just been uploaded

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B4FMy59JOQs
    Who Cares?!

137 Posts
    Eh, check the date of the thread there RR

Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    Eh, check the date of the thread there RR
    I know, just thought some of you might be interested
    Who Cares?!