Thread: Cliftonville V FK Dinaburg- Intertoto cup

Cliftonville V FK Dinaburg- Intertoto cup

Was at the Match in windsor today decent enough crowd at it, ended up 1-1 but it was a frustrating game in many ways as we were all over them in the second half and on another day could have won it by a couple of goals! But we are still in the tie and the away leg is next Sunday.

Have to say I thought the standard of refereeing was poor and the Dinaburg players didn't exactly excel themselves with all the diving they were doing especially their keeper who was a complete joker who kept on going down injured any time a Cliftonville player got near him!

Oh and congratulations to Cork just seen there that they won there match 2-0.

Good result for the Reds.

Decent chance of getting through. Enjoy the trip if you're going!!
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Wish I could go but I am an impoverished student who can't afford to spend money on such extravagances! Think there will be about a bus load of Reds going over, they haven't been helped by the fact that the game has been moved from Riga to Daugavpils which is 200Km away!

Anyone know how many Cork fans made the trip to Iceland then?

Quote Originally Posted by SolitudeRed View Post

Anyone know how many Cork fans made the trip to Iceland then?
    About 200 or so is being reported.

F*ck me they can bring 200 to Iceland but 300 miles North and all they can only bring about 75...
    Linfield Football Club - Hatchets & Hammers - You Can Only Envy Us

A Blue 52

Quote Originally Posted by Graemerz View Post
    F*ck me they can bring 200 to Iceland but 300 miles North and all they can only bring about 75...
    The 400 seater train to Linfield was booked out but Irish Rail refused to put it on in the end, thats left us with no real time to make alternative plans and a trip from Cork to Belfast on a Monday by car is not ideal in any sense. Anyway there was at lest twice the 75 you stated.

Great result in Sweden for Cliftonville. If they keep improving they may get a move to the Eircom League first division.

Worrying times for Swedish soccer though. Their results in Europe have been very poor for the past few years.
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

3,489 Posts
    Dinaburg are Latvian.

Amazing result 1-0 win away from home against full time opposition thats in the middle of its football season! Well done to Eddie Patterson his assistant Tommy Breslin and all the players!!

Also fair play to the reds fans who made the trip over (120 of them according to the local paper) to watch the match I'm sure they are glad they made the extra effort to keep the Red flag flying high

Dinaburg are Latvian, no?
    Yes Dinaburg are indeed Latvian
    Last edited by SolitudeRed; 01/07/2007 at 7:08 PM.

Great result for the Reds, lets hope the rest of the Northern Ireland clubs representing the Irish League in Europe get results like this... Apart from the Glens.

A Blue 52

Brilliant result for the reds today,hope you can go one better next week.
    Well done Cliftonville.

Great result for the Reds, lets hope the rest of the Northern Ireland clubs representing the Irish League in Europe get results like this... Apart from the Glens.
    Whats the craic with the Glens anyway are they gonna reappoint your man Roy Walker after their European adventure ends?

But yes good luck to all the IL and EL teams playing in Europe!!

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    Great result in Sweden for Cliftonville. If they keep improving they may get a move to the Eircom League first division.

Worrying times for Swedish soccer though. Their results in Europe have been very poor for the past few years.
    Why would Clifonville want to take three steps backwards?

Well done Cliftonville.
    "Life is like a hair on a toilet seat. Sooner or later you are bound to get pi$$ed off."

"In this league, a draw is sometimes as good as a win" - Steve Morison

lets hope the rest of the Northern Ireland clubs representing the Irish League in Europe get results like this... Apart from the Glens.
    And what about the Northern Ireland clubs representing the Eircom League.....?

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post

And I get accused of being a WUM. Totally disrespectful and laughable considering what mini team you support.
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    And what about the Northern Ireland clubs representing the Eircom League.....?
    Most Linfield support wish you well

Quote Originally Posted by Steve Bruce View Post
    Most Linfield support wish you well
    I don't.

A Blue 52

I don't.
    Your an outsider though, banned from various sites etc

Great Result lads. Who have the Reds got next?
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.