Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Tonights Latest

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    How many of your team have booked holidays for the European games this season?
    As far as I know, we have a full squad this year.
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans View Post
    Very rich coming from a team who's players take holidays during the European campaign.
    Slovenian's beatable by you? You were well beaten in Belfast by them last season.
    Where you at the match? I presume not, therefore you haven't got a clue.

We missed a lot of guilt edged chances and we also missed 2 penalties(over the 2 legs, if they where scored we would have went through).

If we got a Slovenian side this year, we would be confident of going through. They are no great shakes.

Can I ask, what did I actually say to get your back up? (going by the 'very rich' comment)

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Slightly biased there....

O'Neill had the best chance of the game, your keeper made as many saves as Ryan. Probably swayed by the fact all your chances came in the last 20 minutes

Kirby deserved to go but it was for retaliation (when the ref missed the original smack). Brennan shaped to hit your man but didn't even raise his arms
    now who's being biased

The header that came off the bar was Pat's best chance. Ryan had a stormer for Pats, pulled off quality saves from Dunphy (twice), Duggan, O'Shea and Fox. Delaney missed 2 free headers from inside the 6 yard box and and O'Shea missed a sitter from the edge of the 6 yard as well. Anto Murphy also cleared off the pats line in the last few minutes. Think our keeper made good 2/3 saves, one from O'Neill and a great save from a Fahey free kick.

There was no original smack, he held his arms out to stop Kirby running any further, the same thing every centre half in the country does week in week out, Kirby went to the ground, ref played on, Kirby retalated by stamping on the back of Deans calf as they were running out. Brennan IMO was lucky, he was on a a booking at the time of his little bust up, as the 2 players were on the ground he got up faster and and pushed our player with his hands and knee at the same time pushing our player back to the ground. But he was never going to send 2 Pats players off playing against Bray.

On another note, what was up with Johnnie Mc after the game ? he absolutely lost his head with the Pats fans in the red seats !

Quote Originally Posted by Steve Bruce View Post
    Where you at the match? I presume not, therefore you haven't got a clue.
    I watched the highlights on TV actually. To prove I did, they scored a Matt LeTisser esq free kick.

Can I ask, what did I actually say to get your back up? (going by the 'very rich' comment)
    You gave out about Dungannon and Glentoran, as if your in a position to preach, when your team doesn't even take Europe seriously.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans View Post
    I watched the highlights on TV actually. To prove I did, they scored a Matt LeTisser esq free kick.

You gave out about Dungannon and Glentoran, as if your in a position to preach, when your team doesn't even take Europe seriously.
    We have been the last few years. It got to a point where Linfield/IL didn't believe they could qualify, so didn't try. Then Glentoran qualified and then Linfield qualified so now we take it seriously. My point originally was at least your league has a decent chance, we have no chance of getting decent co-efficients and like it or not Linfield are the most likely in IL football to be able to boost the co-efficients of IL football.

Also I think you know as well as I do, Highlights are hardly indicative of the actual match. I can assure you Linfield where a match for the Slovenian side, we just didn't have lady luck on our side this time.

3,489 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Just for the record Hacken are in the UEFA Cup this year (fair play place) and are currently in the Swedish second tier. Personally hoping Pats get them
    There's actually a bit in passing about them in the current When Saturday Comes. They were relegated last year* in a play off against Bromma, a team who'd never been in the top flight before, who had average gates of about 1100 but who field something like 276 youth sides.

* - if you win the Fair Play and go down, you can still get into Europe, as with Ipswich, but if you win the Second Division Fair Play and go up, you can't, as with UCD a couple of years back.

71 Posts
    If we got a Slovenian side this year, we would be confident of going through. They are no great shakes.
    Don't get too cocky. The SNL is miles ahead of the IL in terms of standard.

Quote Originally Posted by BrayUnknowns View Post
    On another note, what was up with Johnnie Mc after the game ? he absolutely lost his head with the Pats fans in the red seats !
    Quite the opposite. It was on the lines of "At least youse support the team not like those moaners over there." Paraphrased for family viewing.
    Revenge for 2002

3,489 Posts
    1-0 Bohs against Waterford.

http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=711331&postcount=18

21 Posts
    We missed a lot of guilt edged chances and we . . . .
    Had to mention - its GILT(as in gilded/gold) not guilt

but missing guilt-edged chances makes a lot of sense

Exact same as dmanetc said. He got the ball ten yards inside our half with no one near him. He would have been offside but it was our own two defenders flicked the ball on to him. Took it well, but hardly magic.
    Ahem *cough*

Quote Originally Posted by Jeebus View Post
    Ahem *cough*
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=9_5-ISFV66I

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    I'm not being Cocky. I am basing my views on Linfield playing the then top side in Slovenia. Who played at a good standard, but definately beatable. Linfield where unlucky last season, I think with the experience of last season would help us get through, as we now know we have nothing to fear from the Slovenians.

I'm not saying we are a dead cert, I am saying it is a winnable tie. Hardly a cocky attitude.

Quote Originally Posted by CuanaD View Post
    Had to mention - its GILT(as in gilded/gold) not guilt

but missing guilt-edged chances makes a lot of sense
    Oh, your one of them sorts

While we are at it - it's you're rather than "your"!!!
    Join FORAS. You know you want to.

Quote Originally Posted by coislaoi View Post
    While we are at it - it's you're rather than "your"!!!

Fair enough

1,550 Posts

Talking

Fair enough
    How about finishing the sentance with a full stop?

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    I disagree. It's been quite poor since Will Ferrell left.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    The defender was on the line.

It was easy.
    (b) I'd have scored from there, with the nearest defender ten yards behind me.
    Some great players sitting in the stand at Belfield - does Pete Mahon know

This is further proof, after the vicious assault witnessed by Shamrock fans in the cup game, that eyewitness accounts from supporters cannot be trusted. Or maybe that's just when Sligo are playing? I know when they played Pats they were the dirtiest shower of hoofers I've ever seen...
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast