View Poll Results: How do you feel about Love Ulster Parade?

Voters
56. You may not vote on this poll
  • Oppose

34 60.71%
  • Do not oppose or support

17 30.36%
  • Support

5 8.93%
Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Bigger 'Love Ulster' parade planned for Dublin...

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    Where's this 'Irish Republic' you speak of? No such place.
    I was using the "Love Ulster" term

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    In the UK I believe the police can order known hooligans against being near football grounds on certain days. Do the Gardai have similar powers here?
    Not too sure if they can do that here. They defo can in the UK. However the uk police are miles ahead of the garda in handling troublesome situations.

I watched an interview with one of the leads of the love Ulster movement on RTE news. It is clear that this man actually comes from the nastier side of loyalism. Most unionist/loyalist up the north are decent people but they have their minority of morons just like the nationalists. After watching the interview I am in no doubt that this march has been arranged by a small section of renegade loyalist with sole aim is to create tension.

As I said before, its a win-win situation and an utter stroke of extremist genius. If the march doesnt go ahead then the unionist/loyalist people are not being accepted and if it does an when the inevitable rioting and looting occurs (by every narrow-minded republican scumbag) then they can also claimed the the people of the south dont welcome unionist/loyalist people.

Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    Not too sure if they can do that here. They defo can in the UK. However the uk police are miles ahead of the garda in handling troublesome situations.

I watched an interview with one of the leads of the love Ulster movement on RTE news. It is clear that this man actually comes from the nastier side of loyalism. Most unionist/loyalist up the north are decent people but they have their minority of morons just like the nationalists. After watching the interview I am in no doubt that this march has been arranged by a small section of renegade loyalist with sole aim is to create tension.

As I said before, its a win-win situation and an utter stroke of extremist genius. If the march doesnt go ahead then the unionist/loyalist people are not being accepted and if it does an when the inevitable rioting and looting occurs (by every narrow-minded republican scumbag) then they can also claimed the the people of the south dont welcome unionist/loyalist people.
    ...pretty much it in a nutshell.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Thumbs down

I would think the Garda top got a lot of flak from last years events from both public & politicians so will probably be keen for this to go ahead so they can't prove they can handle it. The Gardai need to make a stand against these types sooner or later.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    I would think the Garda top got a lot of flak from last years events from both public & politicians so will probably be keen for this to go ahead so they can't prove they can handle it. The Gardai need to make a stand against these types sooner or later.
    Its not a big dick comepetition! Allowing the march just to show you can do it is the most pathetic thing I've ever heard. it should be banned for exactly the same reasons its banned in Belfast etc

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by reder
    If the march doesnt go ahead they can claimed the the people of the south dont welcome unionist/loyalist people.
    If they don't march, by persuasion or otherwise in Dublin, it's a win for us, not them.

Nobody said they're not welcome here, but they're not allowed to march here. The Gardai have two choices, the easy way by telling them where to go so it never happens, or the hard way by facing the ire of angry Irish people on the day itself. Their choice.
    Last edited by mypost; 25/06/2007 at 11:44 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    If they don't march, by persuasion or otherwise in Dublin, it's a win for us, not them.

Nobody said they're not welcome here, but they're not allowed to march here. The Gardai have two choices, the easy way by telling them where to go so it never happens, or the hard way by facing the ire of angry Irish people on the day itself. Their choice.

A win ?

The gaurds won t feel the ire of the angry irish public because all but about 200 scum bags and a hang full of dumb shin feiners will care the rest of us will go about our day

Just because we go about our day doesn't mean we don't care.

70 Posts
    Any event were Charlie Bird gets a smack in the chops should be run every year.
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Just because we go about our day doesn't mean we don't care.
    Good sentiment Dodge. People can be opposed to this if they wish. However, rioting is not and will never be the answer. I would hedge a bet that 99.5% of the idiots who caused trouble last time would not be capable of debating the issue.

mypost, can you explain how them not marching, "by persuasion or otherwise in Dublin", would constitute a victory? I dont get that. Surely them not marching would be used by the loyalist extremists as an "anti-unionist" stick to beat people with?

PS: Can someone please explain why the marches are not permitted in Belfast? When did this come into effect? (Excuse my ignorance, my knowledge of NI is quite sketchy in places.)

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1 View Post
    Any event were Charlie Bird gets a smack in the chops should be run every year.
    Care to elaborate?
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

70 Posts
    When the loonies couldnt get at the marchers and there was no guards
    around to attack, they spotted Charlie doing a report and decided to give him a whacking. They chased him ripped his coat and gave him a bit of a cut lip.
    The drama queen then went to the Mater hospital( I got bigger cuts shaving)
    Then was on the news how telling all how he feared for his life and proceeded
    to go on as if he was in war torn Iraq.
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

A large percentage of victims of Republican violence were from the nationlist community so to say it represents victims is stupid and they know it.Yer man is off his rocker and as we all know this is an attempt to stoke the fires of tribalism again.There should be an annual commemoration(with no flags) for all victims and let loved ones have a genuine platform for rememberance.This is a sickening attempt to piggyback on other peoples grief.Get the worst shower from both sides, stick em in in a field in the middle of nowhere and let them get on with it.

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1 View Post
    When the loonies couldnt get at the marchers and there was no guards
    around to attack, they spotted Charlie doing a report and decided to give him a whacking. They chased him ripped his coat and gave him a bit of a cut lip.
    The drama queen then went to the Mater hospital( I got bigger cuts shaving)
    Then was on the news how telling all how he feared for his life and proceeded
    to go on as if he was in war torn Iraq.
    There was also the implication that he was somehow singled out not because he was ace RTÉ reporter Charlie Bird, but because he was a Protestant, as if the whole world knew which foot he digs with.

I thought it was just the modern-day thugs' equivalent of the time everybody was shouting, "Charlie, Charlie, give us a wave" at him when he was reporting outside Government Buildings on the fall of Albert Reynolds.
    Because if Gabriel doesn't rollerblade to the Chelsea Piers then the terrorists have truly won.

Quote Originally Posted by Erstwhile Bóz View Post
    There was also the implication that he was somehow singled out not because he was ace RTÉ reporter Charlie Bird, but because he was a Protestant, as if the whole world knew which foot he digs with.

I thought it was just the modern-day thugs' equivalent of the time everybody was shouting, "Charlie, Charlie, give us a wave" at him when he was reporting outside Government Buildings on the fall of Albert Reynolds.

well something was said like there CB the orange ******

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by reder
    mypost, can you explain how them not marching, "by persuasion or otherwise in Dublin", would constitute a victory?
    A victory for those who oppose the march, would mean them not parading in our capital city. They could do it for 800 years, but they're not able to do it anymore.

I know the march doesn't affect those outside Dublin, and I can see why they in general, would support it. We lost €10million in Saturday trade last time, most of the shops were shut to ordinary Dubs, and tourists going about their everyday business. Who here wants that again, for the sake of British people's desire to "march" down a (to them) foreign street? This is opposed unaminously by the people, and if we're not listened to before it, we will be listened to on the day itself.

Surely them not marching would be used by the loyalist extremists as an "anti-unionist" stick to beat people with?
    Out of sight, out of mind....

Lads the people running the rioting show last year were mostly from Glasgow and Belfast from what I saw up there, this has little to do with Ireland and us turning a blind eye outside of a couple dozen Dublin scumbags who will go along for the looting.

And anyone who thinks this march isn't about antagonising the rioters from last year hasn't a ****ing notion in there head to be honest, go to the Love Ulster forums and see how much sympathy they have for victims of Loyalist terrorist attacks and you'll know all you need to know about these idiots.

Before I'll say what I have to say I just want to point out that in general I couldn't give a monkeys about Northern Ireland (if anything I'd like this island to stay as is) and have sympathy for any innocent family, catholic or protestant that has been caught up in the Troubles in one or another, that said I don't think this march should be allowed to take place. We can harp on about freedom of speech all we want but I doubt many here would condone a Nazi parade through Dublin, or a Free the Paedos movement setting up, and I don't view this garbage Love Ulster group as any different. They're sole purpose here is to cause trouble, to lay the blame at Republicans feet, to destabilise the progress that has been made up North, and to pat themselves on the back for a job well done, and they shouldn't be allowed to do so. The Gardai could have easily have put a stop to this nonsense by not allowing the march to go ahead on the grounds that they wouldn't be able to provide adequate security, and that would have been that. But no, we have to get drawn into the circus Love Ulster drew us all into last year, debating whats right and wrong with freedom of speech (isn't freedom of speech curtailed enough in the media these days that we can safely say there is no freedom of speech?), and arguing with each other about whether Love Ulster's intentions are honourable, or whether they're just a bunch of ****-stirrers. Jesus even if the march doesn't go ahead they've already won this PR war yet again

A victory for those who oppose the march, would mean them not parading in our capital city. They could do it for 800 years, but they're not able to do it anymore.
    I must have missed the bit where loyalists were marching in Dublin for 800 years.

I know the march doesn't affect those outside Dublin, and I can see why they in general, would support it. We lost €10million in Saturday trade last time, most of the shops were shut to ordinary Dubs, and tourists going about their everyday business.
    That was caused by the thugs not the march.

There is no doubt that the Organisers are just doing it to wind up the Shinners but does that mean the rest of us need to pander to the will of those thugs. I know a lot of them from last year were prosecuted but have any of them been jailed? If we jailed a few day tripper rioters it would deter the rest of them.

71 Posts
    What's "otherwise"? Are you advocating violence against the marchers to prevent them marching as a win situation for you?

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Are you advocating violence against the marchers to prevent them marching as a win situation for you?
    Did I say I would be advocating violence?? When it happened last time, I predicted aggro, and hey presto, it happened. It happened because of ignorance from the government and incompetence from the gardai. Anyone who thinks it will be any different the second time, is really naive.

Nobody wants the marchers here, and if the public aren't listened to now, they will be on the day. I hope it doesn't take that long, but it may do.

Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast