View Poll Results: How do you feel about Love Ulster Parade?

Voters
56. You may not vote on this poll
  • Oppose

34 60.71%
  • Do not oppose or support

17 30.36%
  • Support

5 8.93%
Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Bigger 'Love Ulster' parade planned for Dublin...

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Nobody wants the marchers here,
    Define nobody?

Many people outside Dublin couldn't give a hoot and many Dubs rightly view them as a pathetic freak show stuck in the past trying to cling to a confused and inherently defensive cultural identity.

I'd prefer if my tax money wasn't spent forcing them down O'Connell Street but knowing the mentality of these people, if they walked up and down and nobody paid any attention to them they would soon get bored and try to pick a fight elsewhere.

You are in danger of (undeservedly) attributing some kind of credibility to the scumbags who attacked the Gardai last year, who, much like most of the recent rioting in the North, have no cause other than a love of wanton violence, which, if they weren't throwing blocks at Guards, they'd get their kicks by beating the crap out of people outside Abrakebabra at 3am on a Saturday morning.

Scum vs scum.

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Define nobody?

Many people outside Dublin couldn't give a hoot and many Dubs rightly view them as a pathetic freak show stuck in the past trying to cling to a confused and inherently defensive cultural identity.

I'd prefer if my tax money wasn't spent forcing them down O'Connell Street but knowing the mentality of these people, if they walked up and down and nobody paid any attention to them they would soon get bored and try to pick a fight elsewhere.

You are in danger of (undeservedly) attributing some kind of credibility to the scumbags who attacked the Gardai last year, who, much like most of the recent rioting in the North, have no cause other than a love of wanton violence, which, if they weren't throwing blocks at Guards, they'd get their kicks by beating the crap out of people outside Abrakebabra at 3am on a Saturday morning.

Scum vs scum.
    Brilliant post, OneRedArmy. Sums up the whole thing perfectly.

Deep down everyone knows that if, in dream world, the march went ahead peacefully, these extremists would be completely lost and would move onto their next venue, perhaps Glasgow, where they could get the reaction they want.

From the outside, it is so obvious that the extremists on both side as so alike as people. S**t stirrers living in the past.

Personally, I have no issue with loyalists but I am now convinced that this march is solely about stirring up trouble. I dont care about northern Ireland one iota as someone who was born and raised in Britain or as someone who has lived in Ireland and was raised as Irish. I get the feeling that the majority of people in Ireland or the UK feel the extact same.

I actually have more loyalist than nationalist friends. Out of all of my loyalist friends that I have spoke to, NONE see a point to this march. They live down here and are very happy. Most go back up home for their specific marches and they celebrate their culture at that time.

Im probably going to get dogs abuse about this but I dont feel that loyalists should be allowed to march along any route in Northern Ireland.
    Last edited by reder; 26/06/2007 at 8:38 AM.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
    Define nobody?
    Find a poll, any poll, on whether they should march or not, and there's your answer.

Most Dubs are annoyed that our civil liberties are being violated by allowing Brits to march in our city, which is going to lead inevitably to chaos and carnage. That's why we are against it. It shouldn't happen.

Find a poll, any poll, on whether they should march or not, and there's your answer.
    do you understand apathy?

Most Dubs are annoyed that our civil liberties are being violated by allowing Brits to march in our city, which is going to lead inevitably to chaos and carnage. That's why we are against it. It shouldn't happen.
    That's a hell of a forked tongue you got there Mypost.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

82 Posts

Complete and utter tripe.

There were only a few peaceful protesters last time around, which completely debunks your myth that "most Dubs" are against it.

As for the rioters, they couldn't even spell civil liberties and even if they could, they expressed them by robbing trainers from sports shops and assaulting non-nationals in convenience stores.

Pearse would be proud......

reder
    Most Dubs are annoyed that our civil liberties are being violated by allowing Brits to march in our city, which is going to lead inevitably to chaos and carnage. That's why we are against it.
    How does this march in particular, as opposed to a SF/republican march, which is equally vulgar, violate your, or anyone citizen of Dublin's civil liberties.

Mypost, do you realise that the sentiment that you are expressing here is exactly what the extremists are looking for?

Pearse would be proud......
    Probably would, he was a bit of a nutjob himself.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Probably would, he was a bit of a nutjob himself.
    it's funny because it's true.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Define nobody?

Scum vs scum.
    thats far too simplistic, many people didnt want that trash walking down Dublin's streets, some decided to stop them

1916............many Dubs didnt give a flying fcuk then too, did they

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    thats far too simplistic, many people didnt want that trash walking down Dublin's streets, some decided to stop them

1916............many Dubs didnt give a flying fcuk then too, did they
    Just as many people didn't want the "trash" that attacked the Gardai walking the streets either.

Its not "too simplistic", its bang on the money.

The people behind Love Ulster are sectarian lunatics, but any march of Northern Protestants would've been treated the same, by the same minority.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
    There were only a few peaceful protesters last time around, which completely debunks your myth "most Dubs" are against it.
    We'll see when it happens.

As for the rioters, they couldn't even spell civil liberties
    Like it makes a difference...

even if they could, they expressed them by robbing trainers from sports shops and assaulting non-nationals in convenience stores.
    ...which wouldn't have happened at all if the march was not given the go ahead in the first place.

Quote Originally Posted by reder
    How does this march in particular, as opposed to a SF/republican march, which is equally vulgar, violate your, or anyone citizen of Dublin's civil liberties.
    As Irish people, SF/Republicans are freely allowed to march anywhere in the Irish Republic.

It's not difficult really. Stop March = Prevent Resistance, Allow March = Prepare for Resistance

It doesn't take an Einstein to recognise that.
    Last edited by mypost; 26/06/2007 at 11:50 AM.

The orange order march around at Oldbridge county meath a couple of times a year and no one pays any attention to them. They just come down do their thing, celebrate their distorted history and go home. In fact I'm thinking of selling merchandising - how about Boxer shorts with "My Willie is Orange" written on them?

We have Loyalist Flute Bands at St. Patricks day parades here in Limerick. They've been applauded, carried off Ribbands and been generally surprised at how nice everyone is to them.

reder
    We'll see when it happens.
    As Irish people, SF/Republicans are freely allowed to march anywhere in the Irish Republic.
    Really!! Can I not march in Dublin then?

Most of those who caused trouble, leaving aside the local scumbag looters who wouldnt know the difference between a republican and loyalist, where from the UK. (I.E. not irish people).

bennocelt, many people dont want hardcore republican trash walking down the street but we have to put up with it. Whether you like it or not, in the eyes of the vast majority of people in the 26 counties, there are equal proportions of trash on both sides.

Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    Really!! Can I not march in Dublin then?
    Well if you are on your own I think it would be considered a stroll rather than a march.

82 Posts
    Well if you are on your own I think it would be considered a stroll rather than a march.
    What if he had an umbrella and was going quite quickly and purposefully?

I think people like ORA don't quite grasp the anger that was felt in Dublin that a commeration of the Dublin and Monahgan bomber later killed by the IRA was to walk past one of the bomb sites. Granted there was a scumbag element, but dont underestimate the general anger in Dublin that we had to be subjected to triumphalist bigotry as Dodge says.

Wille Fraser once said no-one should ever be imprisoned for shooting a republican. he said billy wright was a good christian. he was banned form owning a gun due to his paramilitary links. this march is banned in belfast. why dont FAIR condemn victims of Loyalist violence too? why have orange bands? why not just go and have a prayer service in a church?

why should modern, multicultural dublin allow these fascists march in our town? to me its a sign of modernity and tolerance to object to loyalist paramilitaries and orangemen marching for no other reason than to provoke. not condoning rioting for one second, but Dublin Says No!!

Really!! Can I not march in Dublin then? .
    Not with an Orange Band, UVF paraphanalia and a plaque for the man who killed 35 people 20 yards away, no.

Most of those who caused trouble, leaving aside the local scumbag looters who wouldnt know the difference between a republican and loyalist, where from the UK. (I.E. not irish people).

That is absolute garbage.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OhNoYouDidn't View Post
    I think people like ORA don't quite grasp the anger that was felt in Dublin that a commeration of the Dublin and Monahgan bomber later killed by the IRA was to walk past one of the bomb sites.
    I'm from Derry. I grew up in the 70's and 80's. On that basis I think I've quite a fine grasp on sectarian anger, having encountered more of it in any given week than you ever will in a lifetime.
    Quote Originally Posted by OhNoYouDidn't View Post
    why should modern, multicultural dublin allow these fascists march in our town? to me its a sign of modernity and tolerance to object to loyalist paramilitaries and orangemen marching for no other reason than to provoke. not condoning rioting for one second, but Dublin Says No!!.
    Tolerance is defined as "a fair, objective, and permissive attitude toward those whose opinions, practices, race, religion, nationality, etc., differ from one's own".

Maybe you meant intolerance?

On the basis you don't recognise alleged murderers being allowed freedom of expression (hard for many people to stomach I admit) I presume you are against the peace process in the North, given that murderers from both sides now hold representative positions?

Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast